Being who I am…

As I’ve mentioned here before, DailyOM is one of my favorite websites. It is chock-full of inspiration and words of wisdom and wonderful people too. Each day I get a DailyOM newsletter in my email Inbox. Most days, the newsletter is wonderfully inspirational and amazingly appropriate for the particular day; some days it isn’t really. Today was one that didn’t really speak to me so much so I went browsing through the DailyOM archives to find an inspiration that really did speak to me today, that did go along with feelings I’ve been having lately.

And, not surprisingly, DailyOM had just what I was looking for:

July 26, 2005
Being Who You Are
Living Your Truth

When we are young children, we live authentically, seldom afraid or embarrassed to seek out what we want or to speak our minds. As we grow older, we tend to tuck that authenticity away, putting it aside while we chase our dreams, afraid that it might hinder us in our success. But we never let that freedom go completely. We may conform to society while embracing secret passions when alone. We may withhold certain opinions, though it doesn’t change the fact that we possess them. It is important, however, to never stray too far from that youthful brashness and self-interest for they are qualities that help make you who you are. The authentic you is your true self and, in living authentically, you live your truth, making time for the things you love and projecting who you really are. The simplest way to live your truth is to leave the expectations of other behind and live the way you feel most worthwhile.

It takes being selfish in a healthy way by doing what you know is best for you, regardless of the opinions of others – even the opinions of close friends and family. Living authentically means that you make choices without fear, trusting in your soul’s wisdom… If you value personal pursuits, don’t feel forced into a certain job just to make enough money to keep up with your neighbors. Conversely, if you prize success in business, don’t let others’ perception of what’s right for you hold you back. Denying your unique truth can lead to feelings of failure and dissatisfaction because you aren’t acknowledging your true self. In living your truth, there are no pretenses. Everything you do will reflect who you truly are.

If you are unsure of who the authentic you really is, look inward and ask yourself what your purpose, values, and needs are. Honor your strengths and don’t let yourself be guided by what other expect of you. Finally, discover your passions by trying new things, and sticking with those things that stir your soul. Finding who you really are and then making the choice to embrace you true dreams and desires will take your life in a direction that is both satisfying and deeply meaningful.

I believe in synochricity and signs and to find this particular article on this particular day with two quick clicks and for the very article I needed most to have been on MY BIRTHDAY in 2005 is, to me, no coincidence at all.

You see, lately I’ve been on a real quest to get to know the real me. This really came about after creating my Vision Board and after a poignant chat I had with my dear and trusted friend Kristen. I realized after talking to her about certain things that I want to know who I am without a doubt. I want to know what I like, what my dreams are, what my goals are, where I want to go, what I want to do, how I want to be and I want to be that person – or at least always be moving toward being that person – with no regrets, no excuses, and no apologies. I want to be that openly and freely and I want to learn to overcome the inherent pull I always feel to cover that up. I want to be her – OUT LOUD! I want to be who I am.

So, I’ve gone through my library of books and have selected several titles that will hopefully help me along this journey, a journey that I realize is not short or simple. The first book I’ve selected and started to read is called Something More: Excavating Your Authentic Self and is by one of my favorite authors, the delicious Sarah Ban Breathnach. I also plan to re-read The Artist’s Way, relish some Sark and beyond that, I’m really hoping for some suggestions from YOU ALL! Please pelt me with suggestions for books that have helped you to find out who you are, books that have shown you how to live authentically and out loud. I would greatly appreciate it!

I also plan to make my Bliss Book, my gratitude journal and my Brain Drain journals more a part of my daily life. I’ve known them to help in the past and I have no doubt that they will help again. They are, after all, wonderful tools along most any path, including self-discovery or, in my case, self-re-discovery. And, as per a helpful conversation with my wonderful new friend Stacie, I plan to start a meditation practice, even though I know me and my “Monkey Mind” and I realize that it will take some time and much patience to become comfortable with that. But, I’ve read about meditation and I firmly believe that it would be very helpful in my life. It goes hand-in-hand with yoga and we all know what yoga does for me. I have little doubt that meditation will do much of the same. Bring it on!

My being pulled to this article today was just an affirmation of what I had been thinking most ardently about for the past several days. It was the nod from the Universe that I needed, that I was so happy to have today. So, here I go on this path. If you have suggestions, tips, ideas, stories from your own journeys, etc. please post them here or email me. I’m always – ALWAYS! – open to and welcoming of your thoughts.

Be well, today and always…

Namaste.

::: I spent a bit of time this weekend updating my Favorites List on Etsy (link also added to sidebar). I found some of the neatest things there! I think you will be interested to see some of the delightful items I discovered! :::

doi-20060911.jpg doi-20060413.jpg doi-20070323.jpg

21 thoughts on “Being who I am…

  1. my dear blog friend,you are so on the right track in everything you do.You inspire so many readers daily with your posts and your open view on things.I know that that is where your strength lies and I know that you are so on your way of re-membering your true self every second of the day.It is because you are ready for that and you focus on it that it will become more easy to trust totally on your Self.Many people are on their way of becoming more awareness and being able to completely be in the here and now and you are doing such an amazing job at that.Thank you dear friend for sharing your journey and I too am open to every step you make and invite you to my journey too.I hope I can express my feelings ok in english but I trust we both speak a universal language aswell and trust this comment reaches you in your soul because that is where your posts touches me.xoxo Desirée

  2. Desiree – Yes, your comments make perfect sense to me. I’m so happy that we can be on this journey together and share all that we encounter along the way. Thank you for being a wonderful friend in Blogland! xoxoxo… 🙂

  3. I know just what you mean! I’m trying really hard to get back in touch with myself before starting a new stretch of my journey, but it’s kinda difficult to do until I can finally be back home. But I will do me best to follow your lead as best I can 🙂 I think it’s great that you’re thinking about meditation. It can be such a wonderful tool to empower yourself and positive things in your life. I have fallen off the wagon so to speak, but I used to meditate a lot. Let me know what techniques you’re using and how it works for you, I find it’s really important to get a ‘programme’ that’s the right fit for you or you just don’t use it much. If you like I can take a look for some of the books I learned from, so you can try different types 🙂 take care and good luck!

  4. It’s so great that you are prepared to do the work to find out what you want and need – and it sounds like there might be a fair amount involved! Love your blog, keep it up. xoxo

  5. Tatjana – I would love suggestions from the books you’ve read on meditation! Right now, I’m just planning to get a sitting / breathing routine going as I don’t really know enough about it to do anything more elaborate than that. I would love to hear more about your experience. xo, KB 🙂

  6. Dearest KB, I see you as one of the most very kind, sweet, thoughtful, intelligent, creative, giving, outgoing, and sparkly friends ever! : )
    I feel that you ARE on track (like Desirée writes)!
    I love this sentence from the DailyOm article: “Everything you do will reflect who you truly are.”
    In that case, you truly are awesome! : )

  7. Thanks, Projectmetta! As you know, I expect much more of myself than most people expect of me. I may not ever rise up to my own expectations but I guess I want to always be striving to get there. It sure does help to have wonderful people like YOU in my life to encourage me along the way. YOU are truly awesome! xoxoxo… 🙂

  8. A good book for you might be to start with is her first book a women’s worth and then there is a really good one I am reading now and it is The Gift of Change. It is really really good. Try that one. If I had an extra copy I would send it to you….
    Thanks for the nice comments on my pictures, I really appreciate the kind words.

  9. Denise – I actually went and found Illuminata on PBS.com and ordered that. Is it good? Have you read it yet? Thanks for the suggestions. I will look for those too. 🙂

  10. this was wonderful!!!!!!

    I love books, as you well know and have found so much strength and clues to who I am in their pages…

    the Artists Way was wonderful
    The Celestine Prophecy though a bit cheesy at times and poorly written, it’s inner message was life altering for me.

    Also Fear of Flying by Erica Jong….

    if these books didn’t exist I would not be who I am today.

    xoxoxoxo

  11. Oh KB! This is such an outstanding post on so many levels! It is a pleasure every morning to watch you on your quest to know yourself. Sounds like you have lots to read! Everyone’s comments are so on target with suggestions of who to read. I have read all of these books and they all are really life changing. Have a great morning, and thanks for getting mine started just right.

  12. Stiletto – I’ve not heard of The Fear of Flying. I’ll have to look into it. I love The Artist’s Way and have heard of The Celestine Prophecy but always thought it must be very “church-y” or something. I might have to look into it anyway. Thanks, dearie! xo… 🙂

  13. I think you are a beautiful person and are who you are. The books people mentioned sound wonderful and there is always room for some fine tuning and continual growth. 🙂

    I have a book you might like, it has a bunch of different personality tests in it that help you determine your inner self. I can’t recall the name of it right now but I saw it at the thrift store last year and picked it up.

  14. This post really rang true for me, Karen Beth- because I feel like I have just started to do this in my own life. When my dad died late last year, I really said the hell to everything… I was just so drained and so sad. But now, I feel myself starting to come out of this phase of my grief- I actually feel my dad is helping me from heaven, encouraging me to live for myself now, and not anyone else. Again, a healthy selfishness, but there does come a time when you have to give that to yourself…
    I have a hard time getting through books these days- I feel like my time is so precious that a very involved book of any length just drains me… so I read bits and pieces now. One book that has really helped both me and hubby is Ask and You Shall Receive by Esther and Jerry Hicks- basically, the law of attraction. But what hit me was the belief that the Universe, God, wants us to be happy- that’s it- nothing more. That is what we are made for and we have to bring ourselves back to that again. Once you bring your mind and feelings towards feeling happy, you will get there… it was an amazing thought for me as I grew up thinking I was born a bad person and there would never be enough good things I could do to make God happy- that was quite a burden…
    Anyway- wow, so long! But I am so enjoying being with you on your journey of self-discovery…
    xoxo

  15. Regina – Thank you for sharing here. I’m glad that you have come to a point of a bit of healthy selfishness. We all need that but it is hard to come to, I agree.

    I have The Law of Attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks but not Ask and You Shall Receive. However, the principle that you mention here seems like one that I would like to read about. Thanks for the suggestion!

    I am forced to focus on bringing about health first. Can you focus on health and happiness at the same time? Maybe I should focus more on BOTH.

    Thank you dear. Your comments are always so inspiring. xoxo… 🙂

  16. I love love love it when syncronisity happens. A beautiful indication that you’re on the right track. I am delighted to hear that you’re getting in touch with your authentic self. The real you…is all that matters. and all the other noise can just fall away. Thanks for being my dailyom friend (and blog friend too). I look forward to getting to know you better.

  17. Thanks for the note on my blog. I appreciate all your kind words. I know we all have those days where we are not being the best that we can be. But at least they are the exception.
    and at least I can acknowledge them when I have them..thanks thanks thanks

Add your two-cents!

