Time Management – The NEW Challenge

Happy Monday morning, dear readers!

I probably should have begun my next installment of WWHI promptly on February 1. However, I’ve been out of town and otherwise occupied and not really able to blog it. I’ve also been meditating on just what it would be – what ALL it would be – and have only recently come up with the answer.

This month’s WWHI will be one-fold and pretty straightforward although, I’m afraid, not very simple. This month will be work on something that I’ve lacked, but desired, all my life. I have my doubts about being able to develop such a characteristic, I wonder if I’m even the TYPE of person for it but, it is important to me to at least try.

So, this month’s WWHI challenge will be TIME MANAGEMENT. Eeek.

Working from home makes it all to easy for me to daudle. I can awaken when I want to, have coffee for as long as I like, play on the Internet, forego exercise, nap, and generally lolly-gag around. In fact, I do far too much of this, to be honest. I’m not the type of person, however, who wishes for a completely structured, hour-by-hour, play-by-play, down to the millisecond plan for each day. No, that wouldn’t work at all. What I wish for, rather, is a rough plan of what my day will look like, what it will incorporate and what I plan to accomplish or work on.

Not too much to ask, I’d say.

But, I know me and I know how large of an undertaking this will be. Again I say… Eeek.

The reason for all of this is that I want to accomplish certain things in life. I want to get things done and be the best me that I can be. Daudling away my time won’t accomplish that. However, neither can I resolve to completely overhaul who I am and who I have always been. I have this “all or nothing” mentality and always have had that. I think that I will start being the “new me” on a certain day and that I will morph into the person that I dream of being.

Sadly, it doesn’t work that way.

For, who can really wake up on a designated day and exercise as they should, make the money that they want to make, eat impeccably, keep everything in order and everyone looked after, read X hours each day, journal X hours each day, take all the vitamin supplements that need to be taken for optimal health, not watch TV at all, etc. etc.? The undertaking is too huge, the change is too great and, to resolve to wake up one morning and be a different person is, at least for me, not feasible at all.

Part of my battle has been in realizing this. Baby steps work too, after all.

So, then, my baby step for this month is time management. Heaven help me.

If you have any thoughts, tips, or advice on this, please share them! I’m open to any help that I can get, as always.

Have a lovely day, dear ones, and wish me luck!

Uncategorized

9 thoughts on “Time Management – The NEW Challenge

  1. Yes, I know exactly what you are talking about. I have found though that with the 1800 things I have to do in the course of a day that I must at least attempt a plan of action. lol. It sometimes works, and it sometimes gets thrown out of the window. I am slowly but surely making it work a little more each week.

  2. You can do it! This is a great challenge for yourself, KB. Here is my tip, the busier you are, the more you will get done. As you set out and accomplish task after task, the momentum and high of a job well done will push you forward to the next task. The trick is to stay busy (and keep breathing)….

  3. Aimee – Making it work a bit at a time will work for me. I don’t even begin to think that I will be able to make it work in one fell swoop. That would be nice but….

    Jody – Yes, I’ve always done more when I’m super-busy too but I’m just NOT that busy right now. I don’t have a lot of out-of-the-house obligations going so that slows me down some. I do think I can do it though! We’ll see!

    🙂

  4. Time management…eeeeks is right! I really, really need to do this too. I’m struggling keeping my recruiting schedule, my mom schedule and my household schedule moving right along.

    I’ll work on this with you this month!

    So…what is the first step?

  5. The first step is saying “EEEEEK” again! 🙂

    Secondly, I need (perhaps it would help you too) a chart of some sort to schedule things out. What do you think would work best for this?

  6. EEEK!
    Okay, I’ve taken the first step! 🙂
    You CAN do this!
    About schedules–how about deciding if you more of a morning person, afternooner, early evening, or night owl when it comes to working, reading, crafting, yoga, etc.? For instance, I know that I read way much more and much better at night. Are there certain times of day (or certain days of the week) that you prefer for a task?
    There has to be something about time-management on the net….
    This is really good, KB!!!

  7. Thanks dear! I have wondered when my optimal time to do certain things would be. I can’t figure it out as it seems to change. Odd, I know. However, I did look around online some and found a method called Getting Things Done (GTD) and it goes on the premise of writing down EVERYTHING that comes to your head to do right as you think of it. It is like a book of random to-do scribblings. The idea is to get the idea out of your head and onto paper so that your brain can have more energy to actually DO the task. I like it and think it might work. If I had things on paper, I think I’d do a lot better, even if the list of things isn’t pretty and in a certain order, even if it is just scribbles. Will try it! 🙂

  8. Why can’t someone do the things you listed on any given day? (exercise as they should, make the money that they want to make, eat impeccably, keep everything in order and everyone looked after, read X hours each day, journal X hours each day, take all the vitamin supplements that need to be taken for optimal health, not watch TV at all)

    Those things are not impossible at all. The problem you have with your list is that you made a lot of achievable things unachievable by qualifying them with phrases like “they should” and “they want to make” or words like “impeccably” “everything” and “everyone”. Almost the same can be said for taking vitamins. If you are able to eat well, then the vitamins should not be as necessary. If it still takes a perceptible amount of time to take vitamins, then there is something else going on that needs to be taken care of.

    How much time does it take to not watch TV at all?

Add your two-cents!

