“The Secret” – a.k.a. The LAW of ATTRACTION

I am a self-proclaimed self-help junkie. Therefore, it will likely not surprise many of you that I fell into The Secret craze. If you’ve not heard of it by now, you will soon.

The Secret is a new age-y twist on a very old principle: The Law of Attraction. It was featured on Oprah last week and has taken off since. I’ve heard so many people talking about it, talking both good and bad. While I will freely admit that they spiffed this up, marketed it like nobody’s business and are cashing in bigtime, I will also (even more) freely admit that it is phenomenal.

The Law of Attraction is a centuries old principle that has been used by the creators of our history such as Shakespeare, Plato, Einstein, Lincoln, Hugo, etc. The list goes on. This is not new but it is also not widely used. Look at the extraordinary lives of these people and you will see that it should be widely used, by each of us.

Most of the people I’ve heard speak ill about it mostly do so because of the marketing, the fancification, the huge cash-in on a simple principle. Well, yes, it is simple, but it is not easy. Moreover, it is not easy for most people to wrap their minds around. People simply do not GET IT. The DVD really goes into detail about it all (91 minutes of detail, to be precise), details about different area of your life, how the principles of The Secret work, WHY they work and what they will bring about.

As I said, the principles outlined in this DVD are very simple, yet, they are not necessarily easy. It isn’t easy and not even always possible to change your thoughts. As stated in the DVD, most people have 60,000 thoughts in ONE SINGLE day. What an energy drain it would be to monitor and try to control ALL 60,000 of those thoughts! Almost impossible.

What you CAN do, however, is to change your thought PATTERNS, and your thought patterns will present themselves in your emotions. As Steve Pavlina says in his blog entry on The Secret:

Perhaps the most crucial point of the film is that your emotions serve as your internal compass to let you know how well you’re applying the law of attraction. This is straight out of Ask and It Is Given. If you feel happy, joyful, passionate, or otherwise positive, you’re successfully thinking about what you want. If you feel fearful, depressed, angry, or otherwise negative, you’re thinking mainly about what you don’t want, so you’re using the law of attraction destructively. Hence, at any given time, you can simply check your emotional state to determine whether or not you’re in or out of alignment. I know I’ve been very much in alignment lately because I’ve been feeling absolutely wonderful; consequently, I’ve been on a fantastic roll where I’m attracting more and more of what I want into my life. It’s almost too easy.

Although the DVD is largely just repetition of the same principles and ideas, they are all presented in so many different, unique and insightful ways that it is hard to really relay them to you here. I will say this again in this entry I’m sure but the DVD is WELL WORTH the $25 – 30 that it is going for right now. Get it! Watch it! Again and again and again!

Off the top of my head, this is what I remembered from my first time watching The Secret:

  • There is enough prosperity, wealth, abundance, goodness, etc. in The Universe for EVERYONE on this planet.
  • Your thoughts are like orders to The Universe. If you say to yourself, “I’m never going to find someone to love”, that is the order that The Universe takes from you and that is what you will get.
  • You don’t necessarily have to know how things that you want will come about. You simply have to know what you want, ask for it, believe that it WILL come about and then receive it. To BELIEVE is the key here.
  • Negative thoughts yield negative circumstances in your life.
  • Positive thoughts yield positive circumstances in your life.
  • You have to feel good about all of this. If you feel like changing your thought patterns and being positive is a chore, then it won’t happen. You have to want this, believe this, feel good about this.
  • Gratitude is the key to having abundance in your life. You can only get new things when you are grateful for the things in your life that you already have.

  • There is so much more than this which is why I recommend purchasing a copy of the DVD to have for your own, to watch with your family again and again. It is a great resource, even if the people behind it are cashing in bigtime. Allow me to say that I don’t often jump on the band-wagon of something as hyped up as this has been. However, the principles are amazing. The presentation is amazing and very accessible. It has been PROVEN to work… let me elaborate on that…

    A dear friend of mine in Australia is a remarkable girl that I’ve known for many years. She is phenomenal on so many levels that I would have to dedicate an entire blog about that alone. However, she is in “the know” about EVERYTHING. After seeing the Oprah episode about The Secret, I asked her if she had heard about it (I should have known that she had!) She replied soon after I asked her and said that not only had she heard about it and read the book on it, she and her two sisters had been applying it in their lives and they truly and firmly believed it and lived by it. Her sister resolved to visit the United States with her husband. She didn’t really have a plan on how that would happen but she asked for it, believed it and prepared herself to receive. I’m not sure how long it took but not terribly long after, she won an all expenses paid round-trip for two to St. Louis to see Billy Joel in concert at the end of April.

    Coincidence? I’d say not.

    Furthermore, my friend wanted a new coat and set out to find one with positive thoughts about meeting this goal. She found the coat that she wanted at half of the original price! Wow! She was so excited! When she took it to the register to pay, it was clearanced to $18.90.

    Coincidence? You tell me. 🙂

    This isn’t some arbitrary person that I don’t know. This is someone (and her sister) who I’ve known for years and trust completely. It works for her. It will work for me.

  • Ask.
  • Believe.
  • Receive.

  • As Steve Pavlina so aptly says… Take charge of your thoughts, and you’ll take charge of your circumstances.

    In closing this post, I’d like to say that my Mother watched this DVD with me and was the main force behind my getting the DVD. She adores Oprah and so that had a good bit of influence on her regarding The Secret, but she is convinced now too. It is powerful. There is no way that it can NOT bring about change if you resolve to use it and allow it to. My Mother saw that and is now going about her day saying positive things aloud to herself. Cute? Yes. But, I also have every confidence that it will work for her. And for me. And for you if you allow it to.

    There is so much I could say about this DVD but I will leave it to you to decipher and soak up for yourself. I encourage you to get it as soon as you can.

    Life-changing? I hope so.

    Visit Steve Pavlina’s blog for a special offer on this DVD – $5 discount, a free bonus meditation program, and free shipping in the USA. For details visit The Secret.

    Enjoy!!

  • Change your thoughts, and you change your world. ~ Norman Vincent Peale
  • All that we are is the result of what we have thought. ~ Buddha
  • Man’s greatness lies in his power of thought. ~ Blaise Pascal
  • Life is a mirror and will reflect back to the thinker what he thinks into it. ~ Ernest Holmes
  • We are unlimited beings! ~ Rev. Dr. Michael Beckwith
  • Inner happiness actually is the fuel of success. ~ Dr. John Hagel, PhD A.B. M.A.
  • There’s enough for everyone. If you believe it, if you can see it, if you act from it, it will show up for you. That’s the truth. ~ Rev. Dr. Michael Beckwith
  • Do the results you have in your life – are they what you really want, and are they worthy of YOU? If they are not worthy of you, then when would NOW be a good time to change this? Because you have the power to DO that! ~ James Arthur Ray
  • You could start with nothing, and out of nothing, and out of no way – a way will be made! ~ Rev. Dr. Michael Beckwith
  • When the voice and the vision on the inside become more profound, and more clear and loud, than the opinions on the outside, then you’ve mastered your life. ~ Dr. John F. Demartini, D.C. Bsc
  • The Secret is the answer to all that has been, all that is, and all that will ever be. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • You create your own universe as you go along. ~ Winston Churchill
  • Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just the first step. ~ Martin Luther King
  • Imagination is everything. It is the preview of life’s coming attractions. ~ Albert Einstein
  • Whatever the mind of man can conceive, it can achieve. ~ W. Clement Stone
  • What you resist, persists. ~ Carl Jung
  • All power is from within and is therefore under our own control. ~ Robert Collier
  • Whether you think you can or you can’t, you are right. ~ Henry Ford
  • Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls. ~ Joseph Campbell
  • Advertisements

    27 thoughts on ““The Secret” – a.k.a. The LAW of ATTRACTION

    1. This makes me think of when Oprah had Gary Zukav on years ago–I remember him saying something about how what you put out in the universe, will come back to you. I am so happy that Oprah is finally doing shows like this again! 🙂
      (I’m pretty sure it was Zukav–I could be wrong, but I’m positive Oprah did a show with a similar message some years ago. I think she said something about it recently–like angered people wrote in complaining, thinking that she was talking about religion. Maybe people are more receptive now–I certainly hope so!)
      I’m so happy you blogged about it; I LOVED reading your post!!!
      Sorry this was a long comment! 🙂
      Love ya!

    2. I am so excited that Oprah decided to have that show AND do another update show. News of The Secret has been floating around the blogosphere for awhile and NOW, it’s everywhere I turn. I’m just happy that it’s getting out to millions of people whom will share it with millions more. 🙂

    3. Projectmetta – I LOVE long comments! Leave them ANYTIME! I think that Oprah has always sort of had this message in her shows. She hasn’t exactly put it into this terminology but the idea is the same. I don’t remember the show with Zukav but I know that she got flack in the past and is getting some for this too. It is sad. People who don’t realize that they can be religious and still practice ideas like these are simple-minded. I don’t get it. Oprah was semi-confronted on the show by a Christian lady who thought the principles of The Secret went against Christianity. I thought Oprah handled it well. Glad you liked the post! 🙂 xooo…

      Saymorre – THANKS for finding my blog and commenting! Do you practice The Secret principles? I’m so excited about them. Please visit my blog anytime! 🙂

    4. I watched the second episode today (I taped it) with my sister, and I too felt that particular lady was not getting it. I so wanted to ask her if she had ever heard of “Ask and you shall receive.” THAT seems to be totally in line with what they were saying, and it’s totally from the Bible (I just looked it up to make doubly sure–it’s in Matthew and Luke [maybe more, but I’m not a Bible-y person.])!!!
      What is up with people?
      I totally loved how Oprah and her guests handled it as well. (I am always amazed at how they can just roll off quotations–they are really smart! I wish I could say something like,”Well, as [whoever] said,….” How do they remember all that?!)
      🙂

    5. Yes! Ask and ye SHALL receive! I loved how they all remembered the verses and quotations too. That lady in the audience just did NOT get it, did she? Argh.

      And yes, my brother is a twerp. 🙂 (But I’m crazy about him anyway!)

    6. Well, I just LOVED your blogg …. thanks KBM! : ) Don’t forget about the parking spaces …. you can get any parking space you want! Just ask for it as you leave home …. ; ) … works every time.

      Re my sister … well, we didn’t give the Universe much time at all. We heard the competition on the radio on the Saturday and said out loud that she would win it and …. so she did. You had to phone up when you heard a certain set of songs on the Saturday …. got through easily without any effort…..then on Monday, her name was called. The whole time I just KNEW she was going to win and they were already talking as if they’d won it. Which is the principle of … ask … believe … receive …

      I have to say though … I’ve asked for other things and it really is hard work believing that it will happen … so I guess that’s the trick. Trusting it will happen.

      : )

    7. Hooray! You are here! You read! You commented! HOORAY! 🙂

      I LOVED getting to speak with you on the phone this weekend. We should so definitely do that more often. And I love hearing all of your stories of how The Secret works for you. I believe it too.

      I can’t wait until my trip to the beach in April and my trip to meet YOU in New York!!! I believe it!!!

    8. Great post. The slumber party sounds like a blast. I’m off to look at silettoheights! I’ve made 2 vision boards. One is mostly words and I’ve posted it in the bathroom, on the suggestion of a friend who has hers there because she’ll see it often. The other one is all images. In my workspace. Did you do one yet?

    9. OK, I don’t get this. I don’t know if its because it makes so much common sense to me that I am thinking too much about it. Is it because it is similar to how I already live? I call my method “forward thinking.” I continually imagine in my head the next 0.1 – 50 years, what I am doing, where I am, etc. I said I was going to live in NYC at 16, having never even been there. I constantly daydreamed of an myself looking up at shiny buildings with the biggest smile and I worked towards achieving that daydream. I always think like this, imagine myself in my ideal situation whether it be for a presentation in a few days or me traveling with my lover through european cities with our shiny silver hair. And Then – I try to follow through on that image. Is this similar?
      Ok maybe I should just shut up and get the movie and figure it out for myself!

    10. I just finished watching the two Oprah shows. Last night some friends and I were together and I think we are going to get together on a weekly basis to practice some of this…dream together. I am getting ready to order the DVD.

    11. How wonderful to have a group of people to discuss and brainstorm with about this. That is so great. Let me know what you think when you watch The Secret. I will be very curious to know what you think. It is so powerful and I can’t wait to see it again! 🙂

    12. I love The Secet and I think it sounds very similar to the forward thinking idea …. either way, it’s a great positive way to live. Not worrying about the past but looking forward to and sending out the signal to the Universe about the type of future you want …. I’m also going to re-read the book and watch the video again this weekend but the idea sounds quite similar. That’s why I think positive people are often quite successful … my boss is like that … he expects his ideas and plans to work … and so they just about always do. Where as another guy in the office is always saying things like …. ‘things never turn out for me like so and so …. everything I do mucks up … ‘ .. etc etc … and so what happens …. the universe grants his wish.

      You know, after watching this …. I’ve really started to notice other people’s lives and attitudes … especially the negative people and you can see the Secret highlighted there … I stay away from those negative people. Luckily I worked that one out a few years ago.

    13. KP – Yes, I think some people are just like that. It is neat to hear about your boss and his attitude. It must be great to work for someone like that, so inspiring. I find you to be VERY VERY inspiring in your attitude and approach to life.

      I’m still sending out my signals and believing in the best! 🙂

    14. Great info.

      I watched the Secret DVD a few months ago and got another book on Law of Attraction,
      but it didn’t really start happening for me until I wrote down my intentions. I found that to be
      VERY powerful.

      http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0975436171/ is a book I just got, which makes
      planning out your Law of Attraction goals easy. Just fill in the blanks and you’ve got a road
      map to follow. Has been working well so far.

    15. Hi “Mom”! 🙂 It is great to see you here! I didn’t know about the Law of Attraction workbook! How very neat! I’m in the process of making a Vision Board and I have a LoA journal. Is the workbook a lot more comprehensive or any more helpful than that? If so, I might nee to get one.

      Thanks so much for visiting and for the suggestion! 🙂

    16. Hi! I came across your blog from comments section in Steve Pavlina blog. I’m watching the Secret DVD now and was telling my husband about it.

      I think the concept of LoA does not contradict with any major religion, (mine being non Christian) and the innermost message the Secret brings is really powerful, yet not easy to implement. Especially for myself who has been brought up with core belief that you shouldn’t hope too high and just be grateful with what you have.

      I never agree with that idea since young and was thinking that maybe they (my parents, relatives, friends) were wrong or I was wrong for aiming for higher and greater value in life. Now I know that’s nothing wrong with my you-dream-on thought.

      I’m planning to have a wall of great things in life that I want- cut and paste pictures of dream house, dream car, 50inch LCD TV, travel places etc and hang it on the wall in front of my workspace as I am a visual person. Hope it will help to manifest the positive thought faster by doing that.

    17. Hello iReview! Welcome!

      I think that visual images of what you want from life are powerful. In fact, I’e been working on my Vision Board all day today. It is looking so good and is really motivational and encouraging. I’m excited.

      Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to comment anytime!

      🙂

    18. Wow…
      I just sorta “stumbled across this” as I began today’s journey! LOL
      The “Inspiration-Boost” I just received is EXACTLY what I needed!
      Imagine that!
      I went and ordered the workbook the minute I read your post mom.

      Guess I’m a bit late getting here, last post was February! LOL

      Blessings….

    Add your two-cents!

    