Black-eyed peas & Turnip green…

…. Mmmmmmmm…..

Actually, I’m serious. I really do love black-eye peas and turnip greens. I think both are delicious, especially with cornbread and pepper sauce. But, as a 110%, tad-bit superstitious Southern girl, I don’t let New Year’s pass me by without feasting on this meal.

The Southern saying goes: “Eat poor on New Year’s, eat fat the rest of the year.” The traditional Southern New Year’s meal that accompanies this saying includes ham, corn bread, black-eyed peas and collard greens. (I will be omitting the ham.) Black-eyed peas and collard greens are both considered to be especially lucky on New Year’s Day. Black-eyed peas are thought to bring wealth because they look like little coins (Do they really? I don’t see it…), in addition to the fact that they swell when cooked — a sure sign of prosperity. Collard greens are considered lucky because they are green, like greenbacks — money!

I love this meal and it is a treat for me to eat anytime, but especially if it will / might start the year off right! Bring it on!

4 thoughts on “Black-eyed peas & Turnip green…

  1. hmmmm I have no idea what this is. I only know my good ‘ol regular green peas. Sounds very tasting tempting. I think when I eventually visit you, you will have to make some of this πŸ™‚

  2. Our meal last night was very tasty… mmmmm! Yes, of course I will make this up for you whenever you visit. I can’t guarantee that you will like it (either you love it or hate it) but I will make it. πŸ™‚

  3. I read a few blogs from the south this weekend and they all talked about Black Eyed peas and greens. I had never heard of that superstition before… maybe that’s why I’m not successful with money! I’m not eating the right things on New Years!

  4. Yep, that is the story I’ve always heard! Disclaimer: Up to this point, it has NOT worked for me. We will have to see how this year turns out. The food WAS delicious though. πŸ™‚

Add your two-cents!

