101 Things in 1,001 Days

“All the Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas
Layin’ in the sun,
Talkin’ bout the things
They woulda-coulda-shoulda done…
But those Woulda-Coulda-Shouldas
All ran away and hid
From one little did.”
~ Shel Silverstein

Lately, in all of my voracious blog reading, I’ve come across the 101 Things in 1,001 Days Challenge several times. What a neat idea! The concept is to complete 101 pre-determined tasks in a period of 1,001 days (about 2.75 years). The time period for this is a bit longer than most challenges of this type that I come across but it seems a bit more doable. With 1,001 days, there is more time to plan, save, map things out. And who doesn’t need a bit of that?

Thinking of 101 things seems a bit daunting but I’m sure I can do it. I’m not out to save the world or visit every country in 1,001 days. I merely want to do some things that seem interesting, fascinating, educational and fun. Feel free to join in! What 101 things would you like to do?

Zazazu’s 101 Things in 1,001 Days
Start date: May 2007
End date: September 2009

Italics means the item is In Progress
Strikethrough means the item has been Completed
BOLD means that the original item was not possible for completion and has been changed to something else

I’ve organized these into several categories although they are not specified below. The categories are: YOGA / MEDITATION, READING, FINANCES, PAMPERING, DOING FOR OTHERS, HEALTH, ORGANIZATION, CRAFTING / ARTS, GENERAL SELF-IMPROVEMENT.

I will chronicle and update these as they are in progress and completed here on my blog in a new category that will be posted in the right column.

  1. Work up to doing Crane Pose
  2. Research and make outline / notes about obtaining yoga teaching certification
  3. Get an MP3 player and download some yoga podcasts
  4. Practice yoga outside ten times (0/10)
  5. Get a NICE new yoga mat
  6. Paint and set up upstairs closet as a meditation nook
  7. Develop a meditation practice
  8. Listen to ten of my inspirational audio books (0/10)
  9. Read Meditations from the Mat cover to cover
  10. Read Simple Abundance from start to finish
  11. Make a list of ten books I’ve been meaning to read and actually read them (0/10)
  12. Read The Prophet (July 28, 2007)
  13. Re-read The Little Prince (May 31, 2007)
  14. Read The Bhagavad Gita
  15. Read two books on subjects that I know very little about (0/2)
  16. Read back issues of O magazine
  17. Read Smart Women Finish Rich
  18. Break $1,000 in sales in one month on eBay
  19. Add $2,000 to my savings account
  20. Pay medical bills
  21. Sell my car
  22. Pay off car loan
  23. Research, learn about and make an investment in the stock market – on a small scale
  24. Have a yard sale
  25. Create a business – however small – of sending packages
  26. Get a nice and proper haircut / style (June 8, 2007)
  27. Watch a sunrise (May 10, 2007)
  28. Get a professional facial
  29. Shave, exfoliate, do Satin Hands, do a hot oil treatment every week for a month (0/4)
  30. Have three professional massages (1/3) (June 26, 2007)
  31. Send 50 appreciation / thanks notes (3/50)
  32. Speak to Carmen on the phone
  33. Send 50 lift-me-up-notes (7/50)
  34. Create and run a swap through my blog (July 3, 2007 – see here for details)
  35. Write one snail mail letter per month for a year to friends – of substantial length, not just a card (0/12)
  36. Write my Mom a “love” letter (May 13, 2007)
  37. Send copies of Life Could Be Sweeter to a dozen friends (0/12)
  38. Help Laura (sister) with Heirloom Cookbook
  39. Make patchwork pants for Jason (brother)
  40. Send package to Rita
  41. Get updated shots, medications, etc. for Delali
  42. Find a walk-a-thon to participate in and train for it (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Walk-A-Thon in September)
  43. Be active in pursuing optimal health (getting seizures under control)
  44. Get sound machine from Aunt Jane and try it nightly for a month
  45. Get my Chi machine back and use it 3 times each week for a month (0/3)
  46. Keep trying neurologists until I get one that will listen (June, 18 2007 – Dr. Robin Gilmore – Columbia, TN)
  47. Have some sort of bodywork done that I’ve not had before (Craniosacral Therapy, Hot Stone massage, Rolfing, Lymphatic Draining, Reflexology, Reiki, etc.)
  48. Detox / cleanse my system every four months
  49. Keep a health journal for at least a month
  50. Get new walking shoes (June 11, 2007 – ASICS® Women’s GT-2110)
  51. Buy a pedometer (June 14, 2007)
  52. Find (and see) a good therapist
  53. Eat something within 1 hour of waking up for two weeks
  54. Eat fish ONCE each week
  55. Take vitamins daily as I’m supposed to
  56. Drink three 24 ounce bottles of water each day for two weeks (0/14)
  57. Do AbLounger every day for two weeks (0/14)
  58. Compile (and use) organizational binder (June 29, 2007)
  59. Go through clothes and get them organized
  60. Go through magazines and organize them in downstairs desk (June 30, 2007)
  61. Clean my hard-drive or get Jason to do it
  62. Keep better track (database) of swaps and packages / cards to send
  63. Hang corkboard in office
  64. Keep a running list of things to add to my next 101/1,001 list
  65. Finish “journal vest”
  66. Make armwarmers
  67. Create a painting that is appealing enough to display
  68. Learn a new creative / artistic medium that can be profitable
  69. Create an altered journal out of vintage Japan travel book
  70. Make holiday gifts for everyone – start early!
  71. Make vintage peasant top that I have the pattern for
  72. Create ‘zine to sell on Etsy
  73. Begin writing children’s book
  74. Make vest like “Wool Tie Jacket”
  75. Reconstruct / embellish three vintage clothing pieces – use new stencils (0/3)
  76. Make scarves / arm warmers / etc. out of cashmere sweater pile
  77. Take an Ed2Go class (started July 18, 2007 – Listen To Your Heart and Success Will Follow)
  78. Completely fill a journal of self-exploration
  79. Keep a gratitude journal
  80. Write a will and a living will
  81. Take a French course (online)
  82. Practice non-attachment — give some of what I have to others
  83. Take a two-week self-exploration hiatus from the computer
  84. Go to an estate sale (June 2, 2007 – Columbia, TN with Laura)
  85. Research and make outline / notes about obtaining life coaching certification
  86. Plant – and keep alive – a few herbs
  87. Try a new recipe once a month (3/30)
  88. Speak to all of my YCDI Gals by phone (4/6)
  89. Write a REAL entry in this blog once each week (not inspirations or gratitude lists)
  90. Watch five movies that I’ve always thought I wouldn’t like (1/5 – Cold Mountain)
  91. Go to Florida (June 21 through 24, 2007 in Seagrove Beach, FL)
  92. Watch one film each month (June 2007 – Friends With Money; July 2007 Marie Antoinette)
  93. Write a letter to myself to read in ten years
  94. Learn to say “Hello” and “Thank you” and “I love you” in ten languages
  95. Make a mix CD of songs that people suggest to me by musicians that I wouldn’t have been aware of otherwise
  96. Choose an affirmation and say it 20 times each day for a month
  97. Do something significant toward a genuine career field / path (certification, course, etc.)
  98. Get a new computer chair
  99. Get an espresso maker (cheap one) and learn to make a good soy latte at home
  100. Meet ONE online / blogger friend in person (June 14, 2007 – Stacie of Nomadic Creations)
  101. Finally institute Computer Free Friday

At the end of my 101 things, I will:

  • Donate $5 to animal rescue charity for every uncompleted task at the end of 1,001 days … and …
  • Make a new list for the next 1,001 days!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Taken from the Triplux: 101 Things in 1,001 Days — Guidelines for participation:

Creating your own 1001 Day Project

The Mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as new year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

Some common goal setting tips:
1. Be decisive. Know exactly what you want, why you want it, and how you plan to achieve it.

2. Stay Focussed. Any goal requires sustained focus from beginning to end. Constantly evaluate your progress.

3. Welcome Failure. Frequently, very little is learned from a venture that did not experience failure in some form. Failure presents the opportunity to learn and makes the success more worthy.

4. Write down your goals. It clarifies your thinking and reinforces your commitment.

5. Keep your goals in sight. Review them frequently, and ensure that they are always at the forefront of your thinking.

There is also a database of other bloggers who are doing this exercise. You can see the list that are registered (including mine!) there and perhaps meet some fun new blog friends!

 

 

35 thoughts on “101 Things in 1,001 Days

  1. Hey, that is really a good list. I will have to sit and think about this….
    I could make a list but then I would forget where I put it.!!
    You are always so thoughtful in your posts.

    I like the one about writing a meaningful post, not just inspirations. ( I always say I will do that, but never make the time)

    Great Job!!!

  2. Denise – Thanks for the kind comment. HOPEFULLY I can get all of this done in 1,001 days. That is ample time though so I think it is possible. I tried to make the list feasible and pertinent to my current situation. They are all very good things so, even if situations change, they are still things I think I will want to get done. Can’t wait to see your list! 🙂

  3. I really like this idea! Your list is very diverse! I find I do some of the things on your list already, but only talk about the other… Just setting realistic goals like that could be calming in its self !This would be an awsome growth time! I think if I can actually do it and my children see what mom is doing, what awsome motivation for them! As always, loovvee visiting!

  4. Christine – You should do a list! Go for it! It would be good for you and for your kids to see, like you say. Fun compiling it too… 🙂

  5. Hi!
    I wonder, if I can find 101 things to do – it seems to be lots of stuff! At the same time i would love to see, if I´m able to keep my promises and do something, I don`t like doing so much.
    I guess, I´ll make a draft of the list and then I decide, whether to go for it or not. I`m lazy and spoiled, I know….

    I wish you good luck and I would love to support you as much as I can!

  6. This sounds like a list I could erm, borrow… Especially if this was a few years ago, as I am lucky enough to have done some of that stuff, esp. on the career front.
    And just so you know, Karen Beth, all you blog entries are real!

  7. THANK YOU, Nadine! May I ask… what brought you fulfillment and satisfaction in your career and how did you come to that particular career? I’d love some insight! As for “real” blog entries… I always feel like the quotation / picture combo is not enough. But, thanks for saying so. It means a lot! 🙂

  8. Stiletto – What a sweet thing to say! I never think about my little ramblings here being inspiring or amazing. It is neat to think that they are. Love you dear!

  9. Eva – I don’t think you are lazy and spoiled! My list is one that is doable and doesn’t involve a terrible amount of work or money but will be fulfilling too, I think. It is good for me right now. Make a list! I think it would be FUN!

  10. Hi Holly! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think you are the ONLY visitor I have had so far who is also doing the 101/1001. It is nice to have someone else who is doing it to stop by. I’ve subscribed to your blog so I will be following your progress too. We can do this! 🙂

  11. Pingback: 101/1,001 - Sunrises and Lasagna « Zazazu

  12. Whew! That was inspiring to me. My friend Erin has the list on her blog. I’m in! I will be working on it. It’s just affirmation on paper, or computer, really of all the things I think about. Writing things down is always better. You see it and don’t forget, and it helps to weed things out.
    Two things, although there are many more and I will have to read the list again.
    •Hang a piece of art/painting you have created. It is worthy no matter what because YOU have created it.
    •I LOVE dogs and the idea of donating the money to the rescue is sweet. Good on ya!

  13. I love your list; it’ very inspirational!! We share a few things actually, that I didn’t know we shared!!!
    “Learn to say “Hello” and “Thank you” and “I love you” in ten languages.” I wish to know how to say “Thank you” most of all, and I don’t know which ten languages to focus on, but I’d like them to be all over the map!
    This is so cool! I know you can accomplish ALL of them!!! Most excellent post!!! : )

  14. Cheeky – Hooray! You are going to do the list too! I’m very excited! You are right… writing it down (and, for me, sharing it with everyone here) seems to weed it out better. It helps me to focus and I need that. Thanks for your tips on two of my list items. I will consider those and will also look forward to comments on any others that you have. Keep ’em coming! 🙂 Also, do you mind sharing your friend Erin’s blog URL? I would love to be in touch with others doing the list. Can’t wait to see yours too! 🙂

  15. Pingback: On ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur... « Zazazu

  16. Pingback: Playing Catch-Up (long & pictureless…) « Zazazu

  17. Pingback: Tagged & Rambling « Zazazu

  18. Pingback: My Favorite Oxymoron « Zazazu

  19. Pingback: Dinner & a Movie « Zazazu

  20. Pingback: It ain’t easy being green… « Zazazu

  21. Pingback: The Uplift Award « Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

