UPDATES – January into February

I’m sitting here thinking about how it is now 5:35 p.m. and it only seems like fifteen minutes since I woke up today. Of course, the same goes for this year. It only seems like a couple of days have passed since we were ringing in 2007. Now, we are ringing in the SECOND month of 2007. Cliche yes but, wow!, how time flies.

When I think about the exponential pace at which time passes, I wonder if I’ve squandered most of the time I have been given. My mind automatically drifts to jobs, careers, cars, houses, money, etc. But, it only stays there for a moment. What really matters in this time we have here – as fleeting as it is – is that we have love, lots of it, and that we give love too.

No part of me can ever say that I do not have that. If I ever claim that in a fit of frenzy, smack me back to reality. I don’t have a house of my own, nor do I have a fancy car or lots of money but I do have love. Lots of it. The time that I have here isn’t squandered at all if I spend it immersed in and thankful for that love.

So then, a squanderer I am not.

Now that my rambly reflections are over, let me say that I hope that all of you, dear readers, are having a lovely 2007 and are making the very most of it.

At the onset of January, I resolved in my WWHI endeavors to do two things. One was to keep up with NaYoPracMo and the other was to give up watching crime TV.

Well, one out of two ain’t bad. Or is it two out of three ain’t bad? Either way, I did one and bombed the other. Can you guess which?

I bombed out on the actual asana practice of NaYoPracMo. Yes, I did. I think I did somewhere around the first five days of consistent practice and then… well… then nothing. I did watch Namaste Yoga on FitTV today and it looks good so I’m planning to do it tomorrow. It is actually very calm and flowy, which is the way I like my yoga (with a side of sweat). But, I don’t consider the whole NaYoPracMo experience to be lost. No, indeed I do not. Along the way and only because of NaYoPracMo, I met two wonderful people – Kristi and Julie. I have been inspired by them and hope to continue to be so, even though NaYoPracMo is officially over. Namaste to them both.

As for my cessation of watching crime TV, I am happy to say that I quit cold turkey. After I blogged about it that day, I didn’t watch another one. Nary a ONE! I’m proud of myself and, even though I’ve not noticed a huge difference in the way I feel, I think it was a good move. And, surprisingly, I don’t miss them. Well, I don’t miss any but Bones, which I’m seriously thinking of watching again. I think that one out of however many I was watching would be okay. And, since I do find myself missing it, I think that watching it would be more than just a filler. So, I might tune in tonight and see what Bones and Booth are up to. I’ve missed those guys!

It has also been a happening time over at Etsy lately. I’ve ordered some really great things and listed some as well. Just today I listed some super-cute vintage aprons that someone – if they find them – will be very happy to have. I also ordered a custom ACEO from one of my Etsy favorites and my new friend, Stilettoheights. It is called ‘When I Was There‘ and is done with a beautiful Eiffel Tower, my favorite, of course. I love it and can’t wait to see it in person. Thanks, Jenn!

Carlasonheim is another Etsy favorite and is offering tiny little emailed Valentines to anyone who asks for them. I requested some and they are SO cute! Why buy Valentines when you can get reproductions of a talented artist’s original for FREE? Check it out!

Speaking of Valentine’s, I am simultaneously trying to talk myself into and out of buying Lorimarsha‘s fabulous new ‘Veg Out’ pants for my Happy-Valentine’s-to-Me gift. The dialogue in my head goes like this:

“No, you shouldn’t…”
“But you want to so bad and they will look so cute on you and you will wear them SOOO much and they are just SO you!”

Grrrrr… talk about inner conflict.

Thinking about Kristi, Julie, Jenn, Lorimarsha and several other super-special people I’ve met over the last month, makes me think about how wonderful technology is and how great it is to be able to meet these people that I might not otherwise run into. I learn so much from them and the handful of others that I now call friends. Just this month, I’ve learned that there are people out there who also dislike going out much anymore, that there are people who create and really make it work, that living a quiet life isn’t so bad after all, that there is more to success than just being monetarily successful, that fulfillment can come in all shapes and sizes, that nothing changes unless you change. So, to all of you who have taught me something over the past month, thank you. I will try to honor those lessons by not forgetting them and, when applicable, putting them into practice. I can only hope that I’ve also taught something or another along the way.

Oh, and if you’ve not noticed, I added another section to my blog here. It is the ‘Inspiration‘ section and will contain what I think are inspirational blurbs. These will be pieces I’ve found in newsletters, comments, reading, etc. They will not be things that I’ve written. I will try to update it when I find something really noteworthy to share. I hope that you all will be inspired and encouraged by what I post there.

So, happy February Eve to you all. What will February hold for you? Only you can tell that. It will be what you make it.

This is what you get when you play with your camera while making your lunch:

“Avocado As Still Life”
avo7.JPG
avo4.JPG
avo2.JPG

Uncategorized

9 thoughts on “UPDATES – January into February

  1. I can’t believe that tomorrow is the second month of 2007 either!
    Where does time go?!
    I love looking at the Etsy things, though it can be depressing for me, as I wish I had just a thimble-full of the talent showcased by all the artists there! Maybe I’m talented at appreciating the art there??? 😉
    Here’s a quotation I think you might like:

    “Love is our true destiny. We do not find the meaning of life by ourselves alone-we find it with another.” –Thomas Merton

    Happy February Eve to you, too! 🙂

  2. Wow! I LOVE that quote! I had never heard of that one before but I NEEDED to hear it today. I am so glad that you posted it here and introduced me to it. Thank you! YOU ARE A BLESSING TO ME! 🙂 xoxoxo…

  3. OMG, this made me cry……you should be getting your card today, I can’t wait for you to see it.

    also, there is nothing/everything wrong with watching crime TV…lol, but I don;t judge, I have somehow gotten hooked on Las Vegas on Friday nights, it makes me dumber every time I watch it.

    if you like Namaste yoga you should get the DVD of the Goddess workout, it is a belly dance themed work out and it is awesome and fun….I used to do it religiously…sadly I have not for a while.

    I really should.

    xoxoxo

  4. KB –

    Great Post, I am so happy that you are meeting and making so many new friends. I adore the stilettoheights Gia ACEO P bought me, I know you will LOVE yours. She does do such gorgeous work……
    I think your crime TV addiction is much better than my reality TV addiction 🙂

  5. Stilettoheights – I HOPE I get the card today! I’m SO very excited to see it. I love it already. 🙂

    I also like Las Vegas but don’t watch it regularly. I did watch Bones last night and it was SOOOO good! Wow! I did miss it. It is pretty graphic though and kind of turned my stomach a couple of times. However, I’m going on the theory that ONE crime show a week won’t turn me into a crazy-person. Here’s hoping.

    Okay… if you do Goddess, I’ll do Namaste. How is that for a deal?? 🙂

  6. Thanks, Kristen… I’m glad to be blogging again too. I just had to feel that I had something to say!

    Jody… I wish I didn’t have a TV addiction of any sort but sadly, that isn’t the case. I think my crime TV addiction is over. Now it is simply a Bones/ House/ What About Brian addiction. Not much better… 🙂

  7. I am sorry that somebody bought your VEG OUT pants before you could…:( I guess it was just not meant to be. I have never watched Bones, but I am sure that it is worthy of your viewing. I only watch Days, Wheel of Fortune, and Crossing Jordan…

  8. It is my hope that someone bought them FOR ME and will delight and surprise me with them forthwith. I can dream, right? Sigh… 😦

    I do believe that Bones is worthy of my viewing. I believe it to be infinitely better and more intelligent than Law & Order or CSI. But, that wouldn’t take much, would it?

Add your two-cents!

