A bit of this… a lot of that…

Hello lovely blog friends,

I seem to wait too long in between blog posts because whenever I sit down to blog, I have SO much to tell you all about. This morning I even had to make a little list of everything I wanted to include in this post so that I wouldn’t leave anything out. However, knowing me, I STILL might leave something out. I’ll try not to.

It is truly a beautiful day here. The sun is shining but shielded by the canopy of trees so that it isn’t too hot. There is a slight breeze blowing which makes it even more delightful. Adding to that delight are all the wonderful things in bloom around here: hostas, roses, daisies, tulips, garlic stalks, and many more things that I don’t know the name to. The hummingbirds are flitting around in such abundance that we had to put out TWO hummingbird feeders for them! With only one to feed from, they were being not very nice at all to one another, fighting and running one another off, just generally very unwilling to share the beautiful red nectar that we know to be glucose water. They seem to like having two feeders better. However, if they start telling their friends, we very well might have to get three! It is worth it. Hummingbirds are such wonderful and beautiful little creatures. I also have tiny green berries on my blueberry bush, which delights me every year. Before long at all, they will be BLUE blueberries and, if I’m quick enough to beat the birds to them, I will have enough to top my morning cereal with. That is very satisfying to me.

daisies.jpggreen-berries-good.jpghostas.jpg

rose1.jpgtulips1.jpgmoms3.jpg

feeders.jpggarlic.jpghummingbird.jpgrose.jpg

(If you peek closely at the third picture in the last row, you can see a hummingbird feeding. Do you spot him?)

The flowers and hummingbirds are not the only things around here that have been busy! My mailbox has been a mecca of delight as well! I’ve gotten the most wonderful and lovely things these past couple of weeks. Mail is just soul-warming.

Particularly delightful was the parcel that arrived today from the lovely Miss Vanessa Valencia. Not long ago, she offered a swap / contest on her blog. You can read about it here. She was going to draw names and give away wonderful reusable totes that she had found at Trader Joe’s in exchange for the winners sending some mail parcel back to her (again… isn’t mail fun?) Well, due to an amazing turn of luck for all of her blog readers (and she has many of them… if you’ve not checked out her blog, you should!), we ALL got one! Hooray! So, I now have in my possession, thanks to Miss Vanessa, an amazing tote that will be handy for SO many things! And, it is water-proof! And, if the tote wasn’t enough, the card that was included was a gift in itself! It is one of Vanessa‘s lovely silouhuette prints made into a card with an adorable and magical message. If you’ve not seen Vanessa’s art, you must see it soon! For all of it… Thank you, Vanessa! xo… 🙂

bag-green-shelf.jpgbag-fork.jpgbag-blue-shelf.jpg

vv-card.jpg

vv-card-2.jpg

Also in my magic mailbox lately, I’ve received a wonderful package from the adorable Mindy. Mindy and I were paired up in the recent mellow + yellow swap that was started on the m.writes blog. It was a load of fun! We each chose a color that our partner would send to us. Of course, I choose deep red and Mindy did a great job of sending me wonderful things in that hue. It was so much fun opening the package! Included inside were a set of handmade dishtowels, a lovely handwritten note, some pomegranate body wash from Bath & Body Works (smells delightful!), and some homemade raspberry jam made from raspberries that Mindy grew. Yum! But, the highlight of the package was the beautiful stained glass sun-catcher star with an accompanying card that read:

To be a star, you must shine your own light, follow your own path, and don’t worry about the darkness, for that is when the stars shine brightest!

What lovely inspiration and, as you can all tell from my blog, PERFECT for me! Thank you, Mindy! (I sent a package of yellow items to her. She liked it all so… hooray!)


mellowyellow1.jpg

dishtowel2.jpgmellowyellowfull.jpgdishtowel1.jpg

star.jpg

Speaking of mail, I plan to do some sort of a swap here this summer so if anyone is interested, please stay tuned! I think that we all need a bit of fun mail from time to time, right?

In other news, I have a couple of things that I’m loving right now. Firstly… Cherry Flavored Carmex. My radiant and adorable sister bought me some of this and – oh my! – it is delightful! The taste and the scent is amazing, similar to a Cherry Limeade from Sonic. But, even better… it moisturizes my lips so well. I highly recommend it!

I also highly recommend what I consider to be the perfect summer treat… Very Vanilla Tofutti Cuties! This is my FAVORITE “ice cream” treat, although it isn’t really ice cream as it is tofu and completely dairy-free. But, don’t be alarmed, it is also completely decadent and delicious. Mmmmmm… If I could send each of you one, I would but… that might make a bit of a mess.

I’m also loving the Wishcasting site. It is a blog that allows you to put your wishes out to the Universe so that they can take hold and be inspired and encouraged by others. I learned about Wishcasting from another enchanting blog called the wish studio. Take a minute and peruse these wonderful sites. They are so inspiring!

One more blog link and then I will wrap it up… I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the prompts, inspiration and networking at Create-a-Connection. There is a different theme for each day of the week, including Try Day, Support and Recognition Day, Creative Challenge Day and more. They have a different swap that is put together by a different reader each month. It is a lot of fun!

So many wonderful things around me… outside my window and here in my computer too. I am so happy to have met so many wonderful people through blogs, in swaps, on Etsy and throughout the wonderful network of the Internet. As my blog grows and more and more people stop by, I look forward to even more of this meeting, greeting and making friends. You all teach me so much and open me to a world that I would have never known without each of you.

As Anais Nin said… “Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.

Thank you all for filling my heart and, as illustrated in this post, my mailbox!

xo…

Oh, before I forget, I’m supposed to issue Friend another question for her tag in my previous post. She didn’t like the original question and deemed it impossible to answer so here is her new one:

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one ability or quality, what would it be and why?

Get on it, Friend! 🙂

27 thoughts on “A bit of this… a lot of that…

  1. I still can not believe how fast you received your treasure! I hope I did not fold it up too tight??? Aren’t the images wonderful???? Look at all your treasures.. I have to work on a post right now with all the treasures that are making their way to me too! This was soo much fun!
    BTW, the image in the last post is stunning! I can’t get enough of it!
    xxo,V

  2. You didn’t fold it too tightly! I have it unfolded and already have some packages to be mailed in it so it is ironing out nicely. I can’t wait to see a post with the goodies you have gotten. Mail is just so much fun… addictive, I’d say! 🙂

  3. Christina – Actually, my Father takes care of the plants here. I have a BLACK thumb for most things (although I’ve always done fairly well with the blueberry plant) so I leave it all to him. They are beautiful, I think. Glad you liked them! 🙂

  4. CountryGirl – HOORAY for new words! Love “upliftyness”!!! Yes, I also adore the Trader Joe’s bag and adore MAIL even more. w00t w00t is right!!! 🙂

  5. I love having so much news about what is happening in your world! It seems like you love to surround yourself with such beautiful, positive things. Also, thanks for reviewing a lactose-free tofutti product, my husband is lactose intolerant and we are always trying to find something yummy for him. If you haven’t, try the tofutti sour cream and cream cheese. Yum!

  6. Hi Karen!
    I really can feel your emotions trough that computer! You are great writer – very honest and soulful!
    My father has the greenest thumb ever! He can pick up a smallest leave and it will start to grow! he has most wonderful flowers at his home. Me, instead of it, can manage only very, very uncomplicated plants…

  7. I love the chocolate Tofutti Cuties and my Emmy loves the strawberry. We rarley make it home with a whole box.
    Love this post it was a really happy one… I could feel it.

  8. Sarah – I try to surround myself with positivity. I’m so glad that you enjoy snippets from my world. I’ve never been able to find Tofutti sour cream or cream cheese. Here in Mississippi, I do good to find the Tofutti Cuties! They don’t carry a wide selection of Tofutti items, although I wish they did. If you do try the Cuties, let me know! 🙂

    Eva – Thanks for the compliment on my writing. I’m so glad you enjoy it!

  9. Beautiful pictures of your flowers…
    and a post filled with such beautiful thoughts

    I see you mentioned the Create A Connection site’
    It was this site (actually the one that was the blog of the creator of Create A Connection-Melba)…that I came across a few months ago…and it truly was the spark that I needed to “be alive”, “believe” and “be me”…and before then, I had only heard the word blog somewhere and had no experience with the computer as a way to connect.

    It certainly is a powerful tool for connecting…with one’s self and others.
    Beautiful.

    Hey, I really liked thinking about the question you gave me…last night I asked my husband what he would answer(to the one thing he strives for the most in life)….he said “good health” …not bad! I asked, do you include spiritual and “psychological” as well as the physical body?
    I think that striving to be healthy is a wonderful endeavor(“you don’t have anything if you don’t have your health”…can this be a thought blocking cliche?…is there still something even in the face of illness.)

    ..but sometimes there are forces outside ourselves which effect our health (genetic, environmental, accidental) which are not always avoidable even through wisdom…we don’t have total control over what happens with our health…but WISDOM on the other hand…I think we can control whether or not we grow in wisdom in the context of any given circumstance…..and being wise will ultimately lead to the best health that is possible for us at any given time….so WISDOM trumps health…right? ; ) –really not competing here with my hubby… it’s all good. : )

    even with email…I agree, there is something special about receiving that personal note or gift in the old fashioned mail box.! Enjoy the day

  10. Your pictures are beautiful – I love this time of year (despite the allergies) with the flowers blooming and the birds all visiting the feeders (no hummers yet but I’m hoping!)

    Love you blog!

  11. Hi Jen! 🙂

    Your husband’s answer of good health is a good one. To be honest, I would be torn between wisdom and good health. I’m not in the best of health right now – have had several mysterious problems lately – so it is something I’m keenly aware of right now. At any rate, it was just a question… luckily in real life, we call all strive for both!

    xo,

    Karen Beth 🙂

  12. I am glad you got one of the bags from my seester. I love that trader joe’s bag. It is so functional too. I love your garden photos. Did you know that hummingbirds weigh the same as a penny. I learned that on the discovery channel. enjoy your treasures both indoors and outdoors!!! Happy day to you!

  13. Kristen – That is funny that you call Vanessa your “seester”. 🙂 Cute. Yes, I love the bag and am finding it to be very handy and functional for many things! I didn’t know that about hummingbirds but I’m not surprised. They are such teeny-tiny things. So cute!

  14. This is such a great post! I love swaps and getting things in the mail.
    I’m a member of SARK and we’re always doing some kind of swap or another.
    Your gifts are beautiful and I love how you write with such gratitude and appreciation. You’re truly a wonderful soul.
    I love blogging too, and getting to know you and the rest of my village is so fun, so rewarding!

  15. Boho Mom – Aren’t swaps FUN? I’m sure the SARK ones that you participate in are great! I have an old SARK calendar that I found here the other day that is just FAB! I’m so glad to have come across it. The illustrations are great.

    Maybe if I do a swap this summer here on my blog you can join it too…? I hope so!

    Tam – So glad you liked this post! xo… 🙂

  16. i am blown away by your writing…..not typically a blog person, yours is absolutely gorgeous. it obviously refelcts your beautiful soul.

  17. Wow – so many great things in the mail. What a great little pick me up for you!

    Thanks for the links to all the cool sites. The wish one sounds great!

  18. I am so encaptivated by your blog. I have just stubbled upon you through CAC and have found that you and I have so much in common! I will be haunting your blog but would also love to get to know you better, please email me if you get a chance to say hello! I love your list, you have given me much needed inspiration this evening, thank you.

    In love and light,
    Jocelyn

    PS I am a polarity therapist and I would definitely recccommend that you check that out as an alternative treatment. 🙂

Add your two-cents!

