I still live…

To those of you who have expressed an interest in where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to and, moreover, asked me to write again… THANK YOU!  It feels good to be noticed enough to be missed.

I felt sparky today so I thought I’d write up a little update of sorts.

For whatever odd reason, I’ve completely lost touch with blogging – writing my own and reading others.  It just got tedious and I’ve felt like I didn’t have it in me to write out all that has been going on.  I also feel like this blog – My Zazazu – has lost direction.  I’ve been feeling a bit me-centric lately and I don’t feel like that is appropriate for this blog.  I guess I’m just trying to figure it all out.  I’m not sure how much I will post in the coming months but I’m here today.

Soooooooo many things are going on here, most of them GOOD!  It is hard to know where to begin.

Firstly, as many of you know, I’ve not been driving for the past two years because of health problems.  Well… I started driving again a couple of weeks ago and it feels so good to have that part of my independence back!  Wahoo!  Having not driven for that long makes it take awhile to get back into the swing of it but… I’m doing it despite having bouts of discomfort with it.  The more I do it, the easier it will get.

Secondly, and the MOST exciting, I think… I went on a whim awhile back (over a month) and auditioned for a part in the upcoming local community theatre production of Sand Mountain.  I’ve never acted or auditioned for anything before in my life but I did it and – will you believe?!? – got the lead role in the first half!  I will be playing the young, attractive widow Rebecca.  We’ve been practicing a lot and I’ve got all my lines memorized and it is such fun!  I love it and – better still – I’ve met some people who are becoming friends.

I’m still applying for jobs around town and in other places too – Tupelo and back in Oxford.  There is one job in particular that I’m in the final-five for and I really would like to get that one.  I won’t say what it is as not to jinx it but please hold your fingers crossed for me!  I have no idea when they will make a decision on it – SOON I hope!  I would really like to be working again – working outside the home, that is.

Speaking of working, my Etsy vintage store is doing so very well.  I’m very pleased and excited about that!  My goal was to reach 400 sales by last Sunday (a week ago Sunday) and I did that, just barely!  After reaching that, I set another goal to reach 500 sales by Christmas.  I’m happy to say that I think I’ll make it!  I’m already up to 436 sales!  Hooray!  So, business there is very good and I hope it continues to be so.  I’ve got some exciting things in the works for my Etsy store (hint: handmade journals, a cashmere line, fall vintage clothes, boots, and more!!!)

In related store news, I ordered a new camera that I’m waiting to arrive.  It is a beautiful Canon Rebel XSi DSLR that my dear little brother helped me pick out.  I can’t wait to get it and start playing with it.  It will be my first adventure into DSLR photography.  I’m excited and nervous too.  And… I think I’ve found a model for my store.  I needed a model who could fit into the tiny things that I have to sell so I hope it will work out.  I enjoy modeling the things that I’m able to wear but there are some things that just won’t fit over these hips.  Ack!

And… I think there’s been a wedding in my family since I last posted.  Yep, my little brother got married on August 2.  I still can’t believe that he is MARRIED but they seem happy together and his bride is just lovely.

The bride and groom.

The groom and his sisters… always our baby brother.  (I’m in the gold.)

So… time marches on and things here, as everywhere, are moving and shaking.

I have to say that I’m sick to death of all this political / campaign crap that is EVERYWHERE.  At this point, I don’t care who wins, I’m just ready for it to be over.  I wish Sarah Palin would have stayed in Alaska, that is for sure.  This is the biggest election circus that I can recall.  Such nonsense.  And to think… one of these clowns will end up running our country?  Ridiculous.

I’d like to nominate Anna Wintour as President.  If she can run Vogue, she can surely run the country too.  Her running mates could be Manolo and Louis.  Indeed.

I’d give her my vote.

So, enough from me for now.  Hope that all of you are well (if I even still have readers!) and that Gustav or Hannah or Igor or LaKeesha or whomever is steering clear of you and yours.

xx,

Z ~

11 thoughts on “I still live…

  1. I’m so glad your back. It’s ok to be me center on your blog! Really, it is.
    Kudos, on the driving girl. Personally, I wish I could have a chauffeur.

    Yeah..Karen Beth is back!

  2. So good to see you back online! Congratulations on all your recent successes–I’m so very happy for you and all of them! Keep us posted. And, this IS your blog–if it’s not about you, what else would it be about? 🙂

  3. It is so good to see a post and to know what you’ve been up to! I happy for you that you are driving again!! Good lucky with ETSY…but I’m sure you’ll reach 500 sales easily!

  4. Hey KB! Glad to read your update 🙂 Major kudos to your driving accomplishments and the ACTING!! My fingers are crossed for ya for the j-o-b and honestly, I haven’t felt the bug to blog much either lately…I’m living my life in full swing and to stop and compute is annoying sometimes. Oh well, I was thinking of re-creating a new one because mine seems to have lost it’s focus too. And, as for politics…don’t even get me started LOL! Best of luck to you Christmas Etsy goal. You have great stuff 😉

    Best,
    Dawn.

  5. So glad to see you back – it sounds like you’ve been quite busy!

    Good luck on the job search. That sounds exciting. I wish you all the best. I know finding good jobs around these parts can be a challenge.

    Congrats on the Etsy shop! It sounds like you’re going great guns to me. 🙂

  6. Congrats on the role in the play!! How exciting. Maybe acting is your talent you never knew you had until now! I am glad you are driving again. I am so excited for you and your etsy shop. You deserve only the best!!!

  7. KB…I’ve missed you too. I’ve been a bit scarce myself…

    I’m thrilled to hear you’re acting. You never know where this will lead, but enjoy it, my dear. Congrats on driving again too—great!

    The bride and groom look lovely. What fun to have a family wedding. I will have to check out your etsy shop…I’ve not looked around for awhile.

    Love to you! Will update via email when there’s more to say.
    melissa

Add your two-cents!

