1st year gardening lessons.

I grew a garden this year for the first time.  Ever.  And I’m thrilled.  I’ve already eaten some of the fruits of my labor but some of the veggies aren’t in yet.  I have green tomatoes galore though so it will be soon.  To make a meal from something I started out as a seed is an amazing feeling.  There is NOTHING compared to it.  And, shock of all shocks, I actually LIKE weeding.  Who knew.

However, I did learn a couple of darn good lessons for next year’s garden:

  • Start tomatoes in a cage when they first go into the ground.  Trying to get a cage on a tomato after it is already fairly big is a hot mess.
  • Label things.  Seriously.  I thought I’d “remember” what each and every plant was.  WRONG.  I don’t.  I have no idea what a few of the items in my garden are.  I guess I’ll just eat them and say a prayer.
  • Use nutrients on the soil early on.  It can only help, I’m sure.

Otherwise, I’m pretty happy with how things have gone.  Of course, a few things die here and there but I’ve been told by some pretty advanced gardeners that this happens to everyone.  So, that is that.  I would have never guessed that I would love gardening but I do! 

How does your garden grow?

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “1st year gardening lessons.

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. My local university extension office sponsored the competition. They gave each participant $30 and 30 minutes to shop the farmer’s market (in the same location as the contest). A few outside ingredients that could not be easily obtained locally were permitted, but if they had not been we would have just adjusted our recipe. As it were, we brought in flour and oil. We did not know ahead of time that electricity would be provided, so we used a hand grinder and a propane burner.

    When everyone was done shopping we then had one hour, iron chef style, to make a meal of two courses, which was judged by local small town “celebrities.” A decent crowd showed up on the bleachers to cheer us all on and surprisingly, my team won. We receive a prize check that was a lot more than I expected, but the fun was in participating at all. I honestly wouldn’t have had less fun if I knew I came in last place.

  2. The most successful thing we have is asparagus. We tried a lot more stuff this year, and it all has been a failure. Who knows though… we got 2 peppers the other day. With all the rain we have gotten the last 2 weeks… maybe there are things that are going to happen.

    Oh, BTW, Karen Beth, I have a new blog, if you are interested.
    http://dangerouswonder.wordpress.com

Add your two-cents!

