Fall Reading: A Book Swap

I’m still here and I’m still alive.  I know it has been a long time since I’ve posted and I apologize for that.  I’ve gotten caught up in off-line things and just haven’t been a very good blogger.  I’ve neglected my own blog and have also neglected to visit and comment on all of the ones I love to visit and comment on.  Suffice it to say that I’ve missed you all.

Fall is definitely here in my neck of the woods.  It really set in good yesterday, when the temperature all day was about 65.  Delightful.  It is the same today and I’ve spent much of the day outside basking in it and enjoying every cool breeze and every beautiful leaf that floats past.

Some say that summer brings out the reader in them but for me it is fall.  I love to sit outside in the cool breeze with a cup of cider and a good book.

So then, I’m proposing a swap…. A BOOK SWAP!

books.jpg

You will send your partner one of your favorite books, a book by a favorite author or a book by a local author.  Include in the package a nice bookmark – bought or handmade – and a few things that remind you of fall.  As for the book, you don’t have to go and buy a new one.  If you are willing to part with a copy that you already have, that is more than fine.  No need to spend a lot of money on this swap.  (If you WANT to buy new, that is fine too.)  Don’t try to find something that your partner would like.  The point of the swap is to introduce your partner to a new author, a new read, perhaps a new genre.  We all need our reading routines shaken up from time to time.  This will also give you and your partner a starting point for a new friendship.  Reading is one of the best things to talk about!

Leave a comment on this post if you want to participate.  Also, email me at msred5@yahoo.com with your name and mailing address and if you are willing to ship internationally or not.  You have until September 26 to sign up and packages should be sent out by October 9.

Any questions?  Let me know!

Otherwise… let’s get swapping!

25 thoughts on “Fall Reading: A Book Swap

  1. omg! i LOVED LOVED LOVED the Time Traveller’s Wife! What an AMAZING book! Set in Chicago (yay!) and even mentions a coffee shop that I used to go to back in the day (which, unfortunately isn’t around any more…)

  2. Well, I have neglected swaps before, but this time I think it`s time to participate in one. Book swap.
    Please, sign me up too, I`m exited how this all works and what nice surprises it will bring 🙂

    Thank You for organizing! I admire your energy and input – it seems you never run out of extra energy for doing stuff like this .)

  3. Pingback: Tag, I’m it… again. « Zazazu

  4. You have the most fabulous ideas! thank you for being an absolute inspiration in so many ways. I LOVE this idea and am excited to be a participant! Now how to pick *just one book*?? 😉

  5. Sign me up! You are always good for a great swap, you reader queen!

    I’ve missed you.

    Check out my blog post today. Notice anything familiar in any of the pics?

    I haven’t taken it off since the day that I got it!

  6. what a fun idea!! i’m all over the place with ideas! your ideas are great….my friend jenny has been talking highly of you for ages!! count me in, for sure!!

  7. Pingback: Fall Reading Book Swap: Pairings « Zazazu

  8. Pingback: Gone camping! « Zazazu

  9. Pingback: ::: Housekeeping ::: « Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

