A bit of everything.

I’ve been cleaning out stuff today.  Like, in an epic way.  It has kicked my arse but also been very rewarding.  I’ve listed some, put some in a box for the clothing swap, but some in a box for the trash, and so forth.  I’ve also been marking things WAY down in my store so that I can move some stuff out o’da house.  (Word.)  Also, if there’s something in there that you fancy and want to make me an offer, let me know.  Especially the stuff that’s been listed awhile; not so much the newer listings.

So, that’s all good.

The thing I love about cleaning out – especially in the wardrobe department – is that it really lets you see what your style currently is.  For an example, my style now is hippie-yoga-chic.  Nothing that has to be ironed; knit jersey is best.  Nothing that makes my top half look bigger than it really is. 

Leggings… gone.  Too tight… gone.  Tribal… gone (well, except for that fabulous 2x vest cape thing I scored at Goodwill not long ago… I promise it’s better than it sounds.)  Hoity-toity businessy… gone.  486 t-shirts… gone. 

And I’ve not even STARTED on the closet yet.

Oh yes, that feels good.

So hopefully when I arise on Monday morning and head off to get dressed, I’ll have a nicely organized selection of things that are my current style.  It is just amazing to me how much we (er… I) accumulate over the course of even a few months.  Shocking, really.  I seriously think I have a little bit of everything.  Or, HAD a little bit of everything.

I did organize my bathroom closet and I’m rather proud of it.

I went through jewelry, toiletries and all that good stuff and I was ruthless!  Yay!  I got rid of all the leather and feathers which was important to me.  Those aren’t fashion to me anymore.

I’m still working on the epic clean but at least it is getting done, no matter how slowly.  I’m stoked.

In other news, I’ve got some linkie love to share.

Firstly, Project Backsplash has a Facebook page!  Please like it to keep up with news about the project and tiles that I get in from all over the world!

Secondly, this video is pretty darn funny.  What would we do without streakers in this world to lighten the mood in the face of a hurricane?  (The funniest part, actually, is how rattled the newscaster gets.)

This… is an AMAZING article.  So worth a read… Minds of Their Own.

I ran all my eye makeup reading this because I was laughing so hard.  Especially the one near the bottom about Nickelback… What office complaints look like when you have the world’s most brilliantly obnoxious coworker.

My favorite quote of the week:

It is odd that we have so little relationship with nature, with the insects and the leaping frog, and the owl that hoots among the hills calling for its mate. We never seem to have a feeling for all living things on the earth. If we could establish a deep, abiding relationship with nature, we would never kill an animal for our appetite, we would never harm, vivisect, a monkey, a dog, a guinea pig for our benefit. We would find other ways to heal our wounds, heal our bodies. But the healing of the mind is something totally different. That healing gradually takes place if you are with nature, with that orange on the tree, and the blade of grass that pushes through the cement, and the hills covered, hidden, by the clouds.

~ Krishnamurti 

Amazing words.  Give me chills.  Found on this lovely blog.

This video also gives me chills.  I’ve loved DMB for a LONG time but had never seen this video.  Gorgeous.  The setting, the tones, the music, the water, especially the rain.  Love it.  Love everything about it.  Love love love.

(I ❤ Boyd.)  I found this video on this lovely blog today.

And lastly, my Green Queen article came out in the newspaper magazine incerpt today and I liked it all over again.  Even better, the English teacher down the street told me that I was an “excellent” writer and that she would have given me highest marks for the piece today.  So… I passed!  Wahoo!

Oh, and other good things from today… Watermelon, fresh pears, vegan hotdogs, matcha tea and a banana pepper on my little pepper plant!  Happy Saturday to me… and everyone else too!  ❤

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “A bit of everything.

  1. I’ve meant to buy leggings for a long time. Can’t ever bring myself to do it.

    Anyway, I will say that I’m jealous of your gumption. I’ve finally decided to pay attention to how I dress and I’m so unimpressed with myself. I have hidden behind ill-fitting drapey clothes for so long and now that I’ve decided I’m not fat and I don’t give a shit, eh. Supplies are limited, I guess.

    I can’t wait to hear the rest of your cleaning adventures. Maybe I’ll get inspired.


  2. Kudos on your cleaning out stuff and on your article!
    I’m halfway through reading that Nat’l Geo. article, thanks for sharing that link. : )
    I can’t say I’m a fan of DMB’s music (I’ll watch the video when I get the chance though), but I do like that they are an environmentally aware group.

    P.S. ❤ Thank you for stopping by! ❤
    P.P.S. Did you see my other post? There is a music video on there that I think you’ll like — reminds me of Pink Martini. I’ll send you a link for it tomorrow. I’m getting sleepy right now (OTC med kicking in).

Add your two-cents!

