Review: Yoga Shakti by Shiva Rea

I love synochricity.

Just the other day I was lamenting about not having updated this section recently. Even more than that, I was wondering what on earth I could post in the “Namaste” section. My yoga practice lately has been good but not very newsworthy. I practice most mornings and enjoy it most mornings. Until today.

Today I missed my morning practice and decided to ‘make up’ for it by practicing with a DVD from my collection. I choose one that I’ve had for awhile but, oddly, have never actually practiced with. I had heard great things about it from different people and decided that today was a good day to try it.

The DVD was Yoga Shakti by Shiva Rea.

To anyone who does yoga, especially yoga at home, I recommend this DVD highly. In addition to regular sequences that Rea puts together, there is also the ‘Matrix’ feature. This feature allows you to go to a menu and pick and choose the specific “pieces” that you want to do. There are myriad options from Classic Sun Salutations to Dancing Warrior sequences. Each of these mini-sequences are short and designed to be paired with other mini-sequences for a complete practice. There are four beginning meditations to choose from, Sun Salutations and Dancing Warrior sequences, three Standing Pose sequences, two Arm Balance sequences, five Backbend Preparation and Backbend Flows, two Counterposes for Backbends, four Finishing Practices including Meditation and Shavasana. These mini-sequences range in length from 15:50 minutes to 2:30 minutes. If you put five or six mini-sequences together, you have a nice full practice.

So, as you can tell, I’m wildly impressed by the ‘Matrix’ feature on this tape.

Secondly, if you aren’t familiar with Shiva Rea, you probably don’t know what a goddess she is. She does the poses more beautifully and comprehensively than any other yogini I’ve seen. She can bend in ways that no other human can and yet, she is very conscientious of those who can’t bend as she can. She explains each pose, each movement of each pose, in detail, going slowly and also describing variations in detail. The practices are easy to follow without having to keep eyes on the TV for the duration of the routines.

And finally, even though you won’t see much of it if you are practicing heartily, the scenery is just glorious. I believe the tape was filmed in the Maldives. The beach that she practices on is so calm, serene and peaceful, exactly what yoga should be in life. It really adds a special dimension to the tape.

Shiva Rea is one of the greats of yoga, no doubt, but, she has definitely earned her spot there. She is encouraging and gentle and her voice is peaceful and calming. She is also great yoga inspiration. Her yoga body is toned and supple, exactly what so many people strive for and spend hours at the gym for. Rea is such an admirable yoga teacher. I heartily recommend this DVD.

yogashakti.jpg

Deep peace of the running wave to you.
Deep peace of the flowing air to you.
Deep peace of the quiet earth to you.
Deep peace of the shining stars to you.
Deep peace to you.

~~~ Namaste ~~~

10 thoughts on “Review: Yoga Shakti by Shiva Rea

  1. Pingback: previewspace.info

  2. I could not agree more! This DVD is by far my favorite of Shiva Rea. I also like that she really breaks down the poses for more advanced yoginis – she makes so many poses accessable that were not before. I love the matrix too!

  3. You are really inspiring me to get into a yoga studio or get this dvd…and yes, I have read the book that you picked up….wonderful!!!

  4. Thanks for the comment on my poem! I don’t know when I’ll be updating…I guess when the mood hits, which isn’t always often. But your admiration of it is truly appreciated!

    PS Is this the Zazazu from MS’s “Friends Living Naturally”?

  5. Found my way here…..somehow! Enjoyed reading back through your posts and this one about Shiva Rae. I also really love Rodny Yee for home practice…..sometimes just like to sit on the couch and watch!

Add your two-cents!

