A meme and an Award

I came across this meme on quaking aspen sometime ago and have been saving it for a day when I really want an out-post, meaning that I really don’t want to conjure up anything intensely meaningful or strikingly witty. As I do like books, I thought this would be a fun one.

1. Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? Trade paperback, definitely.

2. Amazon or brick and mortar? Nothing like a brick-and-mortar. I love to browse through the books, have a nice latte, visit the different sections… ah… that is heaven for me.

3. Barnes & Noble or Borders? I like the inside look of BN the best but it really doesn’t make a difference in the end. Wherever they are running a sale!

4. Bookmark or dog-ear? BOOKMARK! I never dog-ear pages.

5. Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random? Random. I have books everywhere. My friend Lisa has often said that she would LOVE to come and catalogue my books so I tell her to c’mon over! I can assure her though that they will be back to their very unorganized mess before too long at all. I do, however, know where most of them are. They are catalogued in my head.

6. Keep, throw away, or sell? I keep them mostly. I’ll loan them to friends sometimes, most times to never see them again. Some I post on paperbackswap.com and some I take to a local bookstore for used book credit.

7. Keep dustjacket or toss it? I prefer trade paperbacks with no jacket but if it happens to be a newer hardback with a jacket, I keep it on. If it is an old, musty hardback, I throw the dustjacket away.

8. Read with dustjacket or remove it? See above. And, like Falwyn, I use the end flap as a bookmark!

9. Short story or novel? Novels – preferably nonfiction.

10. Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)? I prefer collections.

11. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? I am not the least bit familiar with either one.

12. Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? Chapter breaks… always chapter breaks.

13. “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Once upon a time.

14. Buy or Borrow? The environmentally friendly side of me wants to lie and say borrow but the truthful, angelic side of me admits to buying.

15. New or used? Used most of the time. I’m not opposed to new books but really PREFER used ones. (That is the truth, not just lying to seem more enviro-friendly!)

16. Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? I like recommendations and then I go and read the reviews so a nice combo of both. Does that count?

17. Tidy ending or cliffhanger? As much as I hate to admit it, I like a cliffhanger. I like to be left to my own devices to dream of all the ways the book might go on if it were to go on, a la Gone With The Wind. Ah…..

18. Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? Night-time reading, mostly.

19. Stand-alone or series? Stand-alone. I hate series.

20. Favorite series? See above.

21. Favorite children’s book? The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale, ANYTHING by Shel Silverstein, Mandy by Julie Andrews, The Secret Garden, Bridge to Teribethia

22. Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? I’m not sure what others have heard of but one of my favorite books is Life Could Be Sweeter. Not many that I’ve mentioned it to seem to have heard of it.

23. Favorite books read last year? The Other Boleyn Girl.

24. Favorite books of all time? The aforementioned Life Could Be Sweeter, The Little Prince, Wuthering Heights.

25. Least favorite book you finished last year? I won’t say as I’m supposed to review it on this blog soon.

26. What are you reading right now? See above.

27. What are you reading next? Hip Tranquil Chick, also to be reviewed on this blog soon.

¤´¨)
¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·`¤~~¤

I was recently nominated for the Smile Award by YogaEveryday.

smile-award.jpg

Yay! Nice to know that I make people smile. 🙂 I’m not exactly clear on what the rules for this are but I know that I have to nominate at least one other person – maybe more but I’m going with one.

So, my nomination for the Smile Award goes to… {{{drumroll please}}}… Kelly at Show Me More. Kelly is wonderfully optimistic and posts some really funny things, along with thought-provoking things too. Even though I classify myself as spiritual, I have had interesting talks with Kelly about religion and her dedication to her faith, which I greatly admire. Her recent move to Texas and all the fun things she is encountering there is also refreshing and interesting to follow.

Kelly is definitely one person who makes me SMILE! Check her out!

12 thoughts on “A meme and an Award

  1. Seriously??

    Awww! I am so honored!
    Thank you! You made my night! 🙂
    (And probably my Monday as well!)

    Love you, girl!

    I tried to send you an email this weekend, and it wouldn’t work for some reason. But what I said was, “You can tell a Grey’s fan by the abundance of ‘Seriously’s in their vocabulary. . . . Seriously.” 🙂 LOL!

    So true, huh?

  2. Hi there! So glad you got it… and I forgot it didn’t come with instructions 😛 Glad you made up your own, but you underestimated your bestowal power!

    You get to nominate five other blogs that make you smile… and so on, and so on. Not sure where it originated, but happy to pass it on! Love the meme!

  3. You and I have so much in common, but no so with this meme! I dog ear til the cows come home, almost never buy books and cannot stand cliffhangers!

    I guess that it’s good to know that we aren’t the same person!

    Love ya!

  4. Guess who’s back?? It’s me, Kristen!! I am back darling, hope you have been well!! I love reading those survey type things. They help you get to know people better than you would otherwise. Check out my new blog. It’s good to be back!! xoxoxox.

  5. I have to say, Miss KB, it really is amazing how much you can learn about a girl throught her “book habits.” Youa re such a sweetie!!! Through and through, and interesting to boot!! xxo Bookmarks unite!!

  6. lol again totally like me. I have books in every room in the house, and occasionally I find one abandoned in the bathroom drawer. Theres usually three by the bed. And virtually never new! Second hand bookstores are so much fun!

  7. The Giving Tree was one of the first books I ever read.

    I didn’t understand it at first. Then I found it years later and read it again. I cried. What a beautiful story.

    Thanks for the memories. 🙂

  8. Well, I recently stumbled upon a quotation that makes me rethink the benefits of not having things so orderly….

    “One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”
    ~A. A. Milne

    Woohoo! 😉

Add your two-cents!

