::: Happy Valentine’s Day! :::

Good morning Valentines! I hope that each of you have awakened to warmth in your hearts, regardless of the weather outside. Today is the day for it!

To be honest, I’ve never liked Valentine’s Day. To be even more honest, I’ve always abhorred Valentine’s Day. Perhaps my abhorrence of it was a bit cynical, bitter and misplaced as my keen dislike for it has always stemmed from the fact that I’ve spent most of the Valentine’s Days of my life without a Valentine. I can count on two ears how many Valentine’s Days I’ve spent with an actual romantic Valentine, and yes, I am counting Brad in third grade. (He gave me a carnation and a wooden heart and was blushing so badly that I thought his head might explode. Later, on the playground, he told me that his Mother made him give me those things. Ahh… true love.)

Honestly though, I’ve never been neglected on Valentine’s Day, which makes my abhorrence of it even more misplaced. To the contrary, I’ve always been showered with gifts – flowers, chocolates, gifts, dinners, etc. – by the most wonderful and attentive Mother and Aunt I could ever ask or wish for. For the past three years, my Mother has sent a bouquet of red and green orchids to my office and, on more than one V-Day, my Aunt has sent either daisies or hydrangeas or some delightful and unique combination. This year, as I’m not at an office anymore, I don’t expect the flower truck to journey down my drive but they’ve more than done their share in the past. They are the best Valentines’ EVER!

But this year, believe it or not, I actually do have a real-life, romantic Valentine (I had him last year too). However, as most of you know, we have a unique situation and he happens to be who-knows-how-many miles away from me today (and always, actually – we are working on that).

As heartbroken and downtrodden as I might SHOULD be about that fact, I’m not. Yes, I do miss him terribly but I know that what we have is good, it is right and beautiful, no matter what the geographical distance between us right now. With that happy thought in my head and the warm feeling in my heart, I can and will have a lovely day on this Valentine’s Day, this day of love.

I’m just looking out the window onto the front yard and I spot nine wild turkeys walking in a line. Has anyone ever realized how BIG they are!? Wow! They are playing follow-the-leader and are each hopping over a tree that has fallen at the edge of the wood.

These wonderful creatures make me realize that love and life and wonder is all around me and I can love and appreciate and revel in it. I am sad that my love is so far from me today but in my heart is what really matters the most. What a waste of a day it would be and a slander to our love if I were to spend this day pining over this distance, the distance that we are so accustomed to by now.

So, I will not do that. I am solo today but will live it up, make the most of it, do my own thing.

Doing my own thing today had originally included finishing Eat, Pray, Love, making up a nice veggie dinner, reading some magazines, doing some laundry (laundry is a treat for me – I love it!) and possibly watching What’s Eating Gilbert Grape (believe it or not, I’ve never seen it).

But plans change.

Specifically, plans change when I realize that it is Half-Price listing day on eBay. So, friends, as lame and un-festive as it seems, I will be listing away on eBay today. This, however, is a good thing. I have tons and tons and tons of things to list so half-price on the fees will be helpful. I’m meticulous about my descriptions and photos and measurements so I won’t be able to get a LOT listed but a bit is better than nothing and hopefully it will be a good kick-start.

I started this lovely day off with a nice yoga session at 7:30, followed a bit more caffeine in my coffee than I’ve been having (it’s a HOLIDAY!), and then I got all of the Etsy Secret Buddies sent out. The ladies doing this swap have been so obliging and friendly and have been so excited and eager to get their secret buddy partners. I was glad for today to come around so that I could finally pair them up. It took a lot of organization but I hope it will be worth it.

So, my Valentine’s Day won’t be packed with excitement but hopefully it will be packed with productivity. I hope that each of you have a wonderful day as well, whatever you might end up doing.

Remember…

“Love doesn’t make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.” ~ Franklin P. Jones

elephant_val.jpg

::: HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! :::

4 thoughts on “::: Happy Valentine’s Day! :::

  1. I enjoyed this post, lovely photo.

    Yay for ebay half-price sale! Like you, my plans will now alter slightly because I have been collecting goods from the thrift store and garbage to sell on ebay. Oh well, getting things done is still a great way to celebrate the day! You will feel even more accomplished by tomorrow.

    I did get some lovely roses from P at work. I was surprised since he obviously had to think ahead being away this week, so sweet 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  2. Ohhhhh… That is SO nice that P sent you roses! How thoughtful!

    I have been listing things but am slow at it because I’m so picky. Ha! Oh well… I’m doing what I can.

    What is your eBay ID again? I’d love to check out your garbage room cast-offs (I’m always intrigued when you mention that mystical garbage room!)

    xo!

  3. I love laundry too.

    Thank you so much for this blog. I am addicted to all of your thoughts and inspirations.

    Despite the fact that you are thousands of miles away from your love, I wish you the best Valentine’s day.

  4. What a nice comment! It made me SMILE SMILE SMILE! You are most welcome for this blog. I’m glad you are a reader and commenter on it. I love that and I love your feedback and suggestions.

    I hope you had a lovely Valentine’s too. (((HUGS)))

Add your two-cents!

