a-live.

It is no secret that I have very generous friends. I get goodies all the time by way of email, mail, phone, warm fuzzy vibes, blogs, all different ways. Indeed I have been so very blessed by the people I have come into contact with both in real life and through the wonderful world wide web.

Not long ago, I was blessed with one of the most wonderful gifts I could imagine: a poem written especially for me by a very creative, thoughtful and talented writer and friend who has a way with words, a grasp on language and a feel for people that is uncanny. Despite having never met me, Leonie was able to capture so aptly in so many lines so much of what my spirit has been feeling. I’m not sure how she did it but I’m glad she did.

“Honey, it’s your poem, you can do what you like with it…” is what Leonie said so I’m taking that as permission to reprint it here. I hope you all love it as much as I do.

‘live your best life’
the page-title bids me,
but how do i know
what that is…

when i feel like i’ve
always been a shadow,
a finger-puppet,
a wallflower,
passed by unnoticed.

a jumbled facsimile creation –
an assortment of random
personality traits, borrowed
snatched, copied
from others along the way –

countless years spent
wandering around, not
living my life at all, instead
trying each borrowed
trait on like a garment,
testing for texture and size.

each time i dwell on what
someone else should be
doing (or not doing),
thinking (or not thinking),
feeling (or not feeling),
i lose another tiny piece of
my own precious cloth.

where do they go, all my
own discarded fabrics? do they drop
to the ground – like the crumbs
left by hansel and gretel –
to guide me home to
myself when i finally
realise i have lost my way?

[by Leonie – originally posted at chocolate covered musings]

A million thanks to you again and again, dear. xo…

Speaking of being a-live… it is bursting all around me here. As is somewhat customary, I’ve taken some pictures of the Spring-time wonder around here. I’ve spared you the pictures of the snake we found yesterday, the tick that was securely nestled on my thigh this morning and the smorgasbord of moles, voles, mice, moths, and other sundry headless things that the cats have drug to the back doorstep. I guess those really aren’t a-live but it is a sign of the Springtime all the same.

Those cats… my sweet little critters. Here are a couple of pictures of them:

Top: Bella frolicking in the grass.

Bottom: Bella and Cuddles playing, or I think they are just playing. Who knows.

[Just for clarity… I only have one cat, Delali Dipstick. The other cats you see in my blog are those of my Mother, Father and sister. I love them all dearly though and love to feature them here as they are so awfully cute and fetching. There has been some confusion about this in the past.]

And of course, as you guessed, the flowers, trees, berries and everything else is in full bud or bloom here. Not great for the allergies but really very beautiful… a sight to see.

I always post a picture of my blueberry plant and this year should be no exception. The flowers are just as pretty as the berries, don’t you think?

I love it when Etsy finds correlate with things that have recently inspired me in nature. I’m in love with this beautiful shot that I captured of a dandelion in my front yard and also in love with this amazing painting by EarthArt, one of my favorite artists on Etsy.

I love the lovely dogwood… vintage red dogwood tablecloth and napkin set by ModishVintage

Soon, there will be even more delightful things springing up around here. I have beautiful, tiny nettle seeds here that look like bits of dirt ready to be planted. Nettle soup, anyone? And my Dad ordered some wonderful ranunculus to set out – quite a passle of them, I think – just because they are my new favorite flower. So incredibly delicate and beautiful – I’m oh-so-very-excited! And my Aunt is starting a basil plant for me – hooray! Mine died over the winter and she, having quite the green thumb, brought hers through. So, she is getting one good and strong for me in the hopes that I won’t kill it. Fingers crossed.

Spring is in the air… the world is a-live all around me!

Everything is blooming most recklessly; if it were voices instead of colors, there would be an unbelievable shrieking into the heart of the night. ~Rainer Maria Rilke

16 thoughts on “a-live.

  1. Hey Recy! The revamped blog looks fabulous! I love that poem and your cats are adorable. Now I want a blueberry bush too :o)

    By the way it’s kraftymomma here – I’ve got a second etsy shop now where I’m selling my nest helpers.

    I’m loving your blog as always!

  2. hi, I got the message, and I was like..what is this? then I followed your link and found your blog, thanks so much for mentioning my store and my photo, I will be following your blog.

  3. Kb
    the poem…what can I say. That is me, too. It’s almost hard to come up with something to say because the poem said it all. Beautiful!

    Love your new look!

  4. I love that poem. love love love.
    I don’t think I have ever seen a blueberry bush before and it is beautiful. Must get one of those. I will email you sometime this weekend about turning your sweaters into fun stuff. Laughing about you hoarding them. Me too! I finally had to get creative with them as I was running out of space.

  5. Thanks for your comments on my blog. I know the book you are talking about – I read it and did the 12 week program in 1999. It is an amazing book! The stuff I will do on my blog will likely draw things from that book and many others that I’ve read through the years. I used to work in human services and did art therapy for a while – some things will likely come from those experiences as well! Glad to hear that someone else loves much of the same things that I do! Thanks for visiting!

  6. Thanks for sharing that beautiful poem with us and all the lovely photos. I had never seen the flowers of a blueberry plant. The dogwood is one of my favorites, too.

    Here in the North, the forsynthias are just beginning to bloom along with tulips & daffodils.

    Have a lovely weekend!

  7. Hello, there!

    Thank you for your very kind comment. I love the poem your friend wrote. It’s a very special thing to get a poem from a friend.

    I hope that you find lots of inspiration in your life (and I love your inspiration post right below this one!)

    And, I love Rilke, also!

    Amanda

  8. I just love that poem as well. It really spoke to me when I read it.

    Loving the new look of your space here! Clean and simple…beautiful.
    And I especially love the little moustache your cat has..hehe.

    xo

Add your two-cents!

