tv-free & proud to be.

About two weeks ago, while thinking of ways I could simplify and save money, I called to have my cable service down-graded.  Oh a whim while on the phone with the service lady, I just had it cut all the way down.  Now, I do think I still have local channels but I opted not to get the box that allows me to see them.  So, in essence, I have no tv. 

And I adore it.

A tiny part of me does miss seeing Project Runway, Gene Simmons’ Family Jewels and Sons of Anarchy but it is a very tiny part and I wouldn’t go back. 

Not having tv by choice adds unbelievably to my overall feeling of peace, serenity, calm and, believe it or not, accomplishment.  I feel that choosing to have no tv is a giant step toward being more of the person I want to be and I’m proud of that.

Of course, I know this isn’t for everyone and that is a-okay too.

Since being off tv I’ve done the following one or more times:

  • Walked at the park with a friend
  • Cooked from scratch (and I’m about to bake bread from scratch!)
  • Read a book
  • Gone on a cleaning spree!
  • Danced around my living room to French jazz
  • Sent a letter to a friend
  • Played in my garden
  • Journaled
  • Played in my “LookBook”
  • Visited with friends
  • Sat on my porch at night with a cup of tea
  • Admired the Harvest Moon
  • Watched one of my beloved BBC films

I did these things before too but, admittedly, not as much.  And it is good.  I love it. 

If the time comes when I feel it would benefit me to turn the tube back on, I will.  But for now, this is what I need.  

The television, that insidious beast, that Medusa which freezes a billion people to stone every night, staring fixedly, that Siren which called and sang and promised so much and gave, after all, so little.  ~Ray Bradbury, The Golden Apples of the Sun

TV-Free & Proud to Be!!!

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “tv-free & proud to be.

Add your two-cents!

