Birthday Lessons

Well, folks, my birthday was a good one. I can’t complain at all. To all of you who wrote, emailed, called, texted, sent ecards, left comment, sent packages, etc., I appreciate it ALL so very very much. Each wish that I received was wonderful!

Besides more calls and emails than usual, my birthday wasn’t all that eventful. I didn’t do anything more or less than my normal routine and that was just fine. My dinner, however, was atypical and very special.

This evening, my Dad asked if I might like to go eat for my birthday. Well, my Father NEVER likes to eat anywhere besides right here so when he offers, you take him up on it! My Mother was excited to get to eat something that she didn’t cook so we all got ready and went to town for dinner. Now, to be clear, there aren’t many places to choose from in Corinth when aiming for a nice meal. We landed at Ruby Tuesday which was great since I’m in love with their salad bar (which is exactly what I had). We had a nice time and I really enjoyed having dinner out (my Mother enjoyed it too!) and am so lucky to have them and am blessed by all the time I get to spend with them.

A refrain, if I may…

I guess I’m like everyone else in that I get frustrated or impatient with the nuances of daily life. Sometimes I dream about being out partying like a rock star or living some lavish life – the life of a TV star perhaps – and being at home in some lush mansion, with a handsome and poised significant other, eating dinner from some posh take-out joint. Sometimes I wonder what people who do live lives like this did that is different to what I’ve done. Sometimes I even feel a bit sorry for myself that I don’t live a life like that.

But, what I do live is a good – GREAT! – life… MY life.

The people who do live like that don’t have what I have. If I were one of them, living somehow differently, I wouldn’t have what I have – the parents, the family, the house, the cat, etc. It would all be different and I’m not willing to trade any of it in, no matter how I dream of other scenarios. When I come to the end of my life, I wouldn’t really remember take-out from a posh place. What I will remember is sitting at a table in Ruby Tuesday, dipping french fries into a vat of ketchup with my Mom and Dad. THAT is a memory.

I guess what I’m saying is that all of us have moments when we are discontent (or at least I think that all of us do) but chances are that the really GOOD parts of life are the very nuances of daily life that we sometimes get so frustrated with.

I’ve heard it said and I truly believe: To wish you were someone else is to waste the person you are.

It was a good – GREAT! – birthday! I’m thirty-one now and still learning so much. Lesson today: Don’t waste the person that I am. Realize when you are making memories.

Even though today wasn’t particularly eventful, I realize that I made at least several memories. Thanks to each of you who had a part in it.

Here are some pictures from my day:

1.jpg9.jpgcuddles.jpgcuddles-1.jpg

fern.jpghose.jpg5.jpghouse-1.jpgsun-in-trees.jpgthicket.jpg

daisy-2.jpgdelali-out-3.jpgflowers.jpggardenia.jpg

ivy2.jpglantana.jpgmoth.jpgpeppers.jpg

pink-rose.jpgroad.jpgshadow.jpg

 

 

10 thoughts on “Birthday Lessons

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Enjoy your journey! You`ll notice that the best time in your life is just begun!!!!!!!!!!!

    IΒ΄m sorry I missed the right day, but my wishes are as sincere πŸ™‚

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Belated slightly…)

    I’m glad you had an awesome day, and that you got to spend quality time with your mom & dad!!!

    Ruby Tuesdays is SO GOOD!!!! Have you tried their french onion soup & salad bar deal??? OMW! It’s heavenly!!!!!!!

    Our lives ARE good… we have family, friends, a wonderfully loving blogging family, swaps, chats, and of course… CSI!!!!!!

  3. Happy, Happy Birthday!

    Life is great, we just happen to forget πŸ™‚
    I wish you even more moments of awareness for the utter bliss of life.

  4. Yay for a great birthday–you do deserve it! πŸ™‚
    I LOVE your pics, btw! Great shots!!! And, omigosh–that moth is the same kind I saw last year (for the first time here), and wished I had a camera then as it was the hugest moth I have ever seen. Maybe that’s his/her relative visiting you!!! πŸ™‚
    I’m so happy you took a pic of it and all the other pics, too–it’s lovely to look at! πŸ™‚

Add your two-cents!

