I’ll think about it tomorrow.

There was a land of Cavaliers and Cotton Fields called the Old South.
Here in this pretty world, Gallantry took its last bow. Here was the last ever to be seen of Knights and their Ladies Fair, of Master and of Slave.
Look for it only in books, for it is no more than a dream remembered, a Civilization gone with the wind…

I sat and watched Gone With The Wind tonight with my great-aunt. I’ve seen GWTW several times before and it never gets old.

Perhaps it is because I’m 100% Southern and fancy myself a Southern Belle. Perhaps it is because it is such a part of Southern culture, or at least, the Southern culture that Hollywood has created. Perhaps it is because the love story between Rhett and Scarlett is so powerful, so wonderful, so passionate and, yet, so unrequited. (Don’t you always wonder how it works out after he leaves her at the last?) Perhaps I just love it because it is a wonderful, beautiful film.

Perhaps it is because they just don’t make movies like this anymore.

Great classic actors and actresses like Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh… is anyone really that beautiful anymore?

The beautiful simplicity of the movie – between the war and the struggles – is contradicted by the depth of the same film, the many layers of it to peel off, the nuances to decipher.

0_22_022207_clark_gable.jpg

I guess the main reason that I love it is because part of me wants to be Katie Scarlett O’Hara, with her fiery, unquenchable spirit and her strength, her ability to pull through and take hold of life when she needed to, when no one else would. And, I love it because of the love story, the fierce love that Rhett has for Scarlett and, even though I’d like to have a bit of her in me, I hate her for treating him as she did.

Do love stories like this really happen in real life? I sure like to think so. Hopefully, however, the cards for them fall better than they did for Rhett and Scarlett.

But… I’d rather think about it tomorrow.

12 thoughts on “I’ll think about it tomorrow.

  1. I first read GWTW when I was 12 years old. I read it more than 17 times before I graduated from high school. (ahem) I think it ruined me for real-life relationships.

    As a result, I think Clark Gable is just the dreamiest.

  2. One of my favorite books and movies.
    If only life was so glamorous in real life. . .
    She has the fire in her and I always liked to think that after Rhett left, she found a way to ground.

  3. I have never seen Gone With The Wind. I might have to pick it up. I had a friend (well, she is still my friend, just far away) in high school that we use to call Scarlett O’Hara. I can’t remember why. lol.

  4. I AM Scarlett! Aren’t we all? All of us ladies that keep on keeping on.. and hold our heads high.. and do our best to look great while doing it.
    Scarlett lives.. and I am glad you brought her up 🙂
    Happy Sunday!
    Renita

  5. The stories still exist and happen everyday. Rhett still walks away, leaving Scarlett in her fragile strength to just keep going. All she wants is to be loved, truely loved, for everything she is. The good and the bad. Rhett is not the dreamy guy all the time, but sometimes you do catch that glimpse. And boy howdy! Look out! 😉

  6. i love old movies and old movie stars. rudolph valentino, jean harlow, cary grant, greta garbo, bette davis, joan crawford, jimmy stewart…god. those movies were fabulous…the storylines, the glamour…drool.

    i haven’t seen gone with the wind in a long time, but i just might have to rent it soon. thanks, zaz.

  7. Pingback: A meme and an Award « Zazazu

  8. Sigh…I love Clark Gable. 🙂
    I used to be a huge fan of the film/story.
    I love old movies–TCM is my fave channel! I have this same photo, btw! (Is it weird that I have it in a frame?)
    I never read the book (no book can beat seeing Clark Gable!), but did read Alexandra’s Ripley’s Scarlett (her version of a sequel) years and years ago, so long ago that I can’t remember if I liked it or not! 🙂
    What about you?
    Great post. I could look at Clark Gable all day long. I also love him in “It Happened One Night.”
    Hmm, I can’t think of modern actors that hold can hold a candle to the old ones. George Clooney has the dashing good looks, but that’s all that I can think of….
    (Sorry this is such a disjointed/sloppily composed comment!)

Add your two-cents!

