Thrifting Mojo

I have a very fond love and affection for thrift stores. As Rebecca says, I have very good “thrifting mojo” and I would be inclined to agree. I seem to be able to go into a thrift store and walk right to the needle in the proverbial haystack. It is a gift, a talent, very similar to my ability (sometimes) to predict the future. Of course, I also like to think that I know what to DO with the amazing items that I find at thrift. I guess that is in the eye of the beholder.

I’ve seen other blogs that feature their thrift finds ever-so-often and I just love it – such FUN! – so I thought I would do the same since I just recently went a’thrifting. So, without further delay, here are a few of the goodies from my recent haul:

These are some uber-hot vintage 9 West boho heels – size 10. They sold very quickly on Etsy so sadly, they are no longer available.

Amazing vintage carpet bag

One of the COOLEST bags I’ve ever found… this is honestly the PERFECT black bag

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is just a sampling of the things I found to list in my Etsy store. I really scored big with these three items though. They – like the other things I got – are SO fab! I wish I could translate their fab-ness in the listings but it is hard.

The things I found for moi? Well, actually I only found one thing that I’m keeping.

When I actually have a kitchen of my own, I don’t have a china set. I have and use mix-n-match vintage dishes. These are very carefully chosen dishes and have been collected over years. I know which patterns I like and which work best together for the look that I like. It is a very eclectic look that I absolutely LOVE. You can’t find it in a readymade store anywhere; it is one-of-a-kind “Zazazu“.

The main pattern in my dishware is Golden Meadow from Sheffield. I love this pattern. It is a cream background with delicate mustard yellow wildflower silhouettes on the front. Just gorgeous – so understated and elegant.

Well, I found a plate when I was thrifting the other day. It was a steal at 45-cents and in mint vintage condition! Yay!

I’m very geeked up… yes, over a 45-cent plate. It’s the little things that count, right?

A cultivated style would be like a mask. Everybody knows it’s a mask, and sooner or later you must show yourself—or at least, you show yourself as someone who could not afford to show himself, and so created something to hide behind…. You do not create a style. You work, and develop yourself; your style is an emanation from your own being. – Katherine Anne Porter

In other news, if you have time, please sign this petition to help save Mississippi’s Wetlands… and tell your friends too! This area is such an important ecological and wildlife area and we need to do what we can to save it. Please help!

And just to overwhelm you a bit more, here are some wonderful linkies for you to visit:

16 thoughts on “Thrifting Mojo

  1. Boy, I wish I had that kind of natural ability when I walk into a thrift store…any clothing store actually. I seem to lack that female gene that knows by instinct, how to put a wardrobe together. sigh.

    Great finds!

  2. You won’t believe this but the plate you bought? I have the platter! Don’t you love it?! Thanks for sharing your finds. I also love to see what others found.

  3. Thanks for your recent comment on my blog – it is so encouraging to meet other like-minds. I haven’t done a “Find” blog since my find of 4 or 5 high end designer purses, but you have encouraged me to keep it up. I found so many goodies all-over Oregon only to return and discover even more here at the Santa Monica Goodwill! Love your blog, I’ll be back often!

  4. You DO have a natural talent for finding the neatest things from thrift stores! Yay for finding that beautiful plate–its print is pretty!

    I’m signing the petition right now–its deadline is May 5th! EEK! I hope they get all the signatures they need!

  5. I could barely read your post because I kept lusting over those shoes. I love, love, love them! And that vintage plate is gorgeous! Made me wish I had a thrift store!

  6. I love finding good deals too! This past weekend, I went to a huge rummage sale in Lake Forest, IL. You can imagine the great finds I walked away with. It was so much fun!

  7. Oh yes – you always have such great finds at the thrift stores. I go in and can never find anything! i guess you just need to come down and go with me so some of your mojo will rub off on me 🙂

  8. I love 9 west. Always have.
    I am right along with you about the excitement over a 45 cent plate.
    Small treasures are little magical treats to me as well.
    I so love the idea of the mix/match vintage collection of wares.
    My brother was in a wedding and their table settings were all different vintage pieces. I was oohhing and awwing over the photos and the genius idea.
    Now I want to host a tea and use various vintage pieces.
    I’m off to check out those links for more inspiration.
    xo

  9. hi there!

    I tracked down your blog in order to say hi… I’m your partner in the Nectar & Light photo swap. : )

    Absolutely love your blog.

    -Sara

Add your two-cents!

