Maintenance Day

I’ve relapsed. Yes, friends, it is true. Even as I type, I’m watching CSI. Horrible. I’m weak. I know it. I attribute this lapse to the oh-so-annoying and confusing time change. It just throws me off. I cannot be held accountable for what I do after a time change. Sigh…

This weekend, I did a bit of maintenance on my blog. You may have already noticed but I revamped my blog-roll, added a ‘shopping’ section, a ‘currently reading’ section and a nice little group of sites that I like to visit. Up top I added a Books and Movies section and I rewrote the About Me section. I also renamed my Categories and added two new ones – Haiku and Photography, a section in which I will display my photography, my first love. I like the new additions to the blog. I’ll be eager to see what you, my readers, think.

My blog maintenance day got me to thinking that I myself need a maintenance day. I’ve been trying to grow some length on my hair and, in the process of that, it has gotten a bit shaggy looking. It might be time for a new style too – keeping the length I’ve worked so hard for – but I’m undecided on that at this point. At the very least I do need a trim. So, I’m thinking that a whole haircut, brow wax, massage – maybe even a facial? – treat is in order. Ahhhh… that would be divine.

My wanting a maintenance day is a good sign. I’ve not been feeling the best lately with many things, as some of you know. I’ve not been all that interested in my hair, my brows, or even if my legs are shaved (too much info, probably). I’ve not even really wanted to leave the house. So, I take my newfound desire to improve and keep up my looks as a sign that things are looking up, that maybe I’m finally starting to feel more like myself. That is my hope, anyway.

In today’s rat race, don’t we all need a bit of TLC from time to time, a bit of keeping things trim and presentable, a bit of self-image preservation?

Besides, aren’t we worth it? I think so.

Now, anyone know a good salon in this area? I’m in need. ๐Ÿ™‚

27 thoughts on “Maintenance Day

  1. Hi Karen Beth,

    Thanks again for visiting my blog! I really appreciated your comments. And by the way, the time change is working strange magic on me, too.

    Michael
    ohenrosan.blogspot.com

  2. It’s the time change, it’s totally the time change, that is why I gorged on Pizza last night and overslept this morning…oh, and it’s also why my dishwasher broke….

    lol

    in all seriousness, I wish we lived closer, I think I would actually get out of the house for you, we could glam up and do something cool.

    xoxo

  3. Thanks to you too, Michael, for stopping by my blog!

    Stiletto – I wish we lived closer too! I could definitely use a girl’s day out! Out of the HOUSE! I would get out of the house with you too. Wouldn’t that be FUN!??!

    xoxo… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Is he still in business? I was thinking about going somewhere in Tupelo or Memphis or even making an appointment at the Aveda place in Florida for when I’m there.

  5. As far as I know he is still in business, although I know that he did start raising alpacas. But if you are wanting to ‘go all out’ and have already planned on spending more, I would just go somewhere else b/c I doubt that his salon does facials, massages, etc.

  6. Well, I’d like to go all out but not sure that I will be able to. But, I still might go somewhere else – either in Tupelo or at the beach when we are there. That Aveda place is pretty good, don’t you guess? Remember the place I’m talking about? In the little brown hut looking building?

  7. I will have already had my hair done by then, since mine is much more HIGH MAINTENANCE (but that is what happens when you are walking around with hair 10 times lighter than natural ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), but a facial might be fun.

  8. A day of maintanence is a good thing! I like the new layout. I read through your to-do list and we are both learning to sew and get good at it.

    I don’t normally make New Year resolutions, but this year I really wanted to start creating more using fabric as my canvas. Making my own clothes is at the top of the list.

    And my hair is getting incredibly long- too long. But I promised myself to grow it out again for Locks of Love. In a couple of months I’ll be able to donate 10” and still have a shoulder length cut. Me and “bobs” do not get along.

  9. I would like to make some simple tops and such but my main desire in learning to sew is being able to re-construct vintage pieces. I think that would be such fun!

    Good for you for growing your hair out for Locks of Love. My little brother did that once. Very cool thing to do!

  10. Definitely get a trim and spring for the facial, you deserve it and it’ll make you feel so much better.

    Sometimes I think such pampering gets a bum rap for being “superficial”, because really and truly, if something isn’t bad for you and makes you feel better about yourself, why not pamper every once in a while?

    I got a snazzy hair cut and my eyebrows done for my birthday and felt awesome for two weeks, like I was suddenly my own hot, younger sister.

    However, I know what you mean about the shagginess all too well…my hair grows superfast, so even though the stylist said I’d only need a trim every six to eight weeks to maintain the style, three weeks later, you couldn’t even tell that I’d had my hair cut. And certainly a not-quite-starving artist can’t justify a snazzy hair cut every three weeks, so I’m seriously considering along with my super duper slimdown, growing out the hair. I’ve wanted to for a while now, so it may be time to do that, too.

    Okay, this comment is way too long now!

    Have a good night!

  11. I agree! Why NOT pamper ourselves every once in awhile?!? I totally agree. I’m going to schedule something for when I’m at the beach and maybe I massage between now and then. Wahoo!

    I definitely think you should grow your hair out. I’m sure it would look great and there is so much that you can do with long hair. Good plan. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Okay. I need maintenance too. I need wax of the underarm region. I don’t touch my brows, they grow well naturally, luck, I know it. But I need a facial and a body tuck. Hee hee…. Sarah, of a small fox in a big world, and I were laughing at why i should grow my armpit hair out. Like, if I am in a plane, in first class, and paris Hilton is sitting next to me and needs hair extensions nicer than her own hair, I could sell her my, yes sick I know, armpit hair, and become a millionaire. Or, if I needed to make an emergency bikini. Which, by the way, I shouldn’t be wearing a bikini at all. It is just after winter and I still have my hibernation fluff on. Anyhow, we were being gross 11 year olds, and you know what, it was great!

  13. Re: Facial…i was just thinking, don’t know if i want to be red faced and blotchy while we are on vacation, did you think of this. (Any my skin has been really sensitive anyway lately, so I am sure that would just add to the afore mentioned issues.) Also, since I am only going to be there a few days I probably don’t want to spend the WHOLE day but definitely want to do something! I might just get my eyebrows waxed or something!!! That redness will go away a lot faster. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Vanessa – You kill me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, you could become a millionaire from selling your armpit hair to Paris Hilton. She would probably go for it and say that it was “Hot.” And, you are VERY lucky for having brows that grow nicely naturally. I wish mine did but alas, they do not.

    Mary Heather – I guess a facial might make for a very red face but we do need to do SOMETHING, even if you don’t go in with me for my entire treatment and hair cutting morale support, which I think you SHOULD but you know…

  15. I can’t believe you are currently reading Meditations from the Mat! I looked at that book on amazon.com but I couldn’t make a good determination. You need to let me know how you like it! Specifically does it do anything to improve your meditation or is it just… yoga fluff I guess would be the word.

    And there is no better time to do a personal spring cleaning than right now! I love the Aveda Ultimate Relaxation treatment, there is alot of brushing out your hair and such which just puts me right to sleep. It won’t leave you with a red face but you might walk out of there with oil infused hair…

  16. Sarah – Is there really a package called the Aveda Ultimate Relaxation treatment? That sounds heavenly. I might have to go for that.

    Meditations from the Mat is a daily read book, meaning that you read one passage or entry per day for a year. Disclaimer here: I LOVE books like that. I like it and have gotten a lot from it. It goes into the Eight Limbs of yoga and is very educational, I think. But, different people like different styles of yoga books so I can’t really say if it is for everyone or not. Everyone that I’ve known who has read it really likes it.

    Hope this helps!

  17. You have a great blog! I completely understand about wanting to hibernate for a while, and then coming back out all new and refreshed. I do the exact same thing! Although, my last hairdresser appointment was a complete disaster and my hair is too short, but hey, sometimes two hair visions don’t mesh. Oh well, now that my hair is shorter, I realize that I need to start maintenance on my neck immediately! It all works out…thanks for stopping by my blog…I am looking forward to reading yours!

  18. Neck maintenance! That is funny! I’m going to have my Mom trim my hair a bit in the next few days but am going to have my “BIG CUT” when I’m on vacation at the end of April. It won’t be a “BIG CUT” as I want to keep the length but I want a new style. I need that! It is spring, after all, time for changes! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m SO glad that you stopped by my blog!

Add your two-cents!

