Killer Kale Salad.

I had the best salad tonight.  So so simple but absolutely killer.  And that’s why I call it the “Killer Kale Salad.”  :)

Killer Kale Salad

Kale – torn into large pieces and rinsed
One very ripe avocado – smashed
TBS vegan worcestershire sauce
2 TBS rice wine vinegar
3 TBS extra virgin olive oil
Spices of choice – I used turmeric, garlic powder and s/p
Pecans
Chinese crispy noodles

Whisk together the smashed avocado, worcestershire sauce, evoo, vinegar and spices.  Add a bit of water if too thick.  
Toss together with kale, pecans and noodles.

Enjoy!

This was really so good and so easy to throw together.  It hit the spot!

Now, about my recent Thanksgiving post.  It came to my attention that my Quorn might not be vegan and, upon conducting some research, I fear that it was in fact not vegan.  It contains egg products. 

Le sigh…

I am a bit disappointed by this, sure, but I’m still very proud of the overall effort of my vegan Thanksgiving meal.  A good vegan friend of mine, for whom I have a lot of respect, recently told me that there is no such thing as a “perfect vegan”.  (And really, there is no such thing as a perfect human anything!)  I agree with this.  There’s always the chance that there will be something non-vegan to sneak in or that is overlooked or that I simply don’t know is not vegan, like the Quorn.  The point is, and what I’m the most concerned about, is the intention that I put into my food, into what I eat, into being vegan and that I do the best I can.

And I know that my intention is good.  And I’m doing the best I can.  And I’m learning each and everyday.  And I’m proud of that.

And Quorn is off the list.  :)

One thought on “Killer Kale Salad.

  1. Mmm, kale. It’s really good with under a bed of hot pasta with some cherry tomatoes, and a drizzle of olive oil (or walnut oil). YUM.
    Sheesh, your posts are making me hungry! You rock, you creative cooking belle, you!

Add your two-cents!

