Wishing and hoping and thinking and praying…

My day yesterday wasn’t stellar thus the short post last night.  I’m not yet ready to divulge just what happened yesterday to make it less-than-stellar but I will soon.  Don’t worry for me though; it is all going to work out.

Instead, I will tell you what I’ve done today.

I’ve done little more than wish, hope, think and pray for this.

For at least a year now, I’ve been intrigued and fascinated by Blythe dolls… specifically the original 1972 ones that go for un-Godly amounts of money on eBay.   I don’t know what it is necessarily about me and dolls lately as I’ve also started collecting vintage Kokeshi dolls.   Kokeshis are so cute and really have a great history and are much more accessible than Blythe dolls.

What on earth would I do with a big-headed, over-priced Barbie doll, you ask?  Well, I would do this:

blythe.jpg

You see, I never plan to have any children (don’t feel badly for me… I really don’t want any) and Delali won’t let me dress her up and put bows and flowers in her hair and pose her for pictures and such (I’ve tried and the claws came out).  So, a Blythe would be perfect to fill that void in my life.

 aaaacasized.jpg

I suppose that I will have to resign myself to having a replica of the original Blythe doll.  That is what most people seem to have and collect these days as the originals aren’t exactly plentiful.  So… le sigh… I might have to seek out a knock-off.

 come.jpeg

So, what is so great about Blythes?

Firstly, they are just plain cute.  Their big head and big eyes and tiny bodies… they look like adorable alien Barbies.  And their eyes change colors and – if you are positively loaded – you can customize them out, with different hair colors, different eyefleck pieces, you can put make-up on them and even have their mouths painted in different expressions.  I’m a simpleton, I suppose, in that I would take one in any form I could get her.  Heck, I’m even bidding on one on eBay that only has one leg!  My Blythe standards are pretty low.  A Mother’s love is unconditional, two legs or one.

new19.jpeg

Secondly, I think it is fascinating that they were only produced for one year (1972) by Kenner.  They weren’t well received at all and stopped being produced after a very short run.  The ones produced in that year are all there is of the originals.  Some time later, the rights to Blythe were sold to Takara in Japan where she became very popular.  Some time after that, the U.S. caught on and we now love them too.  Incidentally, when they were first introduced in 1972, they sold for around $2 – 5.  Now, they go for upwards of $2,000 on eBay.

11_gsized.jpg

Thirdly, wouldn’t it just be fun to play with them?  I know that sounds odd for a 31-year-old woman to want to play with a doll but why couldn’t it be a hobby like knitting or any other?  There is a lot of creativity that goes into “playing” with a Blythe doll: sewing clothes, bags, hats, etc. for her; posing her; choosing her eye color; photographing her.  Many hobbies are wrapped into one with a Blythe doll and, from what I’ve heard, you get very attached to them as well.

Perhaps I want a Blythe because I desire to fulfill a dream that I don’t know I have.  Perhaps this is some kind of sub-conscious Freudian slip.  I don’t know.  All I know is that, as lame as it sounds, I want to have a Blythe at some point in my life, preferably sooner than later.

I mean, who wouldn’t love this face?

 cp6sized.jpeg

18 thoughts on “Wishing and hoping and thinking and praying…

  1. No KB, I am going to veto this straight away, nip it in the bud before it gets out of hand. You are not bidding for an outrageously overpriced one-legged deformed freakish alien doll on e-bay.

    They are rather intriguing though, and it’s interesting that they were only produced once and weren’t popular (weren’t we all a lot wiser back then!?! I wasn’t even a foetus in 1972. Thinking about it, they are a bit foetus-like in form).

    I’ve just been looking at your photos of these Blythe dolls again. They are strange little things. I think I would give them a second glance in a museum, but that’s as far as I would go. I suppose someone needs to collect them.

    What happened yesterday? I hope you’re ok.
    x

  2. I at first will admit didnt know what the big deal was but the more I see them and the AMAZING photos people take I am more and more in love with them. If money wasnt an object I would get one for you, and then one for myself!

  3. I hope you’re having a better day today! (((hug)))
    The Blythe dolls are intriguing; I can’t imagine trying to create/sew those tiny outfits, though! How do they it?!
    I hope that the one Blythe doll is wearing faux-fur…. 🙂
    And why is their hair better than mine? That’s not right! 🙂

  4. They are adorable! I think it would be so fun to have one to dress up.

    And hey, something cute to dress up that doesn’t give you disgusting green poop, doesn’t wake you up in the night, and you never have to potty train… what’s not to love?!?!

  5. I have never seen such a doll…they do look a bit like an alien or Mary Tyler Moore-ish in some strange 70’s way…but I have to say, dressing them up does sound fun and I too, have no kids…hmmmm…..
    I hope you are feeling better today…and congrats on the 200th post…

  6. News flash: kids won’t let you dress them up and pose them for pictures either.
    Stick with the Blythe, your photos are gorgeous and I bet the doll doesn’t talk back.

  7. I’ve been avoiding this for a long time, saying caddy things…but Blythe has slowly taken over my resistance and has found my heart ❤ I feel another obsession coming on.

    Anyway, I visited your Etsy shop. I think you should also sell the beautiful photos that you’ve taken of your Blythe’s. Maybe make them into a postcard form? I dunno, just a thought.

  8. Pingback: “Snap! I love that!” Monday « snapshots of my simple life

  9. I hate dolls but…..this one…..I feel the same way. Just this morning I found some girls selling the cloths on etsy and now I gotta have that doll! WTF am I going to do with it? weird? I cant stop thinking about it and now Im at work Googling all about it and I dont even know you and I ran into your blog.
    Im 39 with two teenage boys and I think santa is going to have a task ahead of him.

Add your two-cents!

