Time travel.

Today, I visited an Amish community about an hour away.  I was able to snap these few photos before I was informed that photos were not “preferred.” 

The day was fun and the visit was interesting.  It was amazing to glimpse into the lives of people who live so differently from the way that I live (and some people I know can’t believe that I don’t have TV!)  I cannot imagine living the way that they live but I’ve not grown up that way and am not accustomed to it as they are.  I came away feeling very blessed for my life but I see that they too are very blessed, in many very different and some very same ways.  Most of all, I am thankful for the beautiful diversity that makes up this wonderful world of ours. 

It rained today after we left the Amish community and I found myself wondering about the people I saw there.  I hoped that they were safe and dry and that nothing they had worked so hard for was being damaged or ruined.  And I do hope that.  Mostly though, I hope that they are happy.  I saw no reason to believe they weren’t.

May there always be work for your hands to do;
May your purse always hold a coin or two;
Maybe the sun always shine on your windowpane;
May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain;
May the hand of a friend always be near you;
May God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.
{Amish blessing}

Sidenote:  We went for the purpose of buying handmade goods and those we got.  I bought a “mud” rug made of scrap fabric (so eclectic and gorgeous), a market basket (handwoven), pepper sauce, beets, cucumbers, yellow squash, banana peppers and cabbage.  Yum!

Uncategorized

One thought on “Time travel.

  1. I knew that Amish didn’t like photos taken of them, but I didn’t realize that extended to their homesteads.
    My hubby and I went to an anniversary get-a-way at a B & B. The cook and servers were Amish. The breakfast was outstanding.
    There is an Amish woman who writes a Sunday column in our local paper. Her mother started the column; then when she died, one of her daughters took it on. The family had lived in Indiana, but a year or so ago, they moved to Michigan. The column consists of what’s going on in the family’s life and recipes. We, as readers, have virtually gone thru their ups and downs. Quite interesting, plus one learns to care about their welfare.

Add your two-cents!

