Stealing from Leah… Wellness Wednesday…

meditation_hand.jpg

My dear friend Leah hosts Wellness Wednesday (started by LunarMusings – check out her cool Etsy store!) over at her blog. In a nutshell, Wellness Wednesday is about all the ways we can take care of our bodies, our lives, our spirits. It is about coming up with little things to do, little suggestions to make for others to read and take into consideration, little things that have the potential to make our lives better in some little way.

I may not do Wellness Wednesday every Wednesday but, seeing as how I love Leah‘s suggestions every week, I thought I would do at least a few here sometimes.

There’s more than one way to die. All at once or one day at a time.

Yes, it is super-corny that I’m quoting a TV show but this is a really powerful statement, no matter where it came from. There is so much to think about with this statement, at least for me.

This statement makes me think about another friend Melissa’s recent post, a post about living with intention, doing the most you can with your life or at least what you really want to do. As she says in her post, she doesn’t want it to take a tragedy for her to start living the way she really wants to live.

I don’t want that either. None of us do, I would wager.

So, my Wellness Wednesday suggestion is to make a list of all the things you WOULD do if you knew you only had a few months left on this planet, only a few months left with the resources you have, with the family you have, with your life as it is. What would you do in your last few months to make it perfect, to make it where you had no regrets?

For me it would be to spend less time online and less time watching TV and more time reading and playing with Delali (inasmuch as she would let me)…. It would be going outside more and taking daily walks…. It would be doing more yoga and eating less junk food…. It would be helping my Mom more and having long talks with her even more than I do now (even though I do have a lot of them now and I’m so happy about that)… It would be to have a good, solid, tension-free relationship with both of my siblings… It would be to know my Father a little better… It would be to have less and give more of what I have to others.

That’s just the short list.

What would be on your list?

Happy Wellness Wednesday. (Thanks, Leah!)

P.S. Thank you ALL for saying such kind things to me yesterday when I was super-sensitive and down-in-the-dumps. You are all such wonderful friends and I’m lucky to have you ALL!

 


 

 

10 thoughts on “Stealing from Leah… Wellness Wednesday…

  1. Thank You for that nice idea and inspiration. I know how important it is, to take care of your body, but since it does n`t complain very often, I tend to neglect itΕ› needs sometimes.
    I`m busy at the moment, but I know that I`ll return to your post again and read it again and give it more thought. Thank You! You are wonderful!!!!!

  2. People. I’d be seeing everyone I want to see and saying what I want and need to say to them before I go.

    Further to eva’s comment, my body does a lot of complaining! So I spend a lot of time trying to fix it. Wellness…hopefully I’ll get there. πŸ˜€

  3. My mom’s cancer diagnosis really woke me up to life. While it totally sucks that it took that (and I’d do anything to reverse it), my eyes are open in a completely different light. Unfortunately, sometimes it takes something like death or the threat of it, to really make us realize what we do have and how much we should value life. I get that quote so much!

  4. your blog today reminds me of something the yoga teacher elsie says a lot on her podcast classes “…. like you mean it!” her voice is so sweet and so full of passion that when she tells you to place your foot like you mean it, you really think about how you do things the rest of the time… and try to do more of them like you mean it. what a gift! thanks for your blog!

  5. Welcome to Wellness Wednesday! I would paint more. I’d say “no, sorry, i’m busy painting today” and read and watch Grey’s Anatomy πŸ™‚
    yeah, me and hubby are addicted. Next week they have back to back shows (as my husband had wished for). It’s the only show, besides the Daily show worth watching (and the travel channel).
    Oh, I would go back to Peru too.
    Doreen

  6. Wow. Well, the first thing that popped into mind was travel (maybe hitchhike/hop trains? Or have a yard sale for funds?). Anywhere, everywhere; there is so much to see! And, hopefully, so many people to befriend! πŸ™‚ Then again, I wouldn’t want to be without my kitties or family for too long! πŸ™‚
    Hmm, I’d also like to have a celebration party where I’d tell each guest how special they are to me and hug them a gazillion times for good measure. I hope my peeps realize how awesomely fab and special they are to me already–that totally includes you! πŸ™‚
    I’ll have to think about this one some more! Lovely post! Thanks for being my friend, sweetie, and for sharing your bright light with others through your blog! πŸ™‚

Add your two-cents!

