Runaway.

I ran away this past weekend.

More accurately, I had a mini-vacation but it felt a bit like I had run away and it was nice.  It was unplanned and unexpected.  The best kind, perhaps.  Actually, I was away for a conference and decided to stay another night and go to bed early, sleep in, have a nice dinner out, shop, etc. etc.  It was delightful and I highly recommend it.

Other than feeling a bit tired from being away from home, I do feel recharged.  I thought about a lot of things while I was away and read most of a really good book.  I have to finish it tonight.  I have read enough of it, however, that I can highly recommend it.  A bit quaint (it was written a long time ago, after all) but really great info and it’s free.  Yay on that.

I came to three decisions while I was away.  One developed more fully after I got home but I won’t go into it here.  The other three are as follows:

  • I will stop using the word “hate” at all.  In any context.  I just don’t want it to be any part of me or my vocabulary.
  • I will smile more.  I think I’ve gotten to where I don’t smile as much and there isn’t much reason for that.
  • I will write a book.   I had an amazing dream about an idea for a children’s book and I’m really eager to put it to paper.  I just have to figure out how to illustrate it.  An artist I am not.

There they are.

I’ve always had a bit of a negative connotation in my head of running away but I think that was wrong all along.  Maybe not everyone needs to run away from time to time but I think I do and I will definitely do that again.  Just to be away from my normal routine, my normal surroundings, to feel a bit pampered and leisurely was wonderful.  And to have time to think without the normal stress of everyday bearing down on me.

Indeed, running away can be a beautiful thing.  Try it.

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Runaway.

  1. I like this…. I agree, you were not running away in that negative sense, but running toward your higher self, taking some time to get recharged.
    Kudos on changing your vocabulary, smiling more, and setting the intention for writing a book! You can do it!

Add your two-cents!

