Keeper-keeper.

It is rare that I don’t try a new recipe on the weekend.  It is so relaxing and fun and I look forward to it all week long.  I pin recipes to my Vegan Food Inspiration board through the week and then pick one or two (or three) to try on weekends.

There are only a few foods that I don’t like (banana nut bread and eggplant, namely) so I find a lot of “keepers”.  But, once in a blue moon, I find a “keeper-keeper”.  This is one of them.

I have three words for this recipe: Holy yum, Batman.

Beet Hummus

  • 1/2 pound beets (about 4 medium sized beets), cooked (roast with olive oil and water in oven for about 90 minutes; peel when cooled)
  • 2 Tbsp tahini sesame seed paste
  • 5 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Generous pinch of sea salt
  • Fresh ground pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth. Adjust seasonings to taste.

Eat with pita chips, baked tortillas, or sliced vegetables.  Or… makes an excellent sandwich spread!

(adapted from SimplyRecipes.com)

I amped up the garlic and left out lemon zest that the original recipe called for.  If you don’t like as much garlic, dial it down to one clove.

Be warned:  The color is GORGEOUS!!!

Uncategorized

Add your two-cents!

