Sweet, sweet caffeine… :(

As you all know from this morning’s blog entry, I endeavored to cut my caffeine today, as per my nutritionist’s advice. So, I made my morning brew with half caf / half decaf.

Lord help me.

It tasted rather good – normal even – and I felt fine – good even – for the morning. But, that was short-lived.

By mid-afternoon, I felt like a steamroller had run me over – several times. I have been sluggish and sleepy all afternoon long, not able to stop yawning. I feel like I’m moving in slow-motion, not even able to type properly and – this is the truth – I actually slurred my speech a couple of times. Shameful! Horrible! I’m determined to do this but – WOW! – I miss my caffeine!

All I want, dear readers, is to function my life’s tasks without any addiction but still to have the sweet, warm, safe feeling of caffeine streaming through my veins. Is that really too much to ask? Inasmuch as I can think right now, I would say not.

But, thinking is not my forte at this moment in time. My pulsing noggin needs to be on a pillow right now, with visions of caffeine dancing through it.

So, to Blanket Bay I go. Good night dear readers. When you say your prayers tonight, please also ask that I get through this time of trial without my head exploding. My head and I would appreciate it.

7 thoughts on “Sweet, sweet caffeine… :(

  1. The ‘atrocities’ included with overuse (NOT withdrawal) are, but not limited to:a wide range of unpleasant physical and mental conditions including nervousness, irritability, anxiety, tremulousness, muscle twitching (hyperreflexia), insomnia, headaches, and heart palpitations, caffeine intoxication, caffeine-induced anxiety disorder, caffeine-induced sleep disorder, and caffeine-related disorder not otherwise specified. This is from my limited research…

  2. Oh dear…. NOT good news, Friend. 😦

    I already suffer from nervousness, irritability (we know that, don’t we?), anxiety, muscle twitching (in my eyes, does that count?), headaches, and heart palpitations, sleep issues (does sleepwalking count?)

    I know I’m not the brightest crayon in the box sometimes but I never considered all that might be caffeine related. YIPES!

  3. KB – I’ve been trying to lower my caffeine intake as well. I don’t drink that much, but I still “feel” it when I don’t have it.

    When you start to get that sluggish feeling, do some jumping jacks, run, walk….something. Get active and that will help for that feeling to pass for awhile!

  4. I would have to walk all afternoon long. Ha! Today was a bit better so I’m optimistic about the sluggishness getting better. I can tell that I’m de-toxing from it, which is good in a way… and bad in a way. 😦

  5. Pingback: Withdrawal. « Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

