Zazaz-view: An Interview

In a recent même-like exercise, Cheeky from All Over The Map “interviewed” me.  This consisted of her sending me five questions to answer her on my blog.   This was not random, however, as I read her lovely interview, read her call for participants and decided to jump in as well.  Some of the questions she sent me are real stumpers!  Read on…

1) If you were going to be stranded on a desert island and could only bring one food with you, what would it be?

The “desert island” question always stumps me up. Just ONE food?? Ugh. The frou-frou side of me wants to say iced coffee. However, realistically (as if being stranded on a desert island in the first place is realistic), I would probably bring fresh salmon sushi rolls with me. They have protein, vegetables and the seaweed has lots of nutrients in it. I’m not sure how I would keep it or who would make it for me but, since there were no stipulations on that sort of thing, I will leave that as my answer.

2) As a school child did you have a favourite teacher, or one teacher that impacted your life, mentored you? If so, who was it and why?

In grade school, I loved Miss Ross because she was so kind and smiley and fun – same reasons most any first grader would love a teacher. However, in high school, my senior year, I had two teachers – The Colemans. They were sisters-in-law and both Mrs. Coleman. They were my yearbook supervisors and, since I was the editor my senior year, I had to work closely with them. I’m not sure that they really “mentored” me but they did show an extraordinary amount of faith and trust in me and let me make decisions that were pretty big for a 17-year-old. They also put me in sole charge of my yearbook staff – eighteen girls – and rarely intervened. They impacted me by trusting me, letting me have creative license over the production of the yearbook and by having faith in my ability to handle – er, juggle – it all. That meant a lot.

3) If you could choose to live anywhere you wanted, where would it be and why?

Ohhhh, this is harder than the desert island one! If I could live absolutely anywhere and didn’t want to get back to see my family regularly and didn’t have to have my cat quarantined to live there, I think I would like to live in the South of France, even though I can’t say that from firsthand experience as I’ve never been there. But, everything I’ve read makes me just feel connected to it, very drawn to it. I think I could be very happy there. But, that is all contingent on my being alone in the world, with no family or cat to think about. Happily, I do have family and cat to think about. So, I guess I would choose to live either in Seaside, Florida; Asheville, North Carolina; or New York City. Any of the above would suit me to a tee, even though they are as different as they can possibly be. I do love diversity.

4) You are planning a 7 course meal for special guests and the best part is, you have an unlimited bugdet. What’s to eat?

Whatever can be the most easily catered, preferably by my sister who has just started a new catering business. My guests would LOVE whatever she made to eat!

5) Painted toes and strappy high heels kind of girl? “Au naturelle”, socks and comfy shoes kind of girl?

As per one of my last mêmes, I don’t paint my toes or wear strappy heels, although I think they are fabulous on others.  I love to be barefoot, though, when I’m outside walking in the grass or doing yoga.  However, I’m more like Carrie Bradshaw when it comes to shoes: “put me on up there.”  I love love LOVE stilettos and have quite a hefty collection of them.  What type of stiletto, you ask?  I’m a classic pointed toe pump girl all the way.  I have a very small foot – I wear a 5 or a 5.5 – so the pointed toe really makes my foot look bigger which I like.  I may be the only woman you will ever hear say that!  I just think that a classic stiletto pump is timeless and elegant.  I love them.  Ah… I could wax poetic on and on about shoes but I will stop there.  I do like my comfy shoes too but stilettos – why can’t they be more comfortable? – are my favorite. 

So, there you have it folks.  My interview.

If you too want to participate and be interviewed,  here are the rules:

1. Leave me a comment saying “Interview me.”

2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.

3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.

4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.

5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Easy enough, right?  Have fun!

6 thoughts on “Zazaz-view: An Interview

  1. oh I love this, especially the South Of France part…..because I have always wanted to live in Vienna….I have never been but have read a lot and feel like I would love it.

    ok go ahead and interview me (YAY)

  2. Very Interesting! I am odd about desert island questions as well, like that is ever going to happen….(now, it probably will, and I will be stuck on an island with olives).

  3. Oh! Oh! Oh! Interview ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please?!

    (That was my ADHD inner child speaking to you as she jumped up and down and waved her arms to get your attention!)

    Your last post about putting an item on Etsy during each CSI episode CRACKS ME UP!!!

    In sad news… tonight the cable is being turned off. Time to get season DVDs from Netflix! 1 CSI, 1 Stargate, 1 Star Trek TNG… how much better can life get?!

  4. 1) hey, it could happen! 🙂 I know it seems utterly ridiculous but it’s an idea that makes you think, “What would you do?”
    I like that you thought about health and nutrition; me I’d pick a bag of potato chips throwing all caution to the wind regarding health. ha ha

    2) That’s interesting, sisters-in-law. My faves were: Mrs. Roberts 3rd and 5th grade lucky me. She also taught choir and I loved her. Mr. Osenbaugh, or Mr. “O” was my high school chemistry teacher; what a neat soul. I can’t forget Madame Cohen, (she was French) my French teacher. Talk about passion for French and teaching students. I will never forget listening to Edith Piaf during class, going to French restaurants, French Club, learning about all things French and her exuberant attitude about us and learning French. Miss her!

    3) Go to the South of France. You will love it! And if you decide to move you can take “ton chat” I don’t think believe there is any quarantine in France and your family can visit.

    4) That’s fantastic! Your sister has a catering business. You got off easy on this one girl!

    5) I love heels and I’m 5’9 barefoot but that doesn’t stop me. Pointed, open-toe whatever! Heels put an extra “spring” in my step. I also love my comfy, earthy shoesies. I do not like to have dirty feet so barefoot is rarely an option, unless it’s grass or sand.

    Thanks for playing and so sorry I am so late in commenting.

Add your two-cents!

