Wellness Wednesday: Keep Learning!

Before enlightment,
I chopped wood and carried water.
After enlightment,
I chopped wood and carried water.

~Zen saying

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve not been very on top of my game with actual posts here lately. So, I thought that posting a Wellness Wednesday – since it is Wednesday – today might help me get back into my groove.

I’ve always been one to want to learn new skills. The things I’ve wanted to learn have mostly leaned toward the creative side; I’ve never been a risk-taker or a particularly athletic person so rock-climbing or para-sailing have never been on my list of things to learn.

I have, however, aspired to learn other things over my lifetime: knitting, sewing, herb gardening, becoming an orchid master, quilting, learning French, writing a book, keep impeccable and eclectic sketchbooks, doing etchings, origami, glass-blowing, meditation, etc. The yearning to learn something new – a new skill or hobby normally – is something that never leaves me. I’m always wanting to learn something. Normally, I will dabble in whatever it is I’m wanting to learn, not fully embracing or latching onto any one thing. This both pleases and worries me. I want to keep learning new things but, at the same time, I want to find a passion, a niche that I fill, a hobby that I do all the time, that makes time disappear for me. It is a two-edged sword.

Most recently, I’ve been inspired by Leah, a good friend of mine who hosts Art Everyday Month. (Leah has posted a Wellness Wednesday on her blog today too so be sure to check that out!) Leah has almost single-handedly brought about my newest learning quest. I’m so inspired by her daily creations and the beautiful pieces that she does for her store that I’ve been really thinking lately about how I’d also like to be an artist. I don’t think I will ever be an artist on the scale with Leah but I’d like to try, not one particular medium necessarily, but several – or a couple. Collage, india ink, 3D textile art, etc. Those are all mediums that I can see myself being interested in as an artist.

The one medium that I’d like to start with, however, is oil painting with a paint knife. I think that these color-heavy, slightly 3D works are so beautiful. I know I will have to start out slowly and simply – perhaps abstracts on paper bags – but I would love to work my way to the likes of this. As soon as I have a little extra money, I hope to buy a small set of oils and an oil knife. I can probably find a decent tutorial online and surely we have some paper bags around here somewhere.

The point is that we all have to keep learning – keep wanting to learn. You may want to learn pig latin or belly-dance or watercolor or trout fishing. It doesn’t matter. The material point is that you must continue learning all of your life to be healthy, to be truly well.

So tell me… what is it that YOU want to learn? What is the first step you will take toward learning that?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

::: Disclaimer ::: The quotations included before or after my posts often do not and are not meant to have anything to do with the actual content of the post. Just so everyone knows. They are mostly posted because I came across them, liked them and wanted to share.

Also, be sure to check out – and enter to win – my friend Christine‘s 100th post celebration and giveaway of THREE subscriptions to Yoga+ magazine! Hooray Christine for hitting 100!!

9 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday: Keep Learning!

  1. That would be a wonderfully rewarding hobby to take up. I love photography (although I’m nothing good, and neither is my camera lens right now. But when it was in good working order it did take some nice shots like the ones on the banner at my blog.) and I enlarged and framed some of my prints and have them on my bedroom wall. I can’t say how rewarding it is to look at my wall and know that I created the art. I think art just fosters good feelings about one’s self…

    I’m not a risk taker either…. so a lot of the sports things don’t sound appealing to me. But I do love crafty type things. Once I get some more time (uh yeah, like I see that happening anytime soon) I am going to try to learn some sewing skills. What I know is so basic that a second grader probably knows more than I do.

  2. PS: I think ‘tiny person’ just said hello to you. He (??) just kicked wildy for a second. It’s the most movement I’ve ever felt from him (??) ever!! So be honored!

  3. I would love to learn so many things – designing and sewing 3d softies, wet felting, and skiing are at the top of my list right now. But that list is ever-changing.

  4. i too am in love with learning new things. i think the best way to find your passions is to keep playing and enjoying what sparks your interest! i can’t wait to see the wonderful things you will create!! xoxox

  5. Gee…there are so many things I want to learn and improve on….patternmaking, advanced sewing skills, improve my drawing, collage, silk screenprinting, dreameweaver, illustrator…the list goes on and on!!!

  6. Seriously, quit being like me!! Honestly, I want to learn everything on your list and it’s kinda creepy lol. Also I want to learn to drive less like a homicidal maniac and more like someone who doesn’t scare people. There’s been some scared people in the passenger seat in the past.

  7. I’m glad you wrote this post. I am always interested in learning new things. My mind can become scattered with so many ideas I sort of get lost in the shuffle, or the focus does. My downfall, perhaps. (call me ADD) At least if you try all sorts of things it’s easier to eliminate the things you know you don’t want to do. I also see myself as a sort of potpourri girl. I like to mix it all up. I, too, have a desire to find a niche with regards to art. I think I’d like to know about mixed media and techniques.
    I always wanted to learn cake decorating. I took a few courses. Guess what? Once i learned a few “tricks” of the trade I was off and running and I tapped into a talent that was just waiting to explode. I think that’s how I work. I want a taste and then I want to run on my own with ideas.
    I also have this burning desire to learn graphic arts and more about web design but I haven’t taken it serious. I’ve read a lot and researched beginner things but I want so much more.
    I’m going on here. I need to do a list, badly.
    xo

Add your two-cents!

