9-to-5

I wish there were some way to upload an audio cassette tape to my blog here. Alas, I’m not techy enough to know how to do that. If I could, I would entertain you all with a 3-year-old me belting out Dolly Parton’s “Working 9 to 5.” I have a wee bit of a lisp, an embarrassingly distinct Southern twang and am incredibly off-key. My brother – who was about 2 at the time – is nearby trying to sing along. I pause every so often to yell at him to “SHUT UP!”

Very cute – or something – indeed.

The song would be appropriate at this time because as of tomorrow, I will indeed be “working 9 to 5.” I start my job as Program Director in the morning at 9:00. I know that some of you are wishing me luck while others of you are thinking that it’s about damn time.

Yeah, yeah.

So, back to the workforce I go. I’m excited and, at the same time, scared to death. Not scared so much as just really nervous and anxious. Nervous because it will be a whole new set of people to meet and learn. New systems to be acquainted with. New committees to familiarize myself with. New office politics to learn. New… everything.

But, all of that has the potential to be exciting too, once the initial first-day-of-school-jitters are over.

Also exciting is the new Daytimer that I will get and the Blackberry that I think I’m also going to get. I’ve never had a high-faluting phone so this will be uncharted territory for me. Eeek! And, I’ve loved going through my wardrobe and weeding out, pairing up, seeing what things I really need to invest in and what things I need to take to the dump. Anything wardrobe-related is usually fun to me.

I will be hitting the ground running in this job. I have a meeting in the morning – my first day of work – a meeting on Tuesday and then will be off to Little Rock for a conference on Wednesday (evening) through Friday. Whew! I’m overwhelmed, to say the least. Hopefully I can hang in with it and still prove that I was a good hire come NEXT Monday!

I was written up in the newspaper today and that, of course, is always exciting. Here is the article:

Corinth tourism bureau names program director

Sunday, September 21, 2008
By Jebb Johnston
Staff Writer
Karen Beth Martin has been hired as program director for the Corinth Area Convention & Visitors Bureau.
The Corinth resident and Kossuth High School graduate is set to begin work Monday.
“I’m really excited about the job,” said Martin. “I have a lot of ideas that I hope I can implement.”
She lived in Oxford for 10 years and worked as executive assistant to Oxford Mayor Richard Howorth, a job that gave her some experience working with tourism.
Tourism Director Kristy White said the office is excited to bring Martin on board.
“With her past skills, love for community, and vision for the future, she is a great fit for fulfilling the mission of the tourism office,” said White.
One of Martin’s first projects will be reorganizing the downtown scavenger hunt for the Grand Illumination weekend. She will attend a sports tourism conference and recruit members of the community for the office’s committees for sports/outdoor recreation, arts/culture and heritage/preservation.
Martin has a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Mississippi. Before joining the mayor’s office, she worked for the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs at the university.
As mayor’s assistant, she aided in grant writing, kept department heads and aldermen up to speed on city business and meetings, fielded phone calls from citizens and served as liaison on the cultural tourism and special events committees.
Since returning to Corinth, she has operated an on-line business, Recy Vintage and Creations. She is the moderator for Corinth’s FreeCycle and acted in the recent Corinth Theatre Arts production of “Sand Mountain.”
In Oxford, she graduated from Leadership Lafayette and volunteered for the Lafayette County Humane Society.
Except for a brief stint when another person was hired, the program director position has been vacant since last year.

So, this is all very exciting.  I’m excited – and nervous too, of course – about where it will all lead me.

Oh, and this is my new office, located in the recently renovated downtown Train Depot (right smack-dab next to a still fully-functioning and regularly-running railway.

Any suggestions on how to decorate it are welcome.  And, of course, I’m perfectly amenable and open to accepting office-warming gifts.  Ha!

I will update here on Zazazu as soon as possible.  I’m going to try to be a have-it-all, do-it-all girl once I get settled into the new job (which might take a month or so).  I’m going to try to keep up with my blog, my Etsy store (fall clothes and holiday vintage photos coming SOON!), my Flickr, volunteer work, theatre, and throw some new things in there too.  Surely it can be done.  I’m optimistic anyway.

Just a friendly suggestion in parting… If you want to usher in the fall season the right way, get some of this amazing soap.   Just trust me on this one.  You will NOT be disappointed.

Until next time… Cheers!

8 thoughts on “9-to-5

  1. Wait, wait … we both say “high-faluting”! : )
    “I’ve never had a high-faluting phone so this will be uncharted territory for me.”
    : )
    Ha, and I’d love to hear your childhood rendition of “9 to 5.” Sounds cute!
    I’m over the moon with happiness for you! You’ve been overdue for all these great things coming your way!
    Ooh, and your office looks pretty! That brick could do with a print of the Eiffel tower; but perhaps not, I don’t think your bosses would want you promoting Paris, huh? 😉
    Love this post!

  2. OH! Congratulations! That is wonderful, girl! I’m so very excited for you.

    Years ago, I was the Sales Assistant at the Metro Jackson Convention & Visitors Bureau. I really enjoyed that job so I can sort of relate, kind of.

    Although I was not issued a Blackberry. 🙂

    Great going-keep us posted!

  3. SO HAPPY to join with you in celebrating all of your wonderful news!! I’m so very happy for you and all the special dreams that are arriving and coming true–one by one. Cheers!

  4. What a cool office! Best of luck to you in your new job!

    I like going through my wardrobe to pair-up and weed-out, also. My dream is to have a small wardrobe where every piece is something that I absolutely LOVE. Unfortunately, I still have a lot of mistakes in there that I can’t get rid of quite yet because they go with something else. Someday, maybe!

Add your two-cents!

