Girl Gone Raw

For those of you who knew me back in the summer, you might recall that I had about a two-week spurt where I only ate raw foods. Craziness, I hear you collectively say but actually… it wasn’t. During those two weeks, I was surprised by all of the positive results in how I felt. I had less headaches, more clarity and alertness, lost weight, had TONS of energy, slept better, felt fuller for longer periods of time, just felt like an alive human being. It was wonderful. I loved it!

But… it was hard to keep up with. I know, I know… that is a lame excuse but I think that LIFE sometimes dictates how we eat and what is available and what is right for us at certain times. However, I do miss feeling as good as I did then.

I’m not back to thinking that I can be Raw for a full-time eating regimen. I know that I can’t. It just isn’t feasible for me. However, as part of my New Year’s Resolutions, I have resolved to do cleanses and fasts and I think that a raw cleanse would be doable, good even. THAT is feasible.

This realization coincided with a friend asking me yesterday for direction to some good raw sites. I was excited to stumble across yet another challenge (so many challenges, so little time!) This one is the 30-Day Raw Challenge. I think it has come at the perfect time. I won’t ask any of you to join this with me because it probably seems like a pretty hair-brained thing to do but I’m excited. I know how wonderful this has been for me in the past and 30-days will let me know if it is as right for me as I think it is. Again, it is highly unlikely that I will adopt this eating style as an everyday-thing but, regardless of that, it will be nice to see how it all transpires, what takes place within my body during this.

Just a bit about raw eating… (taken from the Alissa Cohen website)

There are many factors why raw foods improve health but enzymes and acid alkaline balance are probably the two most important ones:

Q. Why is raw and living food healthier than cooked food?

A. …When food is cooked at over 112 degrees (this temperature can be felt as warm to the touch) we destroy all of its enzymes. This is a problem because we need enzymes for every function in our body. To walk, to talk, to breath, and to move, life itself depends on them. As we age our bodies natural source of enzymes becomes depleted and we need to replenish this source through the foods we eat. If we do not do this and we continue to eat cooked foods, then we eventually begin to use up our bodies enzymes reserves. Cooking makes it harder for our bodies to break up and digest the foods that we eat. This food then begins to get stored in our bodies as toxins, which can lead to all kinds of diseases and illness.

Q. What are the benefits of eating a living and raw food diet?

A. The benefits of eating a raw and living food diet are too numerous to mention in entirety. The living and raw food diet has helped many people feel better when nothing else has worked.

Many people have healed themselves of diseases and ailments such as: Diabetes, fibromyalgia, acne, migraines, back pain, neck and joint pain, asthma, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, hypoglycemia, colitis, diverticulitis, candida, arthritis, serious allergies, depression, anxiety, mood swings, heartburn, gas, bloating, skin diseases, obesity, chronic fatigue, cancers, and many more. Excess weight seems to just melt off your body when you eat a raw and living food diet!

By eating a raw and living food diet you will begin to turn back the hands of time. By eating a raw and living food diet, you will start to look younger and more beautiful. You could turn your hair back to its natural color and stop hair loss, You could erase wrinkles and deep creases and age spots, your circles, bags, and eye puffiness would disappear, your acne and blemishes would be gone, your teeth would be tighter and your gums would stop bleeding, and your skin would glow and your eyes would sparkle. You would notice that you look better without make-up and that you have a natural sunny blush. People eating a raw food diet are the healthiest looking people I have ever seen. They have a glow in their skin, a shine to their hair, a sparkle in their eyes, a healthy, fit, body, and look younger then their age. They have a youthful energy and they feel good about themselves and happy to be alive!

If you are sick, tired, overweight, or just want to feel better then you do right now, know that this way of eating could be the answer to your prayers. Does it sound like I m promising a lot? Well, I am because I have seen this raw diet work time and time again. This has been one of the greatest miracles in my life and in the lives of other people whom I ve shared this with.

The science of it all is something that I don’t understand nor do I trouble myself to understand it but I know how I felt and it was GOOD. That is what I go on. My approach to life is one of natural-ness, as organic and cellular as possible so at least a bit of raw fits. I have a feeling that this will be very good for me. 🙂

To quell some curiousity, here are some yummy raw recipes that I will be trying while on this challenge/ cleanse:

Easy Yummy Salad Dressing
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup nama shoya
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup apple cidar vinegar
6 tblsp raw tahini
1 clove garlic
~ Mix all ingredients in blender

Fudge Balls
2 cups dates pitted and soaked
2 cups raw almond butter
1/2 cup raw carob
~ Blend dates in processor until smooth paste. Add in remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. Remove and shape into balls. I like to mix in chopped pecans or walnuts for crunch. Keep refridgerated and always carry with you for a quick snack.

Oatmeal :::One of my FAVORITES!:::
1 large apple
2 small bananas
1 tsp raw agave nectar or raw honey
cinnamon to taste
(Can substitute almond butter for cinnamon.)
~ Peel and slice apple. Pulse chop apple pieces in processor. Add in the rest of the ingredients and blend just a little.

**The Oatmeal recipe is so easy to play around with and substitute things on. Apples, pears, dates, nuts, etc. anything goes! I’m not a HUGE fan of bananas so I don’t use them a lot but almost anything else works great as an alternative.

Pad Thai
1 large yellow squash
4 cups mung bean sprouts
sauce
1 cup almond butter
1/2 cup fresh orange juice
2 tblsp nama shoya
2 tblsp honey or agave
1-2 tblsp fresh grated ginger
~ The noodles are easiest if you use a spiral slicer or spirooli… if you don’t have one just peel the squash and use a vegetable peeler to slice the squash up then take a knife and make the slices smaller like pasta. Mix pasta w/ mung beans.
Mix sauce ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour sauce over pasta and mix.

Brownies
1cup walnuts
1cup dates (pitted)
1/4 cup raw cocoa or raw carob
~ Mix well in food processor and press into a dish or pan then refrigerate for awhile and enjoy!

Stuffed Mushrooms :::Another FAVORITE!:::
portabella caps destemmed and briefly marinated in nama shoya w/ guacamole on top

Which brings me to…

Guacamole :::ULTIMATE favorite :):::
2 ripe avocadoes – mashed up with some lumps
juice of half a lime
sea salt
tomatoes, onions, green onions, garlic pureed together in a food processer
~ Mix the food processed items in with the mashed avocadoes and then mix lime juice and sea salt into that. I like to put just a touch of olive oil in it as well for a nice consistency. YUM!

Date nut tore
2c walnuts and 2c raisons blended in food processor until it forms a dark thick “dough”
press on plate in round shape and blot excess oil w/ paper towel

Icing for Tore
1 cup dates pitted and soaked for a few minutes and 1 lemon juiced….mix in food processor and spread onto “cake”

Lemon Pudding / Pie Filling
1 cup dates pitted and soaked until very soft
1 avocado
2 whole lemons peeled
~ Place ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.

Pie Crust
1 cup fresh coconut or you can use raw shredded coconut
1 cup raisons
1/2 cup raw cashews
1/2 cup raw pecans
~ In a food processor blend cashews and pecans until fine.
Add the remaining ingredients and blend until well ground. Remove from processor and pat into pie plate.

Corn Salad with Cilantro Dressing

(Salad)
4 fresh Corn Cobs, stripped
1 diced Red Bell Pepper
1 Avocado, cubed

(Dressing)
1 minced Garlic
1 small Onion
½ Jalapeno Pepper
1 small bunch Cilantro
1 Lime, juiced
½ tsp Sea Salt (or to taste)
2 tsp Flax or Olive Oil
½ tsp Cumin Powder
~ In a medium bowl, combine the corn, red bell pepper & avocado. Set aside. In a blender, Vita-Mix or food processor, combine the dressing ingredients. Pulse until the cilantro is finely chopped. Mix the dressing with the salad.

I will also, of course, be doing a lot of fresh juicing and smoothies (YUM!) This will give me a wonderful chance to try out my new Breville blender that Santa-Jay gave me for Christmas. Hooray!

So, who thinks I’m crazy? 😉 (You should have known that anyway!)

Have a RAW-SOME day, everyone!

KB 🙂

4 thoughts on “Girl Gone Raw

  1. Good Luck! I think the raw food diet sounds great for you. I tried it once and was the sickest I had ever been in my life, so I don’t think it works for me. But – That’s why we are all different and our bodies need different fuel. I do enjoy fasting for a week with each seasonal change, so please do keep posting any great recipes you find. Thanks!

  2. I would only use raw for fasts, I think. I love the idea of it but it isn’t very practical for my life overall, I don’t think. I think that if you are 100% raw 100% of the time, that IS your life. I can’t do that. But, to clean out my system from time to time… yes, I think it will be great!

  3. I don’t think I can do a full-thirty days of this. I’m going to use this as sort of an outline for occassional cleanses that are all-raw. Maybe one week every three months or something. I plan to do one at the beginning of February. I know that raw all the time would be great for me but I don’t think that is feasible. Healthy veg all the time is good enough for me, for now. 🙂

Add your two-cents!

