Life, liberty and…

The Pursuit of Happyness. Yes, I watched it over the weekend. I thought it was a bit on the slow side but liked it anyway. It had a good message and I loved that it was based on true events. And, of course, who doesn’t love Will Smith? He played the part beautifully and his son (real life son and son in the film) did great too. He is a cutie.

The part that I loved the most about The Pursuit of Happyness was when he said this:

It was right then that I started thinking about Thomas Jefferson on the Declaration of Independence and the part about our right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. And I remember thinking how did he know to put the pursuit part in there? That maybe happiness is something that we can only pursue and maybe we can actually never have it. No matter what. How did he know that?

I have been given pause today to think about this, for various reasons. Can we really ever truly reach happiness? It is sad to me to think that we cannot but, as humans, we always want more, more of anything. More, more, more. And, doesn’t that by its very nature mean that we are never truly happy? Wanting more means that we feel a lack in whatever area and if we do indeed feel or have a lack in a certain area are we then truly happy? Is happiness in some areas enough to warrant overall, true happiness? Does lack inherently equal unhappiness?

I don’t know.

I would like to think that I could truly be happy even though there are areas of my life – at all times, it seems – that are lacking. I would like to think that everyone always has at least enough happiness in some area to be happy overall. I would like to think that I can – someday – attain true, unadultered happiness and that everyone else can as well.

But, I’m not sure that all of that can occur.

Because I know that there are people in this world who feel such lack, such sorrow, such pain, such sadness and – worst of all – such hopelessness that that can’t happen. They’ve stopped even pursuing the elusive thing called happiness. And for those people, my heart goes out. I wish that I could help them – each one – out of the pit that they are in but I can’t. I can only help myself keep from that darkness and perhaps a close few who I touch and am in contact with. The best I can do is say a prayer for those people tonight, wherever they may be, that their hearts will find the light of hope again.

I do know this for sure as I wax poetic about the pursuit of happiness. Happiness cannot be had – ever – without hope. If you have no hope, you have no happiness.

I think often of hope and how it is hope – not love – that makes the world go around. Love is built on hope. Dreams are built on hope. Success is built on hope. Health is built on hope. Every good thing is built on hope. If you have not hope, you truly have nothing.

So then perhaps, even though we might lack in some areas, if we have hope – even in the areas in which we lack – we can have happiness. Might hope equal happiness? Yes, I think so.

Thanks for being my sounding board tonight.

l_o_v_i_n_g__o_n__g_r_e_e_n_by_agie.jpg

If you lose hope, somehow you lose the vitality that keeps life moving, you lose that courage to be, that quality that helps you go on in spite of it all.

~~~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

6 thoughts on “Life, liberty and…

  1. For me at least, I think that it is more important to be ‘satisfied’ with my life, what i have, where I am at. happiness is relative. If I am satisfied it is easier to be happy, but if i am unsatisfied with things I will find myself being unhappy when I might otherwise have no reason to be unhappy. that probably doesn’t make any sense but nothing much has today.

  2. i really enjoyed that movie…both my husband and i were in tears by the end of it
    I love reading your thoughts…i guess different things make people happy but for me its just appreciating the simple things in life and always remembering that there are people less unfortunate
    when feeling down I always think …tommorow is another day….and move along

  3. Very interesting ideas, here, especially about how hope and happiness are tied together. I never thought about it like that. I seem to be an all around happy person, but I often stop to think about how blessed I am to have my family, friends, job, etc. It’s almost as though I don’t really realize how happy I am until I look around and see that, even though parts of my life are lacking, all is as it should be. Thinking about what you posted here regarding how people always seem to want “more”…last week I saw a bumper sticker on car in traffic that said “to have more, desire less.” I love that idea!

  4. I haven’t seen the movie yet….but because I am happy with my life I am able to seek more happiness. When I am not happy, I just lie around all day, unmotivated and depressed, doing nothing with my life. I see my focus and strive to achieve more as a reflection of my current state of happiness.

  5. hope makes all the difference, I think…
    from another movie…a mind wide open (to the possibilities)
    I think this is how people can enjoy happiness in each moment that it is there and create more…
    maybe moments of unhappiness are the opportunities to move in a direction that brings more happiness…
    been thinking about what makes me happy these days..and wondering why I should not be living with that in mind…knowing that I can not expect to always be happy about everything but that it is in my hands whether I listen to my heart, so to speak…whether I make choices…take chances…test out what I think would bring happiness…and be willing to risk unhappiness in the process…

    you have art on the mind…me too…hope things go well…and hope you are well: )

Add your two-cents!

