Meanwhile: a Project Backsplash explanation…

On April 1, 2009, I posted a request for tiles to complete a fun little backsplash idea I had and named “Project Backsplash”.

Here is the original post.

This little idea of mine took off very well and got coverage on several blogs including RandomLustings (who was a bit forthcoming in her thought that it might be a tee-total disaster :)), RhinestonesandTelephones, StumbleUpon, and TheKitchn (HOORAY!!!!)   Thanks to all of you for including my project on your blogs!!

I got a good many tiles from all over the place:  Many from the US, Canada, Italy, Russia, France and Australia.  So excited and I really have an amazing array.

But, Project Backsplash still isn’t installed and it is, as you know, August 2011.  Embarrassing, no?  Well, yes, it is.

My kitchen at Christmas... clearly no backsplash here.

(The kitchen, pictured above, is a lot better than it was in the first Project Backsplash post but I’m still oh-so-eager to get the backsplash installed and brighted it up!  This picture was taken right before a Christmas party, hence the decorations and it being so clean.)

I do have at least a moderately good excuse though:  I had pretty big surgery right after I posted that (literally, two months to the day after) and had a pretty long recovery.  And, since that time, well, I’ve been doing other stuff around the house (refinishing floors, building bookcases, tearing out the bathroom and putting it back in).  So, sadly, the backsplash has kind of been put on the back burner.   

But, I’m determined to get it done soon but need a few more tiles!  I have some “filler” tiles that I’ve bought here and there but I’d love some more tiles from you all, if you will! 

So, please please send a tile (or more if you like!) of any size, color, pattern, patina, origin, whatever!  Just tile!  (It does need to be square but otherwise, no restrictions!)  I would appreciate them so much! 

(The original post says that they need to be 4×4 inches but I’ve since revised that.  They can be fit together no matter their size as long as they are square.)

My hope is STILL to have a lovely eclectic, mish-mash backsplash from all over the world! So… Please send tiles!

Send tiles to:

Zazazu – Project Backsplash
P.O. Box 373
Corinth, MS 38834

And please PLEASE share the word about Project Backsplash with your friends!

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Meanwhile: a Project Backsplash explanation…

  1. Hello,
    My name is Renee and I am a decorative painter who specializes in ceramic blog tiles. I’d love to lend a hand with your tile project. Do you have a specific blog design or favorite kitchen decor theme? You can check out my work by visiting my blog: http://kudoskitchenbyrenee.blogspot.com I have a specific category there called “painting at my kitchen table” and you can also visit my portfolio pages. I heard about you from Kristen of Dine and Dish.
    I hope to hear from you.
    Sincerely,
    Renee

  2. Pingback: A bit of everything. | Zazazu

Add your two-cents!

