Holy mackerel! It’s a party!

Boy, how time does fly.

This past Friday – March 28 – my baby turned five years old. I can’t believe it.

Delali Dipstick, circa 2003

Delali Dipstick, circa 2003

Mommy and her birthday girl – Delali Dipstick, age 5
Take six of about four hundred… 🙂

I was out of town so I wasn’t able to have her party then but we made up for the lost time and had it on Sunday. A good time was had by all.

To be clear, it didn’t go exactly as I had envisioned. I had visions of all attendees sitting pretty around the dining table, wearing their hats, waiting patiently for their slivers of dried mackerel treats, meowing “Happy Birthday” and being so fetching and good. But – alas – this isn’t how the party turned out. As it turns out, it is rather difficult to get felines to sit fetchingly and patiently around a table like that. Mother, Aunt Jane, Daddy and I were the only ones sitting pretty, wearing hats, waiting patiently, meowing – er – singing and being fetching, I’m afraid. We were not, however, eating slivers of dried mackerel.

But, I am safe in saying that the party was a success all the same and I think all attendees had a nice time. The details are as follows…

  • Guests of honor – Delali Dipstick and Handsome (both turned five on the 28th)
  • Feline attendants – Cuddles, Marbles and Bella
  • Human attendants – Mom, Dad, Aunt Jane and moi
  • Refreshments – Carrot cake and dried mackerel (not together)

Here are pictures from the festivities for your viewing pleasure…

Delali and Handsome’s birthday cake… the carrot variety…

Delali… important birthday party preparation…

Bella… “Gimme some cake!”

Handsome, the birthday boy… and Aunt Jane, his Mommy…

Marbles…

Cuddles…

Another Bella pic… Just too cute not to share…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Happy birthday to my baby girl! xoxoxo…

25 thoughts on “Holy mackerel! It’s a party!

  1. A kitty Birthday party? What a great idea! The cake looks delicious, Karen Beth. Happy Birthday Delali Dipstick and Handsome!! Kitty Rock n Roll…

  2. That is the most beautiful cat I have ever seen!
    Seriously, she’s even cuter than my cat, Mister, was.

    Looks like y’all had fun.

  3. Hi there! Love the party-and that cake looks delish!! I had a sweet siamese mix named Cuddles also. She was the most gently kitty to grace this earth. Your brood looks very happy and healthy.

    Happy Birthday Delali

  4. whew, not carrot cake and mackeral together, good thing

    So cool that you got all the cats together, rather amazing they all got along, my two would have hidden or hissed

  5. How fun! I used to have a cat that looked just like Marbles! We are celebrating our mini dachshund’s b-day Thursday…Thanks for the inspiration! Glad you, Delali, and all the guests had fun!

  6. Happy happy Birthday Delaili!!!!!
    Great pics…
    That cake looked wonderful too!
    (Send me your phone #…I keep emailing and it comes back)

  7. So absolutely darling! My little kitty would be jealous if she saw these pictures. Thanks for visitng my little byrd blog. I am looking forward to reading more of yours!

Add your two-cents!

