Aimer à première vue…

il_430xn18732254.jpg

il_430xn18728986.jpg

il_430xn19611926.jpg

il_430xn19864125.jpg

If you are anything like me, you have just experienced aimer à première vue (aka. love at first sight.

Most of you know that I love anything to do with France and that I also love beautiful photographs found on Etsy. Well, never have I found the two combined more beautifully than when I recently ran across Cherie Lester‘s work. The beautiful photos above are just a few examples of her work. Stunning, aren’t they?

Upon first glance, if you are like me, you won’t be able to tell if Cherie’s photos are new or old, photos or paintings. They are actually hand-tinted photos and the result, as you can see, is just amazing.

Here is what Cherie says about herself and her art:

I’ve been a photographer for about 15 years, living and working in my studio here in Washington, DC. I went to a small fine arts college in Atlanta, GA. which is where I studied photography and fell in love with the art of handtinting. I love the effects: the vintage postcard-like feeling, the light, the texture, the softness and overall dreamlike quality. I’ve been doing it ever since!

Travel, depicting places that I love, has been an important part of my work. A few years ago, I decided what I wanted most was to spend a month in Paris, France – photographing the city and getting to know it. It turned out to be one of the best experiences I’ve had. All of the Paris images you see in my Etsy Shop are from that trip, taken in the winter – one of my favorite times to shoot.

The majority of the photos are archival pigment prints of my originals. I’ve used a photographic emulsion to print the image onto watercolor paper, then tinted it entirely with photo oils and pencils. The other process involves b/w film, darkroom printing, and then again handtinting the entire image with photo oils and pencils. Images come unmatted, matted or framed – depending on preference.

Check out Cherie’s work through any of her links:

www.cherielester.com
www.cherielester.etsy.com
http://cherielester.blogspot.com

or by email at cherielester@prodigy.net

I don’t normally “feature” Etsy artists here on my blog but this particular artist combines so many of the things I love into one amazing product that I couldn’t help myself. So, check out her store and drop her a line. She is relatively new to Etsy so I’m sure she’d love to hear from any of you out there.

Share the Etsy love!

Au revoir!

8 thoughts on “Aimer à première vue…

  1. Wow, they are absolutely beautiful! I sat there looking at themf or a few minutes trying to decide if they were old, new, or in between. She does amazing work, and I am glad you shared it with us!

Add your two-cents!

