Tagged & Rambling

The lovely and talented Leah from Creative Everyday tagged me today for a little survey meme. Let’s see how this goes…

INSTRUCTIONS: Remove the blog in the top spot from the following list and bump everyone up one place. Then add your blog to the bottom slot, like so.”

SusieJ
I Still See A Spark In You
Yogaglamgirl
Creative Every Day
Zazazu

Next (the fun part) select five people to tag:

Looking For Me In All the Unlikely Places
StilettoHeights
Practicing Contentment
A Clever Resource
Be Present, Be Here

Now — the questions:

What were you doing 10 years ago?

Ten years is a LONG time to remember back. I can’t even remember what I had for lunch yesterday. Or breakfast this morning. Yikes! Ten years ago, I would have been twenty so I would have been getting ready to finish school at Junior College to go on to Ole Miss for my B.A. degree. I’m sure that I was wildly optimistic about everything then and looking forward to all that living away from home had to offer.

What were you doing 1 year ago?

Again… SO hard to remember! One year ago, I was in the last year of my twenties and I was living in Oxford, working for the Mayor and was pretty darn miserable by that point. I was getting sick of all the calls I got from rich, spoiled, complaining people and I was getting sick of the politics of everything that went on in that office. I was just getting sick, I think. I was trying, at the point of one year ago, to figure out a logical way to get out of there.

Five snacks you enjoy:

  1. Iced coffee with vanilla soymilk
  2. Blueberry yogurt
  3. Cashew Cookie Lara Bars
  4. Cap’n Crunch (horrible, I know)
  5. Totally Vanilla Tofutti Cuties

Five songs to which you know all the lyrics:

  1. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen
  2. Tell Me What It Takes by Aerosmith
  3. Love In An Elevator by Aerosmith
  4. Angel by Aerosmith (… see a trend here?)
  5. Turn Me On by Norah Jones

Five things you would do if you were a millionaire:

  1. Give half of it to my Mother and divvy the rest up between my family members.
  2. Take my whole family on a nice vacation.
  3. Buy a bungalo-style house for myself.
  4. Donate to animal shelters and rescue.
  5. Go to more yoga classes, retreats, workshops, etc.

Five bad habits:

  1. Procrastination.
  2. Picking my fingernails down into the quick.
  3. Mentally abusing myself.
  4. Hoarding.
  5. Buying things that I never use.

Five things you like doing:

  1. Napping with Delali.
  2. Sitting on the porch swing with an iced coffee and a good book.
  3. Reading a magazine.
  4. Thrift shopping.
  5. Getting and sending mail.

Five things you would never wear again:

  1. Fur.
  2. Stirrup pants.
  3. Patterned pants (NO ONE needs a busy pattern across their arse.)
  4. Anything with the logo or brand name prominently in view.
  5. Anything with fringe.

Five favorite toys:

  1. My camera.
  2. Colored Sharpies.
  3. My journal.
  4. Stamps (to mail packages with!)
  5. Magazines.

«::::::»«::::::»«::::::»«:::::»«::::::»«::::::»«::::::»«::::::»«:::::»«::::::»

Was that wildly interesting for you all? I hope so. 🙂

 

In other news, I had a delightful mail day today. I got Marie Antoinette in the mail today from my NetFlix queue. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it, particularly from a fashion / costume standpoint, and I’m VERY eager to see it. It will, no doubt, be better than the last selection from my NetFlix queue – Friends With Money. Apologies to anyone who might have enjoyed this film but I hated it. I thought it was substance-less and just plain bad. I wouldn’t watch it again, wouldn’t have watched it the first time if I had known better and wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Ugh. What is with Jennifer Anniston and her poor role choices? I don’t know.

I also got this month’s copy of the Hallmark magazine in the mail today. I love this magazine. It is so relaxing and just really downright enjoyable. It is much more chic than Martha Stewart and has a lot of good information in it for many different people. I really like it and devour every single issue. For anyone who might be interested in it, you can get a dirt cheap ($4.69) subscription for it here. (Disclaimer: I know that this program works because it is where I got – and renewed – my subscription for Hallmark and several other good magazines.) I was so excited to see it in my mail bundle and can’t wait to go outside today and read every single page. Yay!

Also, I’ve been meaning to write about the blogger rendezvous that I had the other night. I got to meet Stacie from Nomadic Creations. It was so great and we had a wonderful time! Stacie travels all over with her husband, who does contractual work, and they are in Tupelo, Mississippi for two weeks, which happens to only be an hour’s drive away from me. As it turns out, I was going to be in Tupelo on Thursday anyway so we arranged to meet for coffee at the local Starbucks. We had such a great time! It was so neat that we knew so much about one another yet it was the first time we had ever met in person. We got along like we had known one another for years though and that was really great. Hopefully it was the first of many such blogger rendezvous and many such outings with the wonderful, talented and sweet Stacie!

kbstacie.jpg

Here we are – rendezvous-ing…

{ Stacie also brought some of her jewelry for my Aunt to see and – WOW! – she does really amazing work. Be sure to check it out on her blog and in her Etsy store. }

I’ve realized lately that I have an addictive personality. Marianna (a.k.a. Karianne) posted a blog entry that made me ponder and come to this realization. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as I’m not addicted to crack cocaine or anything of that nature. Rather, I find that I easily become addicted to things like holding Downward Facing Dog for five minutes or writing with a green pen, etc. Just quirky little things. Recently, I’ve become fiercely addicted to iced coffee and double-brewed coffee. Mmmmmm…

Sognatrice over at Bleeding Espresso got me started on the iced coffee. I’m not sure whether to send her a thank you for it or whether to silently curse her. (No, Sognatrice, I would never do that!) It is really very easy and oh-so-delightfully delicious! Great for summer! Sognatrice, being in Italy and all, makes hers with espresso. I do not have any sort of apparatus for making espresso so I make very strong black coffee and put it in the fridge to cool. Then I fill a glass about 1/4 full with vanilla soymilk, put in six icecubes and fill the rest with the cooled strong coffee. DELIGHTFUL! This is so good for a hot summer treat! Actually, it is good without the soymilk too, just the coffee over the ice. Super-tasty either way.

iced-coffee-fulltray_crop.jpg

As for the double-brewed coffee… well, there is no good story for why I’m loving it right now. I actually heard the term “double-brewed coffee” on a Dunkin’ Donuts commercial and decided that I wanted to try it to see what double-brewed coffee might taste like. Well, the verdict is… it is delicious! It is super-easy too. You make a pot of coffee like normal and then you pour the pot back into the water-reservoir and brew it again, through the same grounds that you used the first time. Some people put new grounds in and brew it through new grounds but this seems a bit wasteful to me. Brewing it back through the same grounds makes it smoother; brewing it a second time through new grounds would make it stronger. I guess it would depend on what result you were wanting. I just like ultra-smooth coffee and this method gives me that. It is DIVINE and SO easy, which works for me!!

 

coffee-d70.jpg

So, those are my current addictions. Why, I ask, can’t I become addicted to drinking eight 8-ounce glasses of water each day? Le sigh… Who knows what my next addiction will be. I’m open for suggestions, of course.

Oh, and another addiction – kind of a multi-faceted addiction – are all the wonderful things I got in recent buying trips to the Goodwill in Columbia, Tennessee and to the Salvation Army here in Corinth. I’ve listed several of these delightful finds in my Etsy store and a few on eBay too. Later today, I’ll be listing a fabulous peach-colored vintage slip-dress, an adorable funky vintage apron, a vintage madras bolero jacket and a too-FAB-for-words faux-leather motorcycle bag (all on Etsy). Feel free to check it out!

I :::HEART::: vintage!

Every year, I love to take a picture of the first berries that my blueberry bush produces. I get very excited about this event because I DO NOT have a green thumb and it is a sheer miracle that this bush has been alive for as long as it has and that it still produces berries, even if only a few. I rarely get to eat them either as the birds usually beat me to them but still, it is so nice to see them on there, and turning their beautiful deep blue color. Here are the first ones of 2007:

dscn9942.jpg

Isn’t nature grande?

I’ve been updating my 101 / 1,001 list quite regularly and getting things checked off so, if you have time, feel free to check out the progress.

Until next time…

May all your weeds be wildflowers.

🙂

 

21 thoughts on “Tagged & Rambling

  1. Pingback: 101 Things in 1,001 Days « Zazazu

  2. yay! this was fun! thanks for playin’ along. 🙂

    i think all of your addictions are pretty fabulous. especially the vintage finds addiction! hehe.

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed this entire post! I can’t wait to see your newly listed vintage items, you find the best stuff, your gorgeous gal. I FOUND the best birthday present for you at a thrift shop recently. You are going to love it 🙂 I will probably send it off early because I want to send your mags and other things I have been saving for you as well.

  4. Great list. I wish I liked coffee. About your blueberries — I’m thinking about starting my own bush. Did you plant your bush, or was it already there. However, I will be planting mine in southern Michigan, which is a much different climate than yours — just wondering. I take my kids to a place and we pick them by the buckets and freeze them all Winter — they love them in pancakes.

  5. Thsi was a great post, Karen!
    I liked Marie Antoinette- I think you will, too. And I wish I could drink coffee- it gives me the heebie-jeebies- because iced coffee looks so yummy. I’ll have to check out that Hallmark Magazine- thanks for the tip, too! I am addicted to thrift shopping now myself- in fact, I just posted about it, too!
    I learned a lot today!
    xo

  6. I’m so telling my sis about the double brewed coffee. She will go nutso! this is going to sound super weird, but when I drink coffee, my gums get tight and start to itch. Odd, huh? I still drink a tiny bit sometimes, but mostly I stay away from it.

    Let me know how Marie Antoinnette turns out. It looks so cool in the previews.

    I think that I’m going to do the meme in parts, starting with tonight.

    PS. I got my card, AND a check in the mail yesterday. You are my postal good luck charm. Thank you so much!

  7. And you say i never visit you anymore! Pshaw! I visit, I just don’t always comment… anyway…I have an internet friend named Stacie too, but she lives in Wisconsin. I would also dare to say that I too have an addictive personality as evidenced by the hoards of lipgloss, lotion and yarn that I have scattered to and fro all about my home. My addictions come in the form of hobbies and collections, so like you said, it is better than crack. And now to go all nerdy-scientific on you, it IS entirely possibly for all of ones “weeds to be wildflowers” as a “weed” is just any flower/plant that grows where you don’t want it to grow. My mother has a weed in the form of an oak tree growing in her flower bed as we speak!!! Have fun this weekend and be sure to miss me! 🙂

  8. I saw Marie Antoinnette a few weeks ago, and I found it very interesting and visually stunning. I had to read everything about the RL Marie that I could get my hands on. What an interesting and amazing young woman. My favorite part of her real life story: that she had true love and respect for her awkward and difficult husband, and he had adoration for his dashing and vivacious wife. The movie shows it nicely.

  9. Whew! You have been busy and I just had to catch up with everything.
    I didn’t know there was a Hallmark magazine? I liked what you described.
    I didn’t care for that moive either, FWM. Pretty bad. MA was eye candy.
    I think it’s so neat to met up with a fellow blogger. We are such a great community, don’t ya think?
    Why are the cubes coloured in the iced coffee foto? I don’t even drink coffee. Love the smell and like it as a dessert flavour but never drank the stuff.
    At some point, I still want to do the 101/1001 list but at the moment I’m playing catch up. I’ve been saying that for the last two weeks now and I’m still not caught up.
    I still owe you some music recommendations. Talk about being slow and out of the loop. At least I’ve caught up with you and what’s going on. It was like Wild Animal Kingdom over at your place. I would also have been frantic, and that’s putting it mildly, about Danali. I’m glad to be caught up as I enjoy reading your posts and I love your fotos.
    Take care of you.
    xo cheeky

Add your two-cents!

