May.17.2007 – Only this moment is life…

“Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future. Live the actual moment. Only this moment is life.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

cup.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some of you may know that Thich Nhat Hanh is one of my favorite writers, teachers and thinkers of all time. I can open any of his books to any page and immediately feel calm. He is a peace activist and has an amazing life story, full of peace and good works. He was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1967. He travels extensively giving peace lectures and retreats and has published more than one hundred books. I’ve read many of them and would recommend them all. They are truly soul-moving. Thich Nhat Hanh currently lives in exile from his native Vietnam at the Plum Village Monastery in the Dordogne region in the South of France.

I try not to inundate you all here with Thich Nhat Hanh quotations but there are so many good ones by him that it is sometimes hard. He is such a calming man with such sage words. I can only hope that you will all enjoy his wisdom as much as I do.

17 thoughts on “May.17.2007 – Only this moment is life…

  1. A friend of mine actually lived at Plum Village for a while, so I always enjoy reading Thich Nhat Hanh. Not only are his words thoughtful, but they remind me of my friend, who lives several states away.

  2. I didn’t realize it till just lately that he and Thomas Merton were friends and peace activists together… amazing how some people just open up their hearts to the world and how others just… don’t…

  3. I have never heard of him, but I`m very thankful that you “introduced” him. I will certainly look for his books on internet.
    To live in present is one of the hardest tasks, so many of us prefer to linger in past or dream in future. To be present and to be aware of that is yet the key to expand our consciousness.
    Thank You, I certainly will drink my morning tea with more awareness 🙂

  4. Hmm, it seems that everyone in blogland is reminding me that there is only now, since I have spun off into an imaginary post-apocalyptic future in the wake of my global warming fears. There is only now. Thank you for the reminder!

  5. It is my first visit to your blog. I am currently reading Hanh’s “Taming the Tiger Within” every morning. He has been such an important part of my spiritual practices. Thank you for reminding me to be present while drinking tea.

    Peace

  6. Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I always look forward to reading quotes of inspiration, that is what gets me to keep on my journey. I’ll def. come back to see what quotes and inspirations you post here!

    I’m not sure how many tips I can give, but I do know that sometimes in life we reach a bunch of doors or a crossroad that we’ve got to decide where to go. I came to two doors in 2002 that either said ‘live unhealthy and continue to be disappointed in myself’ or ‘change your life, change who you are and reinvent’… since then, I’ve continually tried to re-invent myself to try new things. I guess it’s all about an open mind.

    Again, thanks for visiting, I love comments like you too!

Add your two-cents!

