Mar.14.200Rainer Maria Rilke

Your work needs to be independent of others’ work.
You must not compare yourself to others.
No one can help you. You have to help yourself.
Criticism leads to misunderstandings and defeatism.
Work from necessity and your compulsion to do it.
Work on what you know and what you are sure you love.
Don’t observe yourself too closely, just let it happen.
Don’t let yourself be controlled by too much irony.
Live in and love the activity of your work.
Be free of thoughts of sin, guilt and misgiving.
Be touched by the beautiful anxiety of life.
Be patient with the unresolved in your heart.
Try to be in love with the questions themselves.
Love your solitude and try to sing with its pain.
Be gentle to all of those who stay behind.
Your inner self is worth your entire concentration.
Allow your art to make extraordinary demands on you.
Bear your sadness with greater trust than your joy.
Do not persecute yourself with how things are going.
It’s good to be solitary, because solitude is difficult.
It’s good to love, because love is difficult.
You are not a prisoner of anything or anyone.

“Letters to a Young Poet”, Rainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926)

9 thoughts on “Mar.14.200Rainer Maria Rilke

  1. You find the best poetry. This poem is very moving and something to aspire to, even today.

    No black pumps, yet. I am thinking of going to this antique/vintage show this weekend: http://www.stellashows.com/cgi-bin/texis/scripts/showpromo_info/stellashowdetail.html?idnum=ZJD1463&showabb=triplepier20020302

    Maybe I will find something there but I am researching it now to find out how ridiculously overpriced it may be. I need to come there and go thrift store shopping with you!

  2. I’m blessed to have a friend – Rita – who is constantly sending me lovely poems and quotations and bits of inspiration. So, I can’t take ALL the credit for finding the stuff I post here. I only find about half of it. 🙂

    Yes, you do need to come thrifting here. Nothing beats Dollar Day!

  3. This was just wonderful- it fits in perfectly with this new phase I feel I am going through in my life right now… especially this line…
    “Be free of thoughts of sin, guilt and misgiving.”
    Thank you for this…
    xo

  4. Regina Clare Jane – I’m so happy that you love this poem and that it came at the right time for you. It is always inspiring to see that happen. Hugs to you today… 🙂

  5. This is wonderful. I live in Austria but I went to school in Australia so Rilke´s work is not so familiar to me. Ißll have to check it out at the library today. Thanks!

Add your two-cents!

