Review: Teeccino

As you all know, I’ve been weaning myself from my horrible caffeine addiction.  It’s been tough, I won’t lie.  I’ve had the headaches, the irritability, and, most of all, horrible horrible sleepiness.  Thankfully, the headaches and most of the irritability is gone but I’m still battling the yawns.  I’m pushing through it.

In the midst of all of this anguish, my dear friend Jody pointed me in the direction of a most wonderful product, a coffee alternative called Teeccino.

java.jpg

Sadly, I could not find Teeccino at any store in my town but a trip to Memphis provided.  I found Teeccino at Wild Oats and bought one can of Original and one can of Java.

The next morning, I tried the Java flavor in my French Press.  It smelled wonderful and, even before steeping, turned a beautiful, rich, dark color, just as regular coffee should be.  The Java flavor has natural coffee flavoring in it so, naturally, it tastes more like real coffee.   In addition to the natural coffee flavoring, it has roasted carob, barley, chicory root, almonds, figs and dates.  For those of you raising an eye at this, let me tell you, it is good.  While it does not taste exactly like coffee, it definitely has a coffee feel to it and satisfies that coffee craving.

And it is healthy too.  One cup of Teeccino is:

  • Naturally caffeine-free – no processing, no chemical residue
  • High in heart-healthy potassium and soluble fiber
  • Natural energy boost – from nutrients, not stimulants
  • Alkaline – helps reduce acidity and restore alkaline balance
  • Rich in inulin, a soluble fiber in chicory root, that helps improve
    digestion and elimination plus increases the absorption of calcium and minerals

Yesterday morning, I tried the Original flavor.  Well, I can’t say that I liked it as well and wouldn’t really recommend it.  It is lacking the natural coffee flavoring and doesn’t taste nearly as much like coffee as the Java flavor does.

But the Java flavor?  I will continue drinking it, even after my yawns stop, which I’m hoping will be soon.  I’ve wanted to be caffeine-free for a long time and now, with a very good substitute, I think I can be.  Thanks, Jody!

10 thoughts on “Review: Teeccino

  1. Congrats on toughing it out. I’m proud of you.

    I’ve always wanted the routine of coffee in the morning, but I can’t drink it. I’m going to try to find Teeccino around here to give it a go!

  2. I’m one of those in the minority who have never drinken coffee. The taste just didn’t move me. However, Diet Coke….I keep reading how bad it is for you so I no longer buy it. I will have it occasionally at a restaurant now. I miss it. I’m drinking ice tea now. Still caffeine but not the bad stuff found in colas.

  3. I shall have to look into this. The acid/alkaline balance affects so many health issues doesn’t it. I am all for a healthy enjoyable coffee substitute. Keep up the good work. Those symptoms your’e suffering won’t last forever, and then you’ll be free. And stronger.
    xo
    Blue

  4. I’m v. impressed at how well you have done with giving up coffee. This new drink sounds really good! I will look out for it here. : )

  5. Good for you for sticking with it!! That’s awesome 😀 That Teeccino sounds really neat, I’ll have to recommend it to a couple of my coffee addicted friends lol 😉

  6. This is such a big thing to do…giving up caffeine. I give it up and then start up the habit again, which makes it that much harder to give up the next time.
    I’m glad that you found something that will hopefully tide you over!

  7. Congrats on giving up coffee! I don’t know if I could do it, though this product might help. Hmmm. A small change may be “brewing”.

    (couldn’t resist – so early in the morning – not thinking clearly….)

  8. Awesome for you!!! I just gave up caffeine too:):) Though my addiction was Dr. Pepper….I do feel a lot better and I’m sleeping better at night. I used to have headaches almost everyday but now it seems I’m only getting about one a week. That still sucks but it’s better than everyday:)

  9. Ooh, that Teecino sounds good AND beneficial, which are two traits that usually don’t seem to go together when it comes to beverages or most foods! 🙂
    How are you coming along with kicking the caffeine habit? I know it’s really difficult, but I know you can do it! 🙂

Add your two-cents!

