Dahlonega, GA – Day One.

I’m in Dahlonega, Georgia for the week.  I’m actually on a business trip but it is so beautiful over here and my room is very nice.  Not too shabby at all.  I can’t wait to explore the town more, i.e. find a Goodwill.

The scene as I was leaving my house... Tessie DOES love her Granddaddy!

Burnsville, MS… NOTHING is funnier than an enormous metal chicken. See link below.
 
And yes friends, I just might spend some birthday money on a miniature version of this fellow.  Forealz.

View from the winery.

Vineyards.

We were at Wolf Mountain Vineyards and Winery

Little cafe right off the square where I had my dinner.

This little place is called the Corkscrew Cafe and is just off the Dahlonega square (which is also SO gorgeous).  I popped in here for a late dinner and can NOT say enough good things about it.  Lovely atmosphere, lovely manager who was so kind and attentive, lovely service and… they made a special vegan dish just for me.  I love it when places will do that.  Not a great picture (all of these pictures were taken on my phone so please forgive the quality) but here it is:

Corkscrew Cafe

Every good thing was in this… Vine-ripened tomatoes, linguine, capers, spinach, artichoke hearts, asparagus, a lovely vinegar sauce.  It was PERFECT!  I so highly recommend this place!

My day has been just lovely.  The drive over was easy and beautiful and sunny and my room here is right on the square and really nice!  It has a living room, HUGE bedroom, clean and bright bathroom and a flat screen in both rooms (not that I will use them).  And, it has in-room Starbucks coffee.  Yay! 

My classes begin tomorrow morning at 8:00 so I’m off to read a bit and catch some zzzzzz’s!  I’m eager to learn some fun, new things in my classes but I’m also eager for a chance to explore some more of this adorable little town!

Uncategorized

7 thoughts on “Dahlonega, GA – Day One.

  1. Will you be there for your birthday – I hope so – looks like a fabulous little get-away! If you can pick up any bottles of wine from the winery – I’ll pay you when you get back – then we can have a dual birthday toast when you get back to the SSiPP!

  2. Looks and sounds like a nice place for a trip (even if it is for business!), and that cafe sounds really nice, too. I’m eager to hear more about your trip, your classes, what the scenery is like, everything! 🙂
    Enjoy your time there and everywhere! 🙂
    Nice pics, btw. Love wee Tessie.

  3. Looks amazing…what a treasure to come upon.

    Love those moments where everything lines up and the universe opens up so bright and shines upon us with a gap-toothed grin and love…

    Happy Happy Birthday!

  4. THE CORKSCREW CAFE REMINDS ME OF A HOUSTON’S. SMALLER AND ALL FROM SCRATCH DESSERTS, EVEN THE SALAD DRESSINGS. WE GO THERE OFTEN AND NEVER MISS THE WINE TASTING/PAIRING LAST SUNDAY OF EACH MONTH. UPSCALE FUN!!

Add your two-cents!

