May.30.2007 – DANCE!

Dance when you’re broken open.
Dance when you’ve torn the bandage off.
Dance in the middle of fighting.
Dance in your blood.
Dance when you’re perfectly free.
Struck, the dancer hears a tambourine inside her,
like a wave that crests into foam at the very top,
Begins.
Maybe you don’t hear that tambourine,
or the tree leaves clapping time.
Close the ears on your head,
that listen mostly to lies and cynical jokes.
There are other things to see, and hear.
Music. Dance.
A brilliant city inside your soul!

~Rumi

dance.jpg

20 thoughts on “May.30.2007 – DANCE!

  1. “and let it be a dance, let life be a dance; because we dance just to dance, not to go anywhere”

    That’s from a poem I memorized years ago. Wish I could remember who it was by, but it’s still lovely. It ends with:

    “knowing that for each step forward, there will be a step back; because anything else would have us dancing away from the music”

  2. The other night I was pretending I was Stevie Nicks circa “Stand Back” era. Dancing in the moon. With my Ipod on…In my PJ’s. And I thought….can you imagine if people are watching. They’ll have me committed…But, that didn’t really stop me….It was wonderful… twirling under the pale moonlight….

  3. I know how that girl feels in the pic! Growing up, when I was dancing like that,was the only time I had peace… Some can sing… for me it’s dancing.. love it. Thanks.

  4. I am a born dancer cursed in a body with ailments that prevent it.

    I danced for years and years, and I agree with Jody, I am always dancing on the inside…though I don;t waltz…I rumba.

  5. love to dance…wish I had long legs…I think I would have found it my purpose…but my short ones go with my short body and just to have legs that work and let me dance…is something to be grateful for…..
    just bought a tambourine at World Market for my daughter last weekend…
    she loves to dance

    I’ve always thought more of dancing expressing joy
    but of course it can also express sorrow…
    but to dance is to express oneself…and when we do, it is a beautiful thing
    we never have to stop dancing…I like to think of this–thanks: )

  6. Thanks for sharing these bits of poetry. This one makes dancing seem almost something that can be forceful and violent, and is very beautiful. Do you ever write any of your own poetry besides the Haiku experiment?

  7. Oh I think my comment landed on another post! But I adore this – so much that I am going to print it and put it on my studio wall. I went to dance classes as a child and never have I felt more free and unaware of my insecurities than then – now – well I just dance on my own and it feels good!

  8. This is lovely! I dance on the inside, too! Sometimes it’s flamenco (I think it’s called that; I’d have castanets and twirl a cool skirt), sometimes tango, and sometimes to the tune of Bollywood style music.
    It’s a good thing I dance on the inside, because I’m a bit clutzy — not Elaine from Seinfeld clutzy, but close enough! ; )

  9. Ohmigod…sorta tripppin on this….LOL What a FANTASTIC piece by Rumi…and how weird that I would write about dancing just yesterday….I hadn’t been over here for a couple of days…your inspiration must have sent a shockwave all the way to California!!! 🙂

Add your two-cents!

