Burned out.

Okay, I have five more days of NaBloPoMo.

To be honest, I’m ready for those days to be up.

This has been an exercise in discipline, which is a lesson that I needed. But, there have been definite downsides too.

Firstly, and the main reason, I’ve gotten way less comments than when I post just a couple of times each week.

Secondly, my posts have gotten sloppy, silly, stupid, rambly. In the past, they have been thoughtful and at least somewhat composed and that is what I want this blog to reflect.

Thirdly, I really don’t have things to say out loud everyday; everyday is what my written journal is for.

Fourthly, I feel the need to go around and comment on so many blogs if I feel any justification whatsoever in hoping for comments on my own blog. This takes SO much time and I’ve pretty much put it on a back burner. I really want to do other things on a daily basis and visit blogs only from time to time, not comment on each and every post.

Fifthly, when it comes down to my thinking… “Oh, I have to post another dang NaBloPoMo post…” that probably isn’t good. You think? I think.

So, after these next five days, this blog will become significantly less active on my end. It isn’t that I don’t love to blog but unless I have something to say to you all – not to my journal – I won’t be posting. I won’t inundate you all with my daily mindless ramble. I would, after all, like to keep you as friends.

Enough of that…

Today I was in town a good bit with Mom. We went to the Post Office, Salvation Army (where I scored some SUPER-COOL things!), Kirkland’s Home, Cato’s (where I scored a SUPER-CUTE blue babydoll turtleneck!), Lowe’s and the Dollar Tree. We did all of this in the very cold rain. Brrrrrrrrrrr… It was good to get some things done though. Since then, I’ve been home doing some more crafting, making some garland and such. More fun! Wahoo!

Just to let you all know, I only have one more MyPoints referral for the month so if anyone wants in so that you can use it for your holiday shopping, let me know and I’ll send it your way!

14 thoughts on “Burned out.

  1. i think sometimes when we post more often, the comments just get spread out over the week instead of building up on a couple posts, so you’re probably getting the same amount of comments per week, just more spread out?

    i’ve enjoyed hearing your rambles, but i can imagine that it’s hard to think of something meaningful to write about every day. it seems like a lot of people are getting tired of doing nablopomo.

    (((hugs))) good work on getting through the month!!

  2. I don’t know yet what you are going through ……but you and a couple others have inspired me. My motto…Keep it Simple. In the grand scheme of things…who cares! Enjoy life! You Rock “Miss”!! Remember Breathe….the Holidays are upon us!

  3. I find it difficult to even blog once a week!! I do have a lot to day…but blogging takes time…I am thinking of trying to commit to blogging twice a week……..

  4. I am burned out as well. I am going to try and post the rest of the month but I missed two days since I was no where near a working computer or internet and I am ok with that. I think with blogging for me it is quality and not so much the quantity. I have noticed a lack of comments too, I think due to the fact that EVERYONE is overwhelmed of the amount of blogs each day and you can only comment so much until you say screw it and mark them all as read. (or is that just me!!??!)

    Enough of my rambling, just know you are NOT alone on this one!

  5. Funny that your post is about this. I was thinking about writing the SAME THING tonight.

    Hey! Maybe I’ll just copy and paste! πŸ˜‰

    I totally agree with you about the commenting downside of posting everyday. It seems like a lot of work to post for not much benefit.

    It did push me to be creative daily. I think I could do that a little more and save the entries until I’m ready to post. I should make a rule that until I get 8 comments on an entry, a new one won’t be posted. It will be like I’m keeping it hostage! πŸ˜€

    People will be begging me to post! LOL!

  6. just catching up. Very inspiring posts I have missed! I loved all the creative crafting you did, everything was so awesome (and unique!). I think you did a swell job with the the nablomothingamajig, the way you mostly stuck with it was inspiring since I have a hard time sticking with anything!

  7. I am so not doing this again next year! What was I thinking? I miss everybody that I used to read because I’m so busy typing out my own crap.

    I think that I’ve learned that i’m about a 4 a week poster gal.

    Miss you!

  8. I enjoy reading whatever you have to say, whether it is rambly or well thought out!

    I think human nature just makes anything we feel like we have to do feel like it’s not fun, even if we felt like it was before we had to do it. At least I feel that way.

    Hugs!

  9. On the comments, I think part of the issue is that so many of us are also doing NaBlo and finding it hard to find time to comment as well. I’ll be happy when it’s over mostly so I can catch up on blogreading on the weekends like I used to πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I think you’re right to blog only when you want to–it’s supposed to be fun dammit!

  10. It’s great to highlight blogging but this is actually the first month I have stopped blogging every day. Nobody needs to be inflicted with my ramblings every day for the sake of it. There are other ways to practise discipline – like putting a bowl full of M&M’s on the desk and making yourself stretch them out for a whole month. Or maybe that ones torture not discipline….

Add your two-cents!

