Project Backsplash

As many of you know, I recently bought a house.  An old house.  A fixer-upper house.

But, it is a wonderful little house with TONS of potential and I feel that it is moving at a nice pace toward that potential.

So, what is Project Backsplash then? 

Well, this is a picture of my (very torn apart at the moment) kitchen:

3380107311_fa35782b2b

If you can look past the mess that you see, you will notice MANY very beautiful cabinets. My wish is to put a tile backsplash from the cabinet-top to the underside of the cabinets. Lots of tiles will be needed for this, needless to say.

So, I’m asking all of you out there to send me a tile. That’s right, send me ONE tile, or several tiles! Just send tile! The only criteria is that it be 4 inches by 4 inches (10.16 cm x 10.16 cm). Besides that… have fun! Any color, design, patina, texture, etc. Just a 4 x 4″ tile. That’s it. Period. My hope is to have a lovely eclectic, mish-mash backsplash from all over the world! So… Please send me a tile!

This, then, is Project Backsplash!

Send tiles to:

Zazazu – Project Backsplash
P.O. Box 373
Corinth, MS 38834

And feel free to share the word about Project Backsplash with your friends!

Until next time… I’m needing some zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz’s!

20 thoughts on “Project Backsplash

  1. Finding tile now! This is sure to be stunning- can’t wait to see the finished product. Great floor, btw!

  2. I will keep my eyes open…my leftovers are too big so I’ll check next time I’m at the local Re-Store!

    What a great idea…I’ll spread the word as well!

    Breeze

  3. Hey you, only just found out you have a blog – yay, I can stalk you over here now. :p Love love love this idea, sadly I don’t have any tiles kicking about but for heavens sake, I shall keep my eyes open on my travels!

    I adore seeing pics of your splendid new house, keep them coming! I’ve finally worked out my own place of habitat too – I’ve found a flat and am moving in over this weekend, wheee! Can’t wait to do a bit of decoration myself! :D Housey stuff is such fun! xxx Claira

  4. I am sorry I have been so out of touch! I am so excited for you. Congratulations on the new house! I am sure you will make it very good looking and it will be more home to you once you are finished with your projects! I need to go find you a tile, pronto!

  5. Hey there, what a great idea! I found your request through a friend’s post of facebook. I would love to send you some tiles. I think I have some vintage tile that maybe that size. In addition, I would like to paint some using some ceramic paint I am playing around with known as porcelain 150. What theme style or color would be appropiate for your kitchen? :D Heather.

  6. What a wonderful idea! I’m here via Apartment Therapy.

    I have two beautiful handmade tiles that I bought more than 10 years ago in Nogales, Mexico. I love them, but have never put them to use. I’d be so happy to know that they are in part of your backsplash.

    I’ll send them this week.

    Sarah in Canada

  7. I may have a couple of tiles I can send. Bought a few recently to do some mosaic work and they are still sitting in a pile along with lots of other future projects.

    I think this is an fabulous idea. I would like to collage a wall in my house but don’t know what my hubby would think about it, or mosaic a wall.

    I would do a portions of my studio walls but the have art trades dangling down from everywhere, couldn’t stand to keep them in boxes.

    You will just have to show everyone the finished project, I’m sure it will great eye candy.

    Harriet Swindell from Troy, IL

  8. You’re going to have an amazing backsplash. It’ll almost be like a piecework quilt, with individual bloggers contributing each piece. How cool.

Add your two-cents!

