paris, je t’aime ❤

No one ever stops… The whole place. And it’s like everything is asleep… and… I used to walk everywhere in Paris. I used to walk from Montmartre down into the center of the town. Along the Seine there is a 4-mile wall that goes from Isle Saint Germain to the Pontde Bercy. Takes you past all the bridges of Paris, 23 of them. Then you find one you love and you go there everyday with your coffee and your journal, and you listen to the river.
{from Sabrina}

My wanderlust has this nasty little habit of lying dormant for a stretch of time and then – BAM! – coming back suddenly and so strong that it is almost painful. 

And it’s back now.  Strong.

Although I’ve been to Paris before, it is the first place I always think of when I dream of travel.  I’ve seen one too many movies about women going to Paris and wandering, writing in their journal, seeing sights, drinking coffee and falling in love with themselves.

And so, I am going to be one of them.

I’m not altogether sure how this will happen and, in the end, I might just pick somewhere other than Paris* (Prague, Positano, who knows) but I know that I’m ready to go somewhere, to totally and completely let myself dive into the beauty of another place. 

So, for this adventure, whenever it may come, I need to start saving money.  I need to stop buying every little thing I see that strikes my fancy and save.  I’ve cut back just about everything I can in the way of monthly bills (I have no TV, the least internet package, I rarely dine out and I buy in bulk, etc.) But, surely there is more I can do.  What are your money saving / money building tips?  I want to know them.  About the only areas I’m not willing to sacrifice are food and care for my (fur)babies and good, quality food for myself.   Other than that, hit me with it!

I know this is possible and the first step is setting my intention which I’ve just done.  Paris… Here I come!

*In all likelihood, I will go back to Paris.  After all, “…Paris is always a good idea.” 

Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “paris, je t’aime ❤

  1. I struggle with saving money. My advice: walk away. Ask yourself if you really need those earrings, that book, the strappy sandals. If you walk away, and suddenly the urge to purchase is gone, then you know that it would have been an impulse buy. On the other hand, if you are “haunted” and can’t get the cute clutch out of your head, then splurge. Sometimes, this strategy works for me. ☺

    In any case, happy travels! I just know you are going to have a wonderful time, wherever you land.

  2. Yay for setting intentions! You can do it! Don’t spend money — ask yourself, “Why do I feel the need to buy this?”
    Or, “Would spending this money be putting me toward my goal of a trip to Paris [wherever]? Isn’t it actually making me fall behind my goal?” (But don’t let a cute top or shoes be an excuse as something to wear on your trip. You will most definitely want to shop over there [who wouldn’t?!], and you’re going to want to have every penny saved thanks to the crappy exchange rate.)
    Other tips…. Um, hmm. How about starting a category on Pinterest for things you might wish to buy but will only think about buying AFTER you return from your trip? 🙂
    It might also help putting up a goal poster/vision board where you can see it (maybe even a start a spare change jar, too — empty out your wallet weekly/whenever), plaster your computer’s wallpaper with a drooly pic of Paris, and send yourself a timed e-card (I think you can choose which day to send with Care2), sent out at odd times, with a goal-reminder of a message, e.g., “Paris is calling!” or, “Don’t buy anything — my trip is more important!”

    Budgeting…. If you haven’t already, start exploring what you want to see/do there, make a “MUST” list of those items, places where you’d like to stay (how long?), look into airfares (+figure up the any baggage fees you might encounter), etc.
    Next idea — have your friend Lisa (moi) over and she (moi, again) to be your personal drill sergeant “Save, save, save! It’s for that trip, trip, TRIP!”
    I firmly believe that travel is one of the BEST things EVER. I’m cheering you on 100%, and sorry if I wrote too much, but I just can’t stifle my exuberance for this very attainable goal!
    🙂

  3. I used an Excel spreadsheet for a while to budget (need to get back into the habit). This was outside of my regular bills. I budgeted all the other stuff that comes up (groceries, gas, birthday parties, pet stuff, household items, entertainment, etc). After I budgeted everything I needed to do that week, I always made sure to put a little bit in savings – a lot of times it was only $5-10, some weeks more. Over time it started to add up. Maybe you could do that with your travel budget. Every week just put the minimum you can afford in it and then just leave it there. Eventually it will add up and you’ll be ready to go!

  4. Pingback: So close ॐ | Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

