Domestic Goddess that I am…

I positively feel like Betty Crocker today.

Or Kristen.

Synonymous really.

Today I ventured into the kitchen, an infrequent and sometimes scary trip for me. But, today, it was an imperative excursion.

As a “Thank You” for organizing the recent Etsy Secret Buddy Swap, my pal CreativeMuse sent me a little block of heavenly goodness called fudge.

Now, let me clarify. This wasn’t the normal, run-of-the-mill, straight-off-the-marshmallow-creme-jar-recipe fudge. Oh no. This was dark, decadent, dense, melt-in-your-mouth, can’t-get-enough-of-it fudge. Just divine, and I’m not even that much of a chocolate person! I will decline to say how quickly I polished off the batch that CreativeMuse sent, but, suffice it to say that when it was gone, I was wanting more!

Thankfully, she supplied me with the recipe upon my request.

Thankfully, it is VERY easy (it is actually a kid’s recipe!), as I don’t have the skill or the patience to tackle difficult kitchen tasks.

Thankfully, it takes very few ingredients, even if all of them are bad, bad, BAD for me. Oh, they are so good!

Thankfully, the process did NOT involve having to coax sticky marshmallow creme out of the jar. Am I the only one who finds that task annoying and insurmountable?

Thankfully, there is a huge platter of fudge on the kitchen table calling my name as I type this.

Thankfully, I’m giving half of it away.

fudge.JPG

Wouldn’t you know it? It is from Martha Stewart. I don’t always like her but that woman is a domestic genius.

FUDGE

MAKES ABOUT 24 ONE-INCH SQUARE PIECES OF FUDGE

* Work Time: 20 minutes
* Cooling time: 3 hours

* 1/2 Cup heavy cream
* 1 Cup sugar
* 1/2 Teaspoon salt
* 1 3/4 Cups mini marshmallows
* 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
* 1 1/2 Cups semisweet chocolate chips
* 1/2 Teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. Line 9-by-5-inch loaf pan with strips of waxed or parchment paper; coat evenly with cooking spray. Set aside.
2. Combine sugar, salt, butter, cream, and marshmallows in a heavy-bottomed medium saucepan. Set over medium heat; cook, stirring, until butter and marshmallows are almost melted, 5 to 6 minutes.
3. Bring mixture to a boil; cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat.
4. Add chocolate chips and vanilla to saucepan. Stir until chips are melted and combined. If you like, mix in 1/2 cup peppermints or nuts (optional).
5. Pour hot fudge into the loaf pan. Top with remaining mints or nuts (optional).
6. Cool fudge in the pan, at room temperature, 3 hours. Grip paper, lift out fudge, and place on cutting board. Discard paper. Cut fudge into squares, chunks or fun shapes.

Mmmmmmmm…. ENJOY!

15 thoughts on “Domestic Goddess that I am…

  1. Oh.My.Goodness. You are evil… but in a good way… 😉
    That recipe looks easy enough that I could even do it! I may have to make another grocery run tomorrow…
    Just what I need as hubby has been gone far too long now and the only thing better than him right now would be this fudge!
    Whee!

  2. It is AMAZINGLY easy! I was super-surprised! If I can do it, anyone can! And, besides the heavy cream, I had everything it called for on hand. Whee!! 🙂

  3. I could not agree with you more. This looks so good, I could almost lick the screen. 🙂

    Martha Stewart is a genious. I swear by her recipes.

  4. This is the most melt in your mouth fudge I have ever eaten! I made a batch this morning and kudos to you, dear Karen Beth, for passing the recipe along! I feel a little better now- no Mr. Sparkle yet but the fudge will do nicely for a while! Thanks again, sweetie…

  5. Regina Clare Jane – I’m SO glad that you tried it! Isn’t it super-easy? And yummy too! Argh! I love it! Someone gave me a cookie recipe last night that I’m eager to try so I will probably be sharing that soon too. Wahoo for baked goods! 🙂

  6. I am so impressed with anyone who does the “baked goods” thing, sadly I used to keep shoes in my stove….luckily my bubs is a chef, or I would have stared to death, or gone broke eating at panera bread every night.

  7. Stiletto – I once stored shoes in the oven too! Luckily, this fudge doesn’t require any oven time, just stovetop time, so I wouldn’t have had to remove the shoes had they still been there. Ha! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Oops... I did it again... « Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

