Hasta la vista, Facebook.

I was a late-comer to the Facebook craze and I’m one of the first (of my friends) to leave.  I’ve toyed with the idea of ditching it for awhile but it just clicked yesterday that THAT is what needed to happen.  So, that’s what happened.  I just… got tired of a constant feed of drama and news that either brought me down or wasn’t at all pertinent to my life.  And those I want to hear news from are good enough friends to keep up with me somewhere besides Facebook.

I’ve felt a bit of a twinge of something since the beginning of Facebook, a twinge of “why do we need this?” and “what is communication and interaction coming to?” and “why does anyone need to be THIS plugged in?”  I can’t say why some people might want to be and for some people, it is exactly what they need and that is great.  But, I can’t help but notice that I admire people who don’t have Facebook and have for a long while.

So, now I’m one of them.  Now I don’t have to read what someone had for breakfast and why they are dreading the day.  Nor do I have to feel compelled to give updates on my doings at regular intervals.

Of course, I will still be plugged-in in some ways – it is fairly unavoidable in this day and age.  I will definitely still be on Etsy, Pinterest and reachable by email.

And maybe, just maybe, I’ll blog more.

Uncategorized

16 thoughts on “Hasta la vista, Facebook.

  1. sorry to see you go, kb. i loved sharing days with you.

    ironically it think the day you signed off, i was talking about what i ate for breakfast. i guess i’m one of those others.

    xo

  2. I’ve never been on Facebook. Just never thought it was worth it. Twitter, in my opinion, is just as bad. I’ve wondered why folks use Twitter and Facebook to note the most mundane parts of their lives. But I guess there’s something out there for every one. Glad you’ve freed yourself from Facebook. Betting you’ll find other way more enjoyable ways to spend your time.

  3. I understand about leaving Facebook. I gave it up for Lent. I found that the only thing that draws me there are photos posted of my grandchildren. I’ll keep in touch via your posts being e-mailed to me.

  4. Bummed to hear this, KB as I loved your posts and the links you would share.

    I happen to be one of those who really enjoys facebook. It has enabled me to keep up with my teenage nieces and nephews in a way they are open to being. Since our family is so spread out, it has been a nice addition to keeping us connected.

  5. Miss your always positive comments Karen! I have shortened my friend list on FB because of drama No time for people who want to be negative all the time We all have problems I try & stay positive Life’s to short !! So glad I can keep in touch with you on here : ) I hope all is well with you

  6. I would imagine it would be refreshing in the aspect of no one can be a negative nelly..no more geniuses jumping on a status and blasting away at the click of some buttons..thoughts and opinions taken out of context, or really, some people are so opposite me..I could care less…I could go on and on here, so I digress..
    Glad we will still be able to keep up and I can “latch” on to your ever positive energy…
    xoxo

  7. Way to go KB! Your blog is cooler anyway 😉

    If my parents weren’t living in completely different states than me, I’d “un-join” too. Especially now that a baby is on the way, I simply cannot bring myself to remove the page since my mom and dad can’t always skype… oh well.

    I will continue to read your blog, it’s always been a positive reminder that although we’re virtual friends, there is someone out there who “gets it.”

    Cheers to you!

    Dawn

  8. 😦 I miss interacting with you and feeling your support and good cheer. I think FB is what one makes of it; I only joined as just another way to keep in contact with nice peeps like you! I still don’t quite get the whole FB thing (maybe it’s my INFJ thing? Or because of my zodiac sign?). : )

  9. Karen Beth, I do understand, but I will miss your links…thank you for showing me so much ….on the links about health, nutrition, self-care…I feel like we have traveled together via the yahoo groups that we joined..and then on facebook,….Best wishes in your journeys…..

    take care, Ellen

  10. Hi, popping into your blog from your comment on mine. 🙂

    While I definitely understand and respect 100% the desire to leave Facebook (I, for one, got one pretty late in the game, around the time MySpace was dying, and I NEVER got a MySpace), I’ve found that it’s a tool that can be shaped to bring what you want into your life.

    You can choose which people you friend, whose feeds show up on your homepage, you can block meaningless apps from showing up on your profile, you can friend people who inspire and motivate you, you can post encouraging things and receive encouragement in return, etc. I like to use Facebook to organize my life into its most positive aspects. If it’s not positive, it doesn’t go on Facebook! If I don’t feel like a person will bring positive energy to my circle, I won’t accept their friend request. Just like anything else, it is what you make of it.

    Thought I’d throw that perspective out there. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Saving face. | Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

