Dreary today… inside and out.

Though my soul may set in darkness,
It will rise in perfect light.
I have loved the stars too fondly
To be fearful of the night.
–Sarah Williams 

It’s just one of those days.  I’m hypersensitive today and it feels like everyone is out to get me, like I’m swimming upstream.

I spent most of the afternoon crying over someone I used to be very close with, someone I’d like to be close to again, someone I can’t seem to please.

I offended someone with my post yesterday about Grey’s Anatomy.  I do love it but not enough to loose a friend over.

I’ve been lectured once today, indirectly and silently reprimanded and had two less-than-stellar emails.  I’ve had a headache all day and been told that I just need to get over everything that is bothering me.

And I will.  I know that today is just one of those days and after all, tomorrow is another day.  I also know that good things have happened today and that the bad should never over-shadow the good.

My close friends rallied around me when I was down.  They told me that it would all be okay and that I was a strong person, just what I needed to hear.  I talked to my nephew on the phone which always cheers me up.  I had a good yoga practice.  I got an Arbonne order, which is always good too.  And, best of all, Delali kissed away my tears when I was crying.

Every cloud does have a silver lining and I do love the stars too fondly to be afraid of the dark. Writing that down makes me realize that, despite a few disappointments, despite more tears than I should have shed, today wasn’t really so bad as I had thought before.

After all, tomorrow is another day and it will be a good one.  I know it.

18 thoughts on “Dreary today… inside and out.

  1. I wish you peace tonight after a day of turmoil. I’m sorry your day was less than perfect and I hope you found moments to breathe, have a cup of tea, and regroup.

  2. Poor you! I’m not sure why a friend would be upset over your Grey’s post…make sure you don’t let yourself get walked all over in the name of friendship.
    And if you can’t please the person, then they have the problem, not you.
    Remember to look after yourself, I totally understand the bad days!
    xx

  3. not sure what happened, but nobody should ever get their panties in a wad over grey’s anatomy (or anything as trivial!) hugs to you…hope today’s much better 🙂

  4. I hope today is better for you. I’m sorry you were down. I have such a hard time on days like that. Today is Wendesday, which means the weeks is half over, and that is always great news!

  5. I call them poopy pants days.
    Sometimes I think it helps to just give in, let it be miserable and no fair and such, so then you can release it and open to other aspects of the day, or even just hold onto the fact that tomorrow will be its own day. Fighting it, trying to make it not be what it is or feel what you feel, just adds on the guilt.
    It sounds like you found a nurturing way of embracing the day in all its ickiness and still seeking the magic of stars.
    love to you.

  6. Thank you for sharing not only your rainbows but your stormy clouds as well. It’s a brave act to share your ups and downs publicly, you do it in such a classy manner. I wish for clarity in your dreams tonight so that tomorrow will be refreshing 🙂 Feel better! AND…though you don’t know me, we have the same meeting place at 9:00PM every Thursday!

  7. Hope you feel better after a good nights sleep. We all have those shitty days, and they make the good days that much better

  8. you know what is good about a day like this? when all the crap goes away and you recognize what a good day you are having then! i hope that made some sense. it is hard to let go of people. sometimes you let go for a while, other times you let go for good.

    good luck, and know you are not alone! we are all here with you with hugs, chocolate, kleenx, and friendship.

    🙂

  9. Why on earth did someone give you a hard time for writing about Grey’s Anatomy? Someone has issues. Who cares if you write about it? I secretly like Grey’s Anatomy, and would happily spend an entire afternoon watching it. I’m not up to date on the episodes or even series. Anyway, chin up and don’t feel bad. Whoever made you feel bad, probably feels awful for making you feel bad, that’s just the way things work. There are some people who, however much you try to please them, will always be bitter and resentful; it may mean that this person is jealous of you or has their own issues for whatever reason. All you can do is be compassionate and patient with them. You seem to be a very kind and sweet person and I know you’ll be fine.
    x

Add your two-cents!

