Apr.14.2007 – RISK!

To laugh is to risk appearing the fool.
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental.
To reach out to another is to risk involvement.
To express feelings is to risk exposing your true self.
To place ideas and dreams before a crowd
is to risk their loss.
To love is to risk being loved in return.
To live is to risk dying.
To hope is to risk despair.
To try is to risk failure.
But risks must be taken
because the greatest
Hazard in life is to risk nothing.

~ Anonymous

[Shown courtesy of Leah at Creative Everyday]

11 thoughts on “Apr.14.2007 – RISK!

  1. Delightful. Thank you for sharing this one Karen Beth. The line: “To express feelings is to risk exposing your true self.” resonates with me most. My women’s circle has taught me that there is no greater gift than sharing the truth as your authentic self.

  2. Funny enough… Just yesterday, I was thinking, while doing dishes…About, how adults are much like children…And how, there a only a few things that change with maturity, but they are grand… for me they are, actually not caring what anyone around me thinks while I sob during an emotionally moving “event, movie, photo, etc,” or actually eating whatever I want at parties, enjoying the food and drink and laughing and not sitting up straight….I grew up in a harsh society, before perfection was a part of regular society. It was tough. No eating at parties, no laughing wildly whenever I wanted..(Although, you know me… I did break a lot of those rules, a lot) The rules were not made by my family, but societal peer pressure really. And, i am so glad I have nothing to do with that anymore. I am also careful to stear clear of that kind of world. I protect my soul, and allow myself to do anything I want…Laugh, sing, dance, eat, cry, laugh hysterically….I am free. and it is good….

  3. WE have been talking about this a lot lately. I am not a risk taker I want to be in certain areas, but I have such a deep fear that keeps me from making some of the risks that are necessary to live in the way that I crave.
    I am beginning to take small risks, and having a blog and talking to people that I really don’t know is a ‘risk’ for me. But you know it has actually turned out alright.
    Baby steps. I do love this post today.

  4. Heya,

    Great poem… I actually have that one on my blog too!
    You have a great site with lots of inspiration to share with others… Very cool.

    I look forward to coming back and reading new entries.

    Truly,

    Shira

  5. OH!
    This is one of my favorite poems ( in English that is)! I don`t remember where did I found it, but I wrote it down to my poetry – book.
    I thought about to post it in my blog too, but sometimes I`m afraid to get more philosophical and less craftsy…not that it would be a bad thing, no, but I just love crafting and blogs about this, so right no it`s more craftsy….:)

    It was really nice to find that poem here, in your blog, it`s the absolutely perfect place for it!!

Add your two-cents!

